We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Gym/Spa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Los Angeles Athletic Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Los Angeles Athletic Club
Ranked #81 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Gym/Spa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Pros-
Awesome fitness facility including a 4 Lane 25 yard pool with non-turbulent lane lines and pace clocks.
Sauna, Steam room, and hot tub with surrounding quiet area, and much more.
No tipping policy with service charge added to bill
Very comfortable bed
Pleasant accommodating staff
Cons-
Kind of dicey part of town, surrounding dining establishments closed early
Common areas were a bit warm

Other comments-
If I had been traveling alone this would have been 5 star, but I was with my family at the end of a vacation and my husband was crabby and had problems coping with the cons despite loving the pros.

Room Tip: There is a rooftop deck and they were having a reception the night I was there (Saturday). We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at The Los Angeles Athletic Club, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Tina W,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, the feedback is much appreciated. I am glad you enjoyed our fitness facility, as well as our beds. I will also pass on your kind words of our staff as we take pride in our guest service. Hope to see you again upon your next trip to Los Angeles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    147
    40
    17
    11
See reviews for
43
148
37
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The front desk guys were very helpful, the rooms were comfortable, and the gym kicked butt. Be careful when leaving your car out front when checking in! At certain times you'll get a ticket. Loved the full gym. It was all very classy and old school.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at The Los Angeles Athletic Club, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Nikstr,
Thank you for the feedback and I am happy front desk was able to assist you in having a great stay. Upon your next arrival feel free to contact our desk and we will have our bellman meet you in the parking garage with a cart. That way you can park with ease, and wont feel rushed like when you park out front. Again, I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
247 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The first thing to realize about the Los Angeles Athletic Club is that it is not a hotel; it is in fact a private club that has three floors (10-12) available as rooms for overnight stays. This means that there isn't a bellhop to meet you or take your luggage to your room. Parking is around the corner but still very convenient. That being said, this place is fantastic - a luxurious, refined place to stay in downtown LA, and a bargain at that. Wifi is free and works perfectly. The rooms are simply gorgeous, and because the building is so old, there is virtually no noise because of the thick walls and heavy wooden doors. Breakfast was amazing; waiter service for drinks and a full buffet with bacon, sausage, eggs, breakfast potatoes, french fries, danishes, cereals and milk, and a huge selection of fresh fruit (pineapple, watermelon, cantaloupe, strawberries, etc.). I didn't realize it until too late on this trip, but massages were available in the lounges on floors 5 and 6 for a very reasonable price (I believe $43 for an hour of Swedish and $49 for an hour of deep tissue). I will definitely try that next time! Full access to all the sports equipment, including an indoor pool, is included as well. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in downtown LA.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCJulieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I'm almost reluctant to write this overwhelmingly positive review because then the LAAC Hotel might be swarmed with quality-seeking customers who will strain its ambience and facilities. But here it is.

Very comfortable room with top-drawer amenities, including a complementary fruit/snack platter. Amazing breakfast with good variety of choices, included in room price (am I in Europe?). Excellent gym facilities, but not pretentious (didn't see any poser types or pick-up scene). Bar and state rooms exude old-world charm and history (trophy room is fascinating).

Our daughter's boyfriend is a member and got us the member's rate of $149 per night, a real deal considering the hotel's quality and location.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank designertrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

What a great hotel experience - we arrived at the hotel from an international flight at 9am, expecting to drop our bags off and wander the city until we could check in later that afternoon. The staff couldnt have been more helpful, finding us a clean room and allowing us access immediately. This was much appreciated after a 16hr flight with little sleep. Great room, great facilities, great bar, great staff = great experience!

Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights. The breakfast is worth it! Nice and healthy food with fresh fruits. The roof top offers a nice view into downtown LA. Perfect if you plan to use the metro the LAAC is a good place to be. 7th street metro is just around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ben f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were very impressed with everything LAAC had to offer. We stayed for four nights and wanted a downtown location due to events that we had planned for our trip. The location was great, walking distance to the Staples Center, Macy's, and many restaurants and pubs. Parking was very reasonable at $12/day with in and out access 24 hours.
The structure of the building is beautiful and the decor is well matched. Our room was a deluxe king room and we were surprised at how large it was. The bathroom wasn't anything spectacular, but it's a hotel bathroom in a building that is over 100 years old, so I wasn't expecting more that what they offered.
The complimentary breakfast was outstanding as far as complimentary breakfasts go. I was expecting dried pastries, a selection of cereal, and coffee, but they offer a full breakfast buffet; eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast, potatoes, a wide variety of fresh fruit, coffee, orange juice, and the best part of the buffet, blueberry blintzes! They also had a selection of cereal, oatmeal and pastries.
All of the staff was friendly and accommodating. We were always greeted with a smile when passed by a staff member. Overall an excellent experience. We'll be sure to return!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and have plenty of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#89 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#55 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Stillwell Hotel
Stillwell Hotel
#216 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Downtown
O Hotel
O Hotel
#140 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#92 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Los Angeles Athletic Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Los Angeles Athletic Club

Property: The Los Angeles Athletic Club
Address: 431 W. Seventh Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014-1601
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#51 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Los Angeles Athletic Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you need a private getaway after a long day at work, a hideaway for a romantic weekend, or accommodations for your V.I.P. guests, our 72 elegantly appointed rooms atop The Los Angeles Athletic Club await you. Guest have full access to 88,000 sq ft of athletic facilities, 3 restaurants and a rooftop lounge. Breakfast and discounted parking are also included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Los Angeles Athletic Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel Los Angeles
The Los Angeles Athletic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing