We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for 20-somethings.”
Review of Cadillac Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cadillac Hotel
Ranked #246 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Orange County
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun for 20-somethings.”
Reviewed January 14, 2008

I have stayed there twice, and my brother stayed there once. I thought it was a fun place to stay for 20 somethings. I liked the room, and I loved being next to the beach. It was a short, but dangerous walk to many restaurants and cafes in Santa Monica. If you love the raw, bohemian atmosphere of Venice beach, it can be a nice experience.

The room was simplistic and functional. In the bathroom, there was a sign in ten languages, "please jiggle the handle if the toilet continues to fill". (Why not just fix the toilet???)

I found the hotel quaint and nostalgic. Others found it loud and run-down. They are renovating, so it will be much nicer soon. Venice beach will always be loud and dirty, that cannot be fixed. If you're a hippie, stay here. You will love it. If you want a five star experience, run like hell from this place.

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
Thank pchoc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    178
    136
    75
    124
See reviews for
112
197
67
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2008

Because they are in the middle of a renovation, the rates for the Cadillac are quite reasonable considering the location. We stayed on the newly renovated 4th floor. Our room was small, but nicely appointed..but then we looked closely.
Our room long, skinny room had 2 queen beds, an ocean view, a large, wall mounted, flat screen TV, and a really cool refrigerator in it's own, free standing, custom case. Too bad for us-the TV was at the end of the room, facing a blank wall. It didn't swivel, and there was no where to sit to look at it. The approx. 2'x2' refrigerator cabinet was the only piece of furniture in the room, so there was no place to set anything except the floor. The bathroom had a toilet and shower-the sink was in the bedroom. There was a shelf over the sink, but no towel holder-where to put a towel but on the shelf. And no waste basket-that was in the bathroom. The towels are hard and scratchy.
I crawled into bed on our first night, and was shocked to feel plastic under my feet at the end of the bed. Turns out, the bottom sheet was a flat sheet, tucked in at the top, but not long enough to tuck in at the bottom. I complained about it, and the next night, my bed was fine, but my daughters bed was short sheeted.
There was NO information in the room, no written material about the hotel or the area, the telephone had no information regarding phone numbers or charges. I didn't have cell phone reception in the hotel, so I used the hotel phone for local calls, assuming there was no charge for local calls. I was wrong. They charge 75 cents for each call.
The walls are so thin, you can practically hear people breathing in the next room.
The elevator was working only intermittently when we arrived, and the smell of paint was overwhelming.
The hotel is right on the Venice boardwalk. A great location during the day-but I didn't want to be outside after dark.
On the plus side, the staff was very nice, and very helpful.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MargieSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

This place is a DUMP! We stayed this summer for one night and checked out early! We actually thought the room was a joke when we walked in... The smell from the room just about knocked us over, there was no telephone, the TV didn't work and the bed were disgusting. We decided to 'tough' it out so we could explore Venice Beach and Santa Monica Peir. The final straw was when we discovered the next morning that the shower didn't work! Save your money! The only good thing about the stay is the stories we have to tell about it!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bwklei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2007

This is the kind of hotel where guests are just an annoying inconvenience. The evening reception guy just threw some forms in our direction to be completed. When we took a moment to discuss which of us would pay the $10 a day parking fee. he told us to hurry up.
The refurbished rooms on the 4th floor are nicely done but unfortunately you have to venture through the rest of the hotel to get there. The 'guest lounge' and 'pool table area' at the entrance look nothing like the website, they're filled with old mattresses and bedroom furniture and are completely unusable.
Venice Beach itself is nice during the day but doesn't have many places to eat in the evening and to be honest it's pretty scary venturing out after dark (there was a punch-up outside our bedroom window on the second night).
Do yourself a favour, stay on Santa Monica.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Reviewer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2007

Looking for a place on the beach for Labor Day weekend. Happened upon quite by accident looking through Trip Advisor for places near Long Beach. The Cadillac was fantastic from the beginning. From the friendliness of the desk staff (even calling in to make reservations the person on the phone made every effort to describe the location and the sites around) to the cleanliness of the rooms. Everything was perfect. We were told that the newly refurb'd 4th floor was the place to stay but even our 3rd floor room was tidy and worth the $119 a nite we paid. Of course it is noisy. You are right on the strand and the street vendors start setting up around 7am every morning and party til the late hours- but that is part of the mystique of the place! It is a variable melting pot. A friend of mine called The Cadillac a "hostel with an international flare”- and she was quite right!

Would recommend this place for those that love adventure, the ocean and great people.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — bathroom painfully small
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddwight1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2007

Landed in The Cadillac hotel at around midnight by accident as the hotel I had booked didn't have my booking. The Staff here were amazing!!! The were always friendly and assisted us with all of our inquiries. Nothing was too much trouble!

The rooms were beautiful and less expensive. originally the holiday home of Charlie Chaplin. The Forth floor has been renovated and have flat screen tv's, ocean views and gorgeous paint and carpet. The best location on Venice Beach.

Highly Recommended!

  • Liked — Location and the incredible staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Livindreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2007

This place is really, really nasty. It was so run down and depressing. The mattresses were old and saggy...I can't think of one redeeming quality except it is on the beach. We stayed on the third floor and spent $169, including parking. The walls are paper thin, the furnishings--gross. Lots of street noise. In general: disgusting. My opinion, Venice is a place to ride your bike through, but not to stay.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank TARColumbus_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#88 of 351 in Los Angeles
511 reviews
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#56 of 351 in Los Angeles
538 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#12 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 351 in Los Angeles
765 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Venice
Ramada Marina Del Rey
Ramada Marina Del Rey
#8 of 11 in Marina del Rey
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadillac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadillac Hotel

Property: Cadillac Hotel
Address: 8 Dudley Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-2423
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cadillac Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadillac Hotel is a quaint beach hotel resting on the famous Venice Beach Boardwalk. Halfway between the Venice and Santa Monica Piers, it presents a great location from which to visit Los Angeles' fabulous beaches, Hollywood and Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Cadillac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadillac Hotel Los Angeles
Cadillac Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing