We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Cadillac Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cadillac Hotel
Ranked #257 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was our first visit to LA and we chose this hotel as the price was reasonable (having spent quite a lot on other hotels on the trip).
The hotel is located at the Santa Monica end of the Venice Beach strip. If you haven't been to Venice before, it is quite an eye opener on the beach front and you should be prepared for that.
As you entered the hotel the first impression was that the communal areas and reception needed a little TLC, the elevator was very dated inside. However, do not let this put you off, the room was clean, white sheets and towels on the bed (always a winner in my book as no where for the dirt to hide) and the bathroom was clean and functional. We had a nice view of the sea from the room.
We were sleeping very early as we were battling a 12 hour time difference. There was some noise in the corridors around 9-10pm but other than that the hotel was fairly quiet.
The staff were helpful and courteous.
I would recommend this hotel as good value for money if you are trying to keep costs down on your trip as we were. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardHoskisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 696 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great location in venice beach > owner and staff were really helpful. clean good price, slighty getting renovated but did not affect us at all . great walk downtown venice beach and we walked everyday to santa monica peir

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatrinaE240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a really good place to stay if you want to experience Venice and Santa Monica. The beach is right outside the door, with cafés and a lovely frozen yoghurt place. The rooms are nice and clean, and staff friendly, although also quite busy. Santa Monica pier is a 15-20 min walk down the beach, and you can easily rent a bike or some skates. We loved it here, and enjoyed every second of our stay. Would stay here again and again if I could!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HanneEmilieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Booked this hotel before reading some of the reviews and was a bit nervous after reading a few of the past reviews - but honestly we LOVED our stay! Right on Venice Beach, great staff, spotlessly clean rooms with a view, yes there were homeless people around but that is Venice Beach! Perfectly location for the Venice Beach experience! Would definately recommend and go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sutherlandg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The communication between service staff in reservations and guests is nothing short of atrocious. We booked a room with a view and kitchenette over the phone. When we arrived we had be given a traditional double bed room overlooking a pigeon infested roof top littered with wine bottles and stray sneakers. We agreed to spend the first night in this room as our room was already given to someone else, in exchange to be moved the next night. We were also informed upon checkin that our room rate was $20 per night more than quoted. Although the desk honored the original rate after a few phone calls, they screwed up our reservation a second time when they gave the kitchenette room away for the second night!!! We have three kids and are crammed into a 15x12 room with double beds. The elevator holds two people and the stairs are covered in a combination of stains and urine smell. The room was clean but the walls are paper. You can hear every- and I mean every sound whispered (or screamed) in the rooms next door. The location is fantastic if you like drum circles and people watching. And parking is like trying to ski uphill in a forest. For $200 a night id try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamesandemilyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed at the Cadillac Hotel in March for a work training in Venice Beach. This hotel cracks me up! (In a good way.) It's older and funky. The room I was in was teensy weensy, but the bed is very comfy and the shower nice and hot. The lobby has a cool inlay of tilework, and best of all, the front desk staff was universally incredibly nice, helpful, friendly and on the job in all ways. The hotel is RIGHT on the boardwalk, so you pretty much fall out if it and directly into the VB vibe and scene, which is pretty cool. The only downside to that is that it CAN be noisy. But what fun to look out the window and see beach and fun hippy stuff. Another benefit was there was a nice little restaurant just outside the doors. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to get the VB experience, stay with nice people, and is tolerant of non-state-of-the-art luxury hotels, because this place was fun. Thanks, Cadillac! :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CStaehle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great, avant-garde Art Deco architecture hotel right on Venice Beach next to the boardwalk. Windows look out to the Pacific Ocean. Rooms are contemporary, very luxurious on the inside. Great service. Tour buses came right to the hotel to pick us up for tours of Los Angeles. Rooms are super clean; towels are always changed and fresh; bed is always fresh and made daily. No complains. And my favorite part is that one can that the elevator to the upper most level, and get on the room to get great views and photographs of the Pacific Ocean and Venice Beach. :) The most affordable and great value hotel next to the Pacific Ocean in Los Angeles, literally.

Room Tip: Get a room with windows that look to the Pacific Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuslanKazaev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#97 of 355 in Los Angeles
525 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#8 of 355 in Los Angeles
802 reviews
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#61 of 355 in Los Angeles
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Jolly Roger Hotel
Jolly Roger Hotel
#10 of 11 in Marina del Rey
247 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,366 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadillac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadillac Hotel

Address: 8 Dudley Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-2423
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $149 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cadillac Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadillac Hotel is a quaint beach hotel resting on the famous Venice Beach Boardwalk. Halfway between the Venice and Santa Monica Piers, it presents a great location from which to visit Los Angeles' fabulous beaches, Hollywood and Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cadillac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadillac Hotel Los Angeles
Cadillac Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing