We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's ok for the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cadillac Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cadillac Hotel
Ranked #233 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“It's ok for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights and it was ok. During the day is great because is just in the middle of Venice sidewalk, where all the artisans are and just in front of Venice beach. At night is creepy as hell, a lot of homeless people, really solitaire, dark area. The cost was reasonable thinking that is just ocean front but it was ok. Our room was the corner room in the 3rd floor and our view was great.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arnaldostripdiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    171
    131
    68
    115
See reviews for
102
189
67
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is the best location if you want to stay right on the beach. It is in the center of Venice beach and Santa Monica Peir. The rooms are average but comfortable and clean. The roof top is defiantly nothing flash but it's nice up there at night to catch your breath. I felt safe inside the hotel but outside on the side streets are where shady people hanging around. I saw a couple of drug deals and heard a bit of fighting during the nights but I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Whenever we come to Venice beach, this is the only hotel we will stay in. The rooms are clean and modern, the staff is amazing and the view from the roof is bar-none. The queen ocean view is beautiful and recently we had the family apartment, which was amazing. Definitely give this hotel a shot, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Queen ocean is great for a romantic weekend, the family apartment is great for families with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RylAngela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

I brought my 16 yr old daughter and my 15 yr old nephew for their first visit to Venice. We arrived around noon and had no problem getting a parking space. Yes, it is quite a tight area but very doable. Knowing that check in wasn't until 3:00, we went in to let them know that we were parked in their spots. The front desk was very nice and told us that our ocean view room would be ready in about 45 minutes. He suggested a place for us to eat, and then return to check in.

It was a perfect day so we walked the Boardwalk, enjoying the street vendors and by my surprise a few sidewalk shows that were pro a clean life of no drugs or alcohol, a nice message for the teenage travelers I had with me. By the time we returned, it was 3:30.

Our room was ready and totally added to our trip. We had a window that directly overlooked the boardwalk, beach and could see the Santa Monica Pier. We watched and listened with amusement the people of Venice. It was GREAT! Before we knew it, it was 6pm. The kids wanted a snack, and there is a little market across from the hotel where I could watch from our room their trip there and back.

We walked to the pier, about a 25 minute walk before the sun went down. We experienced the pier, ate dinner and took a taxi back for about seven dollars.

They have an all day coffee and hot cocoa machine, muffins in the morning, and a friendly staff. If you are really picky and do not enjoy life to the fullest, this place is not for you. This hotel is clean, yes historic, but clean, in the perfect location and a great price. Enjoy the stay with getting an ocean view room, where you can see the ocean even while in bed.

Room Tip: Ocean view is the best to experience the Boarwalk and the people of Venice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Just an overnighter to visit Venice Beach. Took to 2 eleven year olds for a day at the beach (it was cloudy both days,bummer). Got there at 1:30 and asked for an early check-in, the blonde girl at the front desk was nice and helpful, she actually ran up the stairs to see if the room was ready, but it wasn't, so 3:00 check-in. When we came back she was gone and a guy checked us in. He wasn't really friendly, just doing his job. We stayed in room 205, second floor, advertised as an "apartment". The kitchen part was nice and very clean, it had dishes for 4 and a couple of pots and pans (no coffee mugs). Had a toaster, but NO COFFEE MACHINE:(, hence no mugs. The one window over the sink faced the next building's resident front "porch" areas. The main room, a good size, had a full size bed, night stands, 3 lamps, tv, table & 1 chair. No pictures but the walls looked freshly painted. One window looking at the brick wall of the next building and pigeons with their poop on the sill, and liquor bottles thrown there. (Kept the window shades down on both windows, which sucked since I like the feeling of open windows). The bunk beds advertised, were in a small space (a hallway) dividing the main room and the bathroom...no door between bedrooms. Bathroom was clean, plenty of towels, (if we hadn't brought our own toiletries there would not have been enough). But the sheets and towels had stains, looked like lipstick. There was no way to get on the top bunk, it fit right up against the wall on both sides. Tried to use the chair, but for a 4 foot little kid it was still too high, and the chair wobbled and almost tipped over. I called the front desk to ask for some sort of ladder (step, utility... whatever they had). The guy said there was no ladder, nothing to borrow from housekeeping, and to use the chair. I mentioned how unsafe that was, all he said "sorry there is nothing, just use the chair". That was frustrating! I had to help the 11 yr old up & down everytime. The location to beach is the only good part about the hotel. Oh and parking is $15 @ day, which ends up costing $30, since you pay $15 for check-in day & $15 for check-out day. And there is a possibility you won't get a parking spot, and the parking spaces are sooooooooo tight there is NO WAY to avoid touching the car next to you. I will not stay here again. The beach and ocean and the skate park are nice and people seem "normal", but honestly, Venice boardwalk hasn't changed any since last summer, same shops, same merchandise, same people, same winos and potheads. I don't think its for anyone younger than 16-17 years old. There are so many other Calif. beaches with nicer atmospheres then this one.

Room Tip: room 205 was not too good, I expected more for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaCattygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

If you like being right by the beach, in fact being able to see and hear the sounds of the beach from your room, this place is for you. While its an older place, the renovations have brought it largely up to date. It's clean and comfortable, with no frills.

Pros: clean, right on the beach, plenty of places to eat within short walking distance, parking available, good beds, great view of people, mountains, beach from some rooms, free wi-fi, roof access provides good views

Cons: bathroom is small*, room is small, no amenities to speak of, parking is expensive, walls are thin

If you want to come and spend time on or near the beach, and don't plan to spend much time at the hotel, this is an excellent choice. It's convenient to LA and to other beach towns.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the beach with a window facing toward the mountains. It can be a little nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

The hotel is located in an excellent area but the hotel is quit miserable and disgusting! The staff is rude and lazy, the hotel is hot with no AC, the flooring, carpet and walls are nasty, and they will not tell you what you will be paying for until check-out. I was charged unknown fees and went close to $200 over my budget! I was very upset, pissed off and let them knew upon check-out!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvlikehoney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#70 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#43 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#10 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#13 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Venice
Venice Breeze Suites
Venice Breeze Suites
#4 of 84 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadillac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadillac Hotel

Property: Cadillac Hotel
Address: 8 Dudley Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-2423
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cadillac Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadillac Hotel is a quaint beach hotel resting on the famous Venice Beach Boardwalk. Halfway between the Venice and Santa Monica Piers, it presents a great location from which to visit Los Angeles' fabulous beaches, Hollywood and Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Cadillac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadillac Hotel Los Angeles
Cadillac Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing