We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completes the venice experience”
Review of Cadillac Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cadillac Hotel
Ranked #251 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Completes the venice experience”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I have a tough time understanding the modern traveller with such easy access to information these days. I know when i travel i do research on where i am going and the amount of negative reviews of this hotel just shows how many people do not. I have been a repeat customer of the cadillac because it screams venice. I have seen the transformation of this hotel and have been lucky enough to establish friendships with the excellent staff that have been there for years now. Its a second home for me....venice is an explosion of diversity...the closest thing to hippie san fran back in the day. For that reason the homeless live here as they are looked after and they have an opportunity to make money with creativity. They are people too! I have spoken to them and got to hear their stories which are remarkable....this hotel is very clean...the staff is down to earth and excellent...and the location is the best in venice....not to mention they are very reasonably priced....its not the ritz and does not pretend to be....so to the traveller who feel superior to homeless or expect manhaatan beach...dont go....venice wants people with love and respect and if you have that....then there is no better place to be!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlogan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    179
    137
    77
    127
See reviews for
113
200
68
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you are looking to save a buck on a cheap place to crash, this place will do! The location is beautiful, but only useful in clear daylight due to an overwhelming number of homeless people outside. The walls and windows are paper thin. That being said, if you get assigned a window with a north/northwest view, ask for an ocean view STAT! I could hear homeless people outside my window talking all night (and my window on the 3rd floor was closed, mind you). Other than that, the guy at the front is nice and my room felt safe enough. You get what you pay for.

My advice would be to spend a few dollars more for a hotel a few blocks north of this.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ng0118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I booked my stay at the Cadilla on line without reading any of the reviews. Immediately prior to going on my trip, I happened to look at the reviews and was therefore full of no small amount of trepidation. I have to say, I was VERY pleasantly surprised! We arrived and was greeted by a friendly and helpful front desk clerk. Our room was smallish but very clean. Yeah, the linens had a couple of faded stains, but were crisp, sterile and clean! The bathroom appears newly remodeled and also very clean. So what the hell are these people complaining about? This hotel is located on the boardwalk of Venice Beach, a town notorious for its alternative lifestyle. If you wanted a cookie cutter Marriot, stay in one. I was traveling with my two adult sons (both of whom are 6'3" and both of whom opted to comfortable share the queen bed (although a rollaway was provided immediately upon request!). My boys loved the colorful local, the proximity to the beach and the vibe of the hotel. People who complain about this hotel are the same type of folks who complain that they can't find "Ameri-Kan Food" in Cairo! I say, this is a good value!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel is surrounded by crazy homeless people, who scream and fight, all hours of the day and night. You will be woken up by them at 6am every morning.
After breakfast, and addict will vomit in front of your wife.
Your bedroom windows won't seal, letting in a steady breeze of freezing winter air.
The radiator won't really work, and when it does it will bang and thump at 3am in the morning.
The people next door to you will scream and slam doors until 4am in the morning.
Kids will run around above you, on paper thin ceilings, shouting and jumping for most of the morning.
The carpets have burn marks and stains.
The shower door is broken.
All of this, in the best sea-view rooms.

Room Tip: Their best sea-view room looks out onto the ocean, and also an informal settlement of drunk vagrants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frank w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Can't beat the location - the hotel is right on the Venice boardwalk, just like 100 metres from the ocean. The rooms are modern and clean, we were there with a big group so I saw 4 different rooms of different prices. The ocean-view suites with – surprise – beautiful ocean views could do with little updates in terms of furnutire, especially the kitchenettes, but they were large and clean. For two people, they are quite luxurious (Layout: one room with a TV and a fold-out couch, a kitchenette, a second room with a double-bed, another TV and the bathroom). We had 4 people stay in one of the suites and it got a bit crammed in there, but still enjoyable. The two people having a suite for themselves were definitely better off. But the ocean views were STUNNING so definitely worth it. Great value for money!
The room with twin beds was nice, a little small, also small bathroom, but also very clean and very modern. Another room with a double bed was very large with a large bathroom and a little table. In-room safes in all rooms, very handy. Overall, I liked all the rooms.
They have a coffee maker and cocoa machine downstairs, which is nice, but no breakfast. I heard they were working on converting their huge lounge into a breakfast room though. The hotel has a very vintage feel but not in a cheap or dirty way, it is very well renovated and gorgeous to look at. Very bohemian. All staff we encountered were super-courteous and very helpful. You can find good breakfast restaurants and restaurants a short walk away (I recommend the Fig Tree for great breakfasts and lunch!) and the market across the street will let you use their microwave if you purchase something there. Or you stay in one of the suites and have your own kitchenette... :)
Their parking lot was rather small and challenging, we had to stay at a second lot next door one night when getting back late. Also, if you are picky about your surroundings, Venice has a lot of homeless people and buskers. Coming from a big city, this didn't bother me and I found everybody very friendly, street artists, hippies or homeless people asking for money were always good for a chat and it was very interesting to watch everybody, also from our window. If you are bothered by that, well, then I suppose this isn't for you. I felt very safe though and wasn't worried at all. It can get a bit noisy but overall, we slept well. Also, we spent a lot of time on the roof of the hotel, taking in stunning sunsets and sunrises, and enjoying a beer or two on the camping chairs they've set up there. Very cool and laid back!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, the oceanview rooms are well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0upin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were ther in October 2012, and I can say that we saw the ocean and it was only 100 meters from the hotel. But it was the only hotel in our trip where we didn't find air-conditioner, but it was the only hotel in our trip where we found a safe-box in the room! The location is Venice beach and sometimes it was fun and sometimes it was a little bit scary.
The staff was very helpful, they contacted car rent company and they sent a car to deliver us to their office. They answered all our questions, so I think all of them were very nice. Also first we had problems with our safe-box but it was fixed very quickly. Yes, the walls are very thin and we heard almost everything what happenned in 5 meters form our door. Also the shower cabin was VERY small, I think it is evene smaller than 1x1 meter.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna_TK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This Hotel is deceiving. The Photos they post make it seem nicely remodeled but keep in mind it is a 1914 built building and is small and small bathrooms, no AC, nasty place. BUT the worst part is it’s in the slums of Venice Beach where all the bums hang out, Cops patrolling constantly because Bums live outside the doors of the Hotel and surrounding areas. Not safe, not a place for family, kids, romance. All in all a terrible experience. $15 parking fee and $3 internet fee. Gross, wouldn't make this mistake. We stayed here for a bachelor party and were just truly disappointed, I would never bring my wife here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davef2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#91 of 350 in Los Angeles
514 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,316 reviews
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#57 of 350 in Los Angeles
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#8 of 350 in Los Angeles
774 reviews
Venice
Ramada Marina Del Rey
Ramada Marina Del Rey
#8 of 11 in Marina del Rey
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadillac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadillac Hotel

Property: Cadillac Hotel
Address: 8 Dudley Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-2423
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cadillac Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadillac Hotel is a quaint beach hotel resting on the famous Venice Beach Boardwalk. Halfway between the Venice and Santa Monica Piers, it presents a great location from which to visit Los Angeles' fabulous beaches, Hollywood and Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Cadillac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadillac Hotel Los Angeles
Cadillac Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing