We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay there - unless you like bedbugs!”
Review of Cadillac Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cadillac Hotel
Ranked #259 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed August 25, 2004

We stayed at the Hotel Cadillac in Venice Beach, LA for 1 night last week and were bitten between 30-50 times by small cockroach like insects.

The bites swelled and itched for several days. The hotel were totally unapologetic and admitted this had happened regularly. They gave no indication that they would take any action to deal with the situation.

We are appalled - the poor hygeine in the hotel clearly led to the insects, and given the normal quality of service in the US, this was way below par. Instead of apologising, the manager just shrugged his shoulders. We have stayed in lots of places which are much more down market in countries which much bigger issues with insects, but nowhere have we had such a bad experience.

Our friends who were staying there also had problems - they were looked out of their room for two hours because the lock stopped working. Again - no apology!

6  Thank LondonRani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

578 - 584 of 694 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Santa Barbara, CA
11
Reviewed August 23, 2004

I agree with the other reviewer. a dump. Where were the pictures on the website taken anyway - WARNING - your room may vary. And as far as it being "fully restored art deco landmark" ha ha ha it must have been 'restored' by the same person who did all the strip-malls in the 80s, AND they forgot to restore the bedrooms. Stay elsewhere or look at the actual room before you lay down the plastic.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas, TX
1
Reviewed July 18, 2004

We found the Cadillac Hotel's website and decided to give it a try. Bad idea. The website does not accurately portray what that hotel is. We checked in late - about 11 pm and checked right back out once we saw the rooms. Of course, they had asked for payment up front so we were out the $99 we paid for the first night but they did refund the 2nd night. Parking was a nightmare. When we told the desk there were no open spots, we were told to park right down the middle (blocking in several cars) and leave them the keys (!) so they could move it during the night as needed. Are you kidding?! They said they do it "all the time". We felt completely unsafe. There are no peepholes on the doors, no fire escape plan posted on doors, no deadbolt locks - only a pushbutton kind like you would find on a bathroom door. Our friends' room didn't have a phone. Neither had a clock. No mattress pads and no A/C or fans. We left and found a plush Hilton in Long Beach for only $120 a night and slept very well!

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
UK
1
Reviewed July 18, 2004

Booked this hotel ahead of time and, upon arrival, found the parking to be a nightmare, the lack of a/c unbearable, the noise almost impossible to sleep through, the vagrants outside our door and along the boardwalk hard to ignore and the threat of a fight breaking out at any moment constantly in the forefront of our thoughts.
Not good value for the money although the staff were wonderful - they must own the property!!!
We promptly left the CAdillac AND Venice Beach the next day.
Would not recommend Venice OR the Caddy Hotel to ANYONE!!!!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2004

My stay in Hotel Cadillac for two days was terrible- it was very noisy and very dirty! At the groundfloor are two shops which are in competition which one has the loudest music - mostly hard rock till late in the night. So I preferred a room at the other side without oceanview, but there was a strange loud sound from the very old aircondition at the roof all night long. The dirt in this hotel was incredible- normally I would have gone at once- but they demanded the full rates in advance and so I could not cancel it. The bathroom was very old and full of black spots also at the shower , the furniture in the room was broken..etc. Don´t waste your money there.

1  Thank Athenixa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London, England
12
Reviewed April 18, 2004

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Leeds, England, UK
11
Reviewed April 6, 2004

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#97 of 355 in Los Angeles
521 reviews
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#59 of 355 in Los Angeles
553 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#8 of 355 in Los Angeles
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Jolly Roger Hotel
Jolly Roger Hotel
#10 of 11 in Marina del Rey
247 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#10 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,358 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadillac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadillac Hotel

Address: 8 Dudley Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-2423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $175 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cadillac Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadillac Hotel is a quaint beach hotel resting on the famous Venice Beach Boardwalk. Halfway between the Venice and Santa Monica Piers, it presents a great location from which to visit Los Angeles' fabulous beaches, Hollywood and Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cadillac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadillac Hotel Los Angeles
Cadillac Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing