We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, basic hotel at an excellent location”
Review of Cadillac Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cadillac Hotel
Ranked #251 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Copenhagen
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good, basic hotel at an excellent location”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Spend 2 nights at Cadillac Hotel. The rooms are pretty basic, but clean and adequate in size. What you pay for at this hotel is the location, which is right down to Venice beach, with its laid back atmosphere and beatiful beach promenade.

The staff at the hotel were friendly, and upgraded our room to 2 separate beds instead of 1 bed free of charge. The lobby has a nice art-gallery vibe.

I can definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay directly down to Venice beach and who want a functional and not-to-expensive hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    179
    137
    77
    127
See reviews for
113
200
68
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buchholz in der Nordheide, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We checked many Hotels & Motels before we found the Cadillac Hotel. Most of them were booked out or just disgusting. The location of the Cadillac Hotel is fantastic and the staff is very friendly and helpful. When we arrived "Jaron" convinced us to test the Cadillac Hotel. We stayed a night - drove to San Diego the next day and came back for another stay. Prices are always connected to the location. The rates in this case ( also in comparison to the other hotels ) are very reasonable. For Parking you add 20 USD to the rate and 5 USD as a technical fee ( for wifi ). 

The rooms are nice and simple - but most importantly clean. We felt comfortable. 

Santa Monica Peer is in walking distance and shops and restaurants are close.





  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchholz in der Nordheide, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We checked many Hotels & Motels before we found the Cadillac Hotel. Most of them were booked out or just disgusting. The location of the Cadillac Hotel is fantastic and the staff is very friendly and helpful. When we arrived "Jaron" convinced us to test the Cadillac Hotel. We stayed a night - drove to San Diego the next day and came back for another stay. Prices are always connected to the location. The rates in this case ( also in comparison to the other hotels ) are very reasonable. For Parking you add 20 USD to the rate and 5 USD as a technical fee ( for wifi ).

The rooms are nice and simple - but most importantly clean. We felt comfortable.

Santa Monica Peer is in walking distance and shops and restaurants are close.






Helpful?
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Best location, directly on the famous Venice Beach boardwalk.

Saturday & Sunday morning are your best days, for people-watching and activity.

Short boardwalk stroll North to the famous Santa Monica Pier.

Carparking is non-secure directly outside the building in a designated area, so don't leave valuables in your car.

Room Tip: Doesn't really matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidFanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sucre, Bolivia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Fantastic location right on the beach and boardwalk. Front desk staff were lovely, polite, and assisted without hesitation whenever we had any questions. Great, chilled atmosphere. Awesome rooftop area with beautiful views. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabbatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Having travelled all across America for the past three months, it was so refereshing to go to a place that was so laid back, yet so helpful with any and all of my needs. Incredible location, incredible people, incredible staff... I never wanted to leave. Double thumbs up! I had the best time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneLTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was our first visit to LA and we chose this hotel as the price was reasonable (having spent quite a lot on other hotels on the trip).
The hotel is located at the Santa Monica end of the Venice Beach strip. If you haven't been to Venice before, it is quite an eye opener on the beach front and you should be prepared for that.
As you entered the hotel the first impression was that the communal areas and reception needed a little TLC, the elevator was very dated inside. However, do not let this put you off, the room was clean, white sheets and towels on the bed (always a winner in my book as no where for the dirt to hide) and the bathroom was clean and functional. We had a nice view of the sea from the room.
We were sleeping very early as we were battling a 12 hour time difference. There was some noise in the corridors around 9-10pm but other than that the hotel was fairly quiet.
The staff were helpful and courteous.
I would recommend this hotel as good value for money if you are trying to keep costs down on your trip as we were. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardHoskisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#91 of 350 in Los Angeles
514 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,316 reviews
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#57 of 350 in Los Angeles
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#8 of 350 in Los Angeles
774 reviews
Venice
Ramada Marina Del Rey
Ramada Marina Del Rey
#8 of 11 in Marina del Rey
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadillac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadillac Hotel

Property: Cadillac Hotel
Address: 8 Dudley Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-2423
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cadillac Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadillac Hotel is a quaint beach hotel resting on the famous Venice Beach Boardwalk. Halfway between the Venice and Santa Monica Piers, it presents a great location from which to visit Los Angeles' fabulous beaches, Hollywood and Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Cadillac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadillac Hotel Los Angeles
Cadillac Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing