We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
USA Hostels Hollywood
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
$359
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Angeleno(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$379
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$375
$335
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Westin Los Angeles Airport(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$181
$98
FourPoints.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$521
$449
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
$386
$369
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,115)
Filter reviews
1,115 results
Traveler rating
530
410
114
30
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
530
410
114
30
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormlimo tourcomedy nightdaily activitieshostel offersfemale dormmixed dormprivacy screenfantastic hostelfree pancakespower pointsrunyon canyonown bathroomcleaned dailysanta monicabeverly hillscommon areas
Filter
Updating list...
788 - 793 of 1,115 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Our stay in Hollywood was memorable, the main problem we had was our sleep quality, which I was sort of expecting after reading many reviews on here so lucky I bought some earplugs with me which was extremely necessary! If you intend on getting any sleep you will need some earplugs. The people were so loud late at night, and early in the morning, thumping up and down stairs and screaming and talking loud and singing. There was no quiet time to speak of. They had good activities all though we didn't join in on any, the $6 all you could eat bbq was pretty bad for $6 specially considering the US have very cheap food. Our room was very small (a private room) but adequate for sleeping in. You definitely wouldn't want to spend an extended period of time at this hostel unless you want to party every night. The location was good close to Hollywood and sunset boulevards but a little dodgy but thats Hollywood for you. I did however feel safe whilst in the hostel so that was good. I found it very clean which was good and the people working there were helpful and friendly enough. Mainly the loud nature of the place that lets it down. It would be nice if they actually had an enforced quiet time after hours.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahclaire86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We had just stayed in USA Hostels San Francisco and found this one to have not quite as good a set up, but it was still a really good hostel. This hostel is only a block or so from the Walk of Fame and other attractions and felt very safe. It has a lovely little bar area on the second floor, a nice seating area out the front and computer room, luggage storage, etc. The free wifi is a bit patchy but works half the time. The kitchen area is nice.

We had a private room with bathroom and everything worked well in there - great tv and good shower. The room looks tiny in photos but actually things are designed cleverly and the room was a little bigger than it looked in pictures. The toilet was a separate room and there was storage space over the fridge in a kind of corridor to the bathroom, which was quite spacious, considering.

We were not there long enough to enjoy many features of the hostel but it was certainly a good place to crash in LA. There was a little noise as the stairs were outside our door but most of the people there were really considerate. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mudskippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

This hostel is not expensive and they offer many great services and activities! There is Internet, laundry, kitchen and TV room for everybody, free pancakes every morning, there is a free one-way shuttle to Santa Monica Beach and Venice beach 3 times a week, spaghetti or BBQ dinners for 6$, guided tours of Beverly Hills, Hollywood sign, discounted tickets to Universal Studios and Disneyland, shuttle to Magic Mountain, etc.! The location is good, just beside the Hollywood Walk of Fame on Hollywood Blvd., it is at 10 minutes of walk from the Hollywood Greyhound bus station, city buses are not to far and there are 2 subway stations at 10 minutes of walk on Hollywood Blvd. It's at 20 minutes of Universal Studios, 1 hour of the beach and 2 hours of Disneyland. We had a semi-private room, which was very small, but clean. We could here a little noise from the dorm but it was overall very quiet. I would have liked to have shared bathrooms for everybody in the hostel instead of a shared bathroom for us and the 4 persons of the dorm. It would have been easier to take a shower at any time. The staff was very helpful, they were always there to answer our questions and they can keep your bags if you want to quit after check out. If I ever go back to Hollywood, I will stay at USA Hostels again for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMichel_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

This hostel was clean and the private room was comfortable. The all you can eat pancake breakfast was great as were the $6 meals offered some nights. The hostel provides guests with a wide range of activities such as limo rides, movies and music nights. I recommend the hike to Runyon Canyon which gave a great view out over Hollywood. The only downside was one live music night in the lounge (which was right next to my room) and the music went until 2am. It says in the rules there is an 11pm curfew though it didn't seem to be enforced that night. This is the only issue I had in my stay, otherwise it was a very good place to stay. The offer baggage storage and are able to organise shuttles to the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Great location. Surrounded by great bars, eateries, walk of fame, see the hollywood sign from you window. Bit of a stuff around with double booked rooms when we checked in late at night...was so tired just wanted to sleep. Half an hour later it was all sorted and we were given the room we originally booked. Pretty lax for a hostel, chill area out the front for drinking/smoking/bbq's etc. We stayed in a private room with ensuite which was so small. No room to move if your suitcases are open. besides that all good. also private rooms are next to the lounge area so can get noisy if your not into making the noise yourself.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTownMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews