We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Really a surprising find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Los Angeles Athletic Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Los Angeles Athletic Club
Ranked #76 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really a surprising find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Right downtown! Great staff....friendly and helpful! Room was comfortable for downtown. Very masculine color and furnishings. Great breakfast at Dukes with omelets made to perfection. Helped me store my stuff for a day out and getting a car to the next destination. Would certainly return here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FreqravelerSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    144
    35
    17
    11
See reviews for
42
145
36
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Katonah, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a clean, spacious, extremely friendly/welcoming hotel in a central downtown L.A. location. Parking is reasonable and very convenient. The use of the somewhat outdated gym is a huge bonus! The bathroom was roomy and clean but due for modernization. The bed was unusually comfortable with excellent quality linens. I plan on making this my "go to" hotel whenever I need to stay in Los Angeles.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have a better view but much more early morning noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 608990pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel surprises you with a great roof top deck and great breakfast. The staff from the front desk to maids are very nice and helpful. A 15 minute walk to the Staples Center. If you need to stay downtown, stay here. Only negative is getting coffee at breakfast. Dukes has a nice happy hour with little bites to graze on or a nice bar menu.

Room Tip: Rooms have a mini fridge and free WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobcat77_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Los Angeles Athletic Club for the first two nights of our stay in Los Angeles and also on the last night of our visit to the USA. Overall we very much enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful at reception. The Lobby and Reception area was very pleasant and welcoming. Our bedroom was clean and comfortable and good internet connection. However the décor the bedroom was extremely dark and dull and very depressing, with dark chocolate colour walls and very dark furniture. The bathroom in both rooms that we stayed in were extremely small and old and need immediate upgrading.

This is not a cheap hotel to stay in and breakfast, which was included in our rate was very average.

However the location of the hotel is Excellent and very close to restaurants and shops and this is what we liked very much.

When we booked this hotel and read other people comments, about the neighbourhood, we were very uneasy, even thinking about cancelling our reservation. However we can assure other guests that this was not a problem.

It is correct to say that from 10.00 pm onwards there are a lot of people begging in the vicinity of the hotel, but this did not cause us any problems. We were able to get to where we wanted to and did not feel threatened in any way and there was also plenty of Police in the General Area.

We also took normal precautions and did not stay out very late at night.

So, our overall experience (despite the dark rooms) was very positive and we also felt safe and comfortable staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Group T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Los Angeles Athletic Club offers an elegant alternative to the conventional hotel experience for travelers who plan to nest downtown. The neighborhood is no place you'd want to go strolling after dark, but since I was attending a conference at the nearby Union Station, the location was ideal. Staying at the club is an extraordinary opportunity.As a guest, you enjoy access to all of the club's facilities -- pool, spa, running track, gymnasium, squash courts, you name it. And not just the athletic facilities. There is a beautiful bar, grill room, library, and fancy restaurant, all ideally suited for a business meeting in the sumptuous and heretofore exclusive setting that one would expect of a club designed for the elite of Los Angeles' business and legal communities. The hotel rooms are very handsomely decorated and well appointed although the style is definitely masculine running to slate grays with burgundy highlights. And for a room rate that is quite reasonable for downtown Los Angeles, the unexpected extras make this a great bargain -- a plate of fresh fruit and cheese waiting in the room, discount parking, a free, full breakfast in the morning. This is probably not the place to bring the kids, but for couples and business travelers, this would be my first choice in the downtown area.

Room Tip: Be sure to check the phone in your room to make certain the ring tone is turned on. Guests who want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mountbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

When I arrived at the hotel, I was wary of the neighborhood. It was an urban, downtown location that I don't associate with Los Angeles -- more like Philadelphia. But once inside, I entered a historic, old hotel. The lobby was not impressive but it did have free copies of the Wall Street Journal and LA Times -- much preferred over USA Today.

The best part was the spacious, nicely appointed room and the free, full breakfast. The hotel is located one mile from the convention and Staples center, and not too far from the Opera House and museums. Good restaurants were close by.

The hotel service was quirky. One morning, I found that the maid never replaced coffee in the room. When I went to get some at the front desk, I was handed a single packet for one cup. The weekends have a skeletal staff so things do not get cleaned up very quick. And although there is a big gym with a basketball court, running track, exercise equipment and more, the opening hours were limited.

Overall, I was satisfied with the four-night visit.

Room Tip: The rooms have thick walls that muffle sounds from neighboring rooms. Outside noise is loud but room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr_Dave_H1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Athletic Club was amazing.
The rooms were beautiful, elegant and great value for money.
I just didn't like the downtown area.
It is almost as though the city has given up on it.
During the day it's ok, it's busy with people etc. But at about 10pm or so at night, the nasty element comes out of the city and onto the streets in downtown.
Don't get me wrong, if you just stayed in the room, or caught taxis around so you didn't have to walk the streets, you won't have a problem.
The facilities at the Athletics Club are also amazing, it truly is an elegant and La Noire type of hotel.
The staff were extremely helpful, courteous and friendly too.

Room Tip: We stayed in an upgraded suite and it was truly worth it! Great space to relax and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will5024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#84 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#57 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#8 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Stillwell Hotel
Stillwell Hotel
#212 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#38 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#92 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Los Angeles Athletic Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Los Angeles Athletic Club

Property: The Los Angeles Athletic Club
Address: 431 W. Seventh Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#51 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Los Angeles Athletic Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you need a private getaway after a long day at work, a hideaway for a romantic weekend, or accommodations for your V.I.P. guests, our 72 elegantly appointed rooms atop The Los Angeles Athletic Club await you. Guest have full access to 88,000 sq ft of athletic facilities, 3 restaurants and a rooftop lounge. Breakfast and discounted parking are also included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Los Angeles Athletic Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel Los Angeles
The Los Angeles Athletic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing