We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Old Hotel, Incredibly Nice Front Desk Staff!”
Review of Cadillac Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cadillac Hotel
Ranked #252 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed at the Cadillac Hotel in March for a work training in Venice Beach. This hotel cracks me up! (In a good way.) It's older and funky. The room I was in was teensy weensy, but the bed is very comfy and the shower nice and hot. The lobby has a cool inlay of tilework, and best of all, the front desk staff was universally incredibly nice, helpful, friendly and on the job in all ways. The hotel is RIGHT on the boardwalk, so you pretty much fall out if it and directly into the VB vibe and scene, which is pretty cool. The only downside to that is that it CAN be noisy. But what fun to look out the window and see beach and fun hippy stuff. Another benefit was there was a nice little restaurant just outside the doors. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to get the VB experience, stay with nice people, and is tolerant of non-state-of-the-art luxury hotels, because this place was fun. Thanks, Cadillac! :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CStaehle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
There are newer reviews for Cadillac Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 680 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great, avant-garde Art Deco architecture hotel right on Venice Beach next to the boardwalk. Windows look out to the Pacific Ocean. Rooms are contemporary, very luxurious on the inside. Great service. Tour buses came right to the hotel to pick us up for tours of Los Angeles. Rooms are super clean; towels are always changed and fresh; bed is always fresh and made daily. No complains. And my favorite part is that one can that the elevator to the upper most level, and get on the room to get great views and photographs of the Pacific Ocean and Venice Beach. :) The most affordable and great value hotel next to the Pacific Ocean in Los Angeles, literally.

Room Tip: Get a room with windows that look to the Pacific Ocean.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuslanKazaev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel is in the heart of Venice Beach. Venice Beach is Venice Beach. Don't expect the Four Seasons. With that said, I loved this hotel. Great location on the beach and the room itself was clean and comfortable. Would have liked air conditioning, but the ceiling kept us cool enough. The staff were extremely affable and helpful. I will be back.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Max P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

When i was being driven to the hotel, I was praying that my hotel would be the next stop. It wasn't.

The hotel is in a really run-down area of the neighbourhood. The hotel lobby looks vacant of life. There are huge windows with homeless people standing outside the windows and you can see them all. Not a nice start to a hotel stay. Middle of the night and someone was singing in the alley. Someone else started shouting. I didn't feel safe and wouldn't think families/couples would want to stay there. Driver asked me why I was staying there on the way back - he said area was very unsafe.

The hotel had a weird smell which I could not get over. The rooms promised a refrigerator. However there wasn't one. The windows open but do not lock for some reason.

There are some plus points. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean. Bathroom looked new and refurbished. It's on Venice beach (10 homeless people were lingering).

I would pay 20-30 pounds more and stay closer to santa monica centre. Great for young people travelling as it's cheap and clean.If you are by yourself/couple/family, i'd strongly advise against it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rockfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

let me just start by saying i am an experienced world traveller, and i have stayed at many different lodgings from a backpacker hostel to the beverly wiltshire on rodeo dr and the service i have experienced at the caddilac in my 3 visits has been on a par with the latter the small group of staff and management are not only welcoming but friendly, curtious and proffesional, and go the extra mile where customer service is concerned, right down from booking an excursion to planning a special occasion or local knowlege of the area 5 stars all the way
hotel and location wise you couldnt ask for better, perfect sized with art deco look, internet, coffee in the lobby and a welcoming venice beach sunset footsteps from the door., located at the edge of the central boardwalk, but not too close to all the hustle and bustle of the daytime crowd. if its a venice beach experience you want you cant go wrong with the added bonus of being walking distance to the infamous santa monica pier and minutes from malibu. ive noticed a lot of reviews mentioning the "LOCALS" who live at venice beach they do not reflect the hotel whatsoever as the caddilac is at the edge of the main boardwalk area,although these artists, musicians singers skateboarders etc are very freindly night or day and make venice what it is today. venice is a very diverse and interesting place and the cadillac is the perfect place to experience what it has to offer and at an unbeatable price, check it out!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My room had a panoramic view of the beach and all of the activity on Venice Beach below. The roof offers one of the best places to take in a sunset. Close to the airport but not sterile a void of culture like the corporate airport hotels.

Room Tip: upgrade the room and get a nice niew -- it's totally worth it.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uncleBad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on our first night in LA, not knowing the area and wanting something cheap to start off with. The hotel is right on the beach, but in a rough area. Lots of homeless people around, but they were friendly and didn't bother you much. Hotel is basic, but clean and staff were nice. Wouldn't stay again because of the area. It's's fine for the odd night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#95 of 353 in Los Angeles
514 reviews
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#54 of 353 in Los Angeles
547 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 353 in Los Angeles
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,332 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadillac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadillac Hotel

Address: 8 Dudley Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-2423
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $175 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cadillac Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadillac Hotel is a quaint beach hotel resting on the famous Venice Beach Boardwalk. Halfway between the Venice and Santa Monica Piers, it presents a great location from which to visit Los Angeles' fabulous beaches, Hollywood and Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Cadillac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadillac Hotel Los Angeles
Cadillac Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing