We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the Beach”
Review of Cadillac Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cadillac Hotel
Ranked #249 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed February 17, 2010

My husband and I extended a business trip to Los Angeles, moving hotels from downtown LA to the beach. Venice Beach appears to be the only place in Los Angeles that we can afford to stay and this time (after our initial attempt proved to be an utter failure) we found a part of Venice Beach that we actually like.

The location of the Cadillac Hotel was perfect for us. Had the weather been nicer (it rained and was in the low-50's) our trip to Los Angeles would've been perfect! We didn't let the rain stop us from walking along the beach to the Santa Monica Pier. We played a bit in Santa Monica and then walked back to the hotel.

The restaurant across the alley from the hotel had a good happy hour and was fun. The food was decent. I enjoyed the French fries.

We had a wonderful view of the ocean from our hotel room. The hotel room itself was a bit sparse but it had a comfortable bed and a nice TV. There wasn't much provided in terms of bathroom supplies either, but we managed. No waste at this hotel. The front desk area is a little drab and the dude at the front desk wasn't overly friendly but he was nice (and there from about 4PM to 12PM the following day--that's a long day).

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
There are newer reviews for Cadillac Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 678 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2010

the rooms are small, the staff was so unfriendly or helpful. the location was beyond terrible. there were bumbs and homeless people everywhare you turn... there was noise the entire night i could not sleep a bit. the doors keept slamming... i would never stay here again even if they paid me.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michal20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

nice moden rooms, recently reformed, the staff weren't very friendly or helpful and they could have a restaurant instead of a big empty room with sofas and a tv in it.
the location is great right on the boardwalk, venice beach has to be been seen its beautiful with loads of palm trees.. the people are very strange not we never felt afraid
the venice bistro is great! really nice people just round the corner on the front.. they have live music on every night and it soon became our local!
the sunsets are amazing
there is a supermarket directly opposite the entrance which was very handy
there was some problems when we came to pay as the price they had quoted on the internet didn' t include some kind of tax.. but what can you do? so we paid

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leanne_janine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

i am a recording artist frequently working in Los Angeles, having friends living in Venice i often stay at there houses while working, whenever i need some time for myself i will go to Cadillac Hotel as it is located beautifully on beach, i have always been happy staying there but this year i was greatly surprised walking in, the good vibes from the receptionist and staff really made me feel welcome, good and safe, all the rooms was renovated in a nice simple and clean style, the prices was even cheaper than before for some reason, i had some problems with my computer and the manager would go out of her way helping me with whatever she could, the building itself has a great vibe to it, maybe the history of this Hotel still spreads the vibe of classical Venice artistery, Charles Chaplin was staying there agin and agin, Jim Morrison was hanging out and jamming there, its a historic Venice Hotel indeed, i always liked that Hotel and i am happy to experince the upgrade this year, if you are visiting Venice i suggest you check out Cadillac Hotel and experince for yourself. thanks ! F. Lauritsen

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mingo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2009

Its a reall nice hotel, the rooms are clean and modern. Staff was very helpfull with advice and answering our questions. Its located at venice beach, 20 min to Santa Monica. We were two girls travelling and even though you see a lot of homeless people around that area, we never felt unsafe. Besides that its also a economic choice. Enjoy your stay!!!!! If ever in LA again, we will be staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelrvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

We stayed in this hotel for a romantic get-away and will not be going any place else in LA ever again! Simple and clean...rooms have a flat screen TV and nice fridge. I love that they use eco friendly products. If you stay here don't miss the view from the roof-top balcony at sun-set!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaneMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Cadillac Hotel for four days. The friendly staff was amazing. They were able to give some great local tips for dining and evening entertainment. Our room had an ocean view and we enjoyed walks on the Venice walkway right out the front door.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan_James9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#94 of 352 in Los Angeles
514 reviews
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#57 of 352 in Los Angeles
546 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 352 in Los Angeles
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,331 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadillac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadillac Hotel

Address: 8 Dudley Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-2423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $175 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cadillac Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadillac Hotel is a quaint beach hotel resting on the famous Venice Beach Boardwalk. Halfway between the Venice and Santa Monica Piers, it presents a great location from which to visit Los Angeles' fabulous beaches, Hollywood and Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Cadillac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadillac Hotel Los Angeles
Cadillac Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing