We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel although very noisy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
USA Hostels Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hostel although very noisy.”
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Great hostel in terms of tours and staff and overall cleanliness, the one bad thing was the amount of noise during the night. There is a night club LITERALLY next door and if you get a room on the left side of the building it is impossible to sleep. Location is excellent and staff are great. All in all a great hostel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n5371856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    359
    99
    29
    28
See reviews for
10
73
523
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Rooms and bathrooms were clean and tidy and reasonably spacious rooms. Due to location it was very noisy at night but most of the noise was from outside. Staff did seem more focused on having fun with their friends than doing their jobs. In general a very nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Its close location to Hollywood blv means nothing as staying here makes you angry, mad and tired. The staff are rude and spaced out all of the time. Dealing with them each morning after a sleepless night was torture. Staff could not give me directions to any tourist sites. Eg: they didnt know the way to Venice or Malibu, and how to hike the Hollywood sign (even though this is an activity they run!!). I had to go out in the street and ask for directions everywhere and where to go to hire a car!!!
In short:
The shuttle cost reimbursement from LAX didnt apply to me for some reason??!
Beware the activities they offer run once a week and a large 'minimum of people' are needed for it to go ahead anyway.
The shuttle from San Fran is only offered twice a week.
Tiny rooms.
Night club next door leaves you without sleep.
No air con!!!
The kids that stay in the hostel are up for a party without any respect for anyone else. And they get away with it. The noise starts at 8pm and stops at 8am! Kids rudely run around the hostel, enter your dorm and sleep in your dorm. Each of my 4 nights in this hole I had to share my dorm with many randoms. Make sure you lockup all your posessions as many people run riot though this place and reception wont kick them out of your room, even at 3am.
One night there were 11 people in my 6 bed dorm and only 3 were actually staying at this hostel. They are slack with checkng your key. They let the doors open for anyone!!!
This place really ruined me and my partners time in LA.
We were unable to even leave after the first night as you have to deal with one of the 3 managers - who I never saw and I dont think even exist.
It you want to punish yourself - then book a room.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhostel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAH, Vice President of Operations at USA Hostels Hollywood, responded to this review, August 13, 2009
On behalf of our organization I regret that you had such an unfortunate experience. Ours is a top rated hostel by Hostelworld customers and we do try to provide a comfortable experience. Did you try to contact a manager while there? You are welcome to contact us at marketing@usahostels.com if you'd like to discuss your situation further.

I must correct some things though. We DO check keys at the door each and every time. The entry to the hostel is locked so no one may come in without showing a key. If there were people in your room that were not assigned to that room, most likely they were guests visiting friends that were in your room. If this was disturbing to you, I hope you reported it to the front desk. Many of our activities are offered 2-3 times per week, but we run different activities every day. The shuttle to San Fran runs daily at 12:20. It is an outside company so if it was not running, we cannot control that. Greyhound is only 3 minutes from us and runs to SF about 6 times a day and we would direct you there. We have management onsite from 9 am to around 10 pm each and every day. As for the noise, well, we are known a as a 'party atmosphere' hostel but we should have kept the noise under control after midnight. I will check into that. I would be interested in speaking with you more on this subject, so please feel free to contact us at the address above.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

I read bad reviews about this hostel and was a little nervous but i neednt have been. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and spacious. Loved the patio area, very social. There were tours and activities every day which was a great way of meeting people and i can especially recommend adams beverly hills walking tour and the limo tour! One evening there was maintenance work being done in the kitchen so they provided a free bbq and free drinks, who could ask for more! The hostel is less than a minutes walk from the walk of fame and they provide a free shuttle to santa monica and venice beach. Yes there is a little noise at night from the nearby clubs but they close around two and i think its part of the hollywood experience, join the fun! Its going to be hard to find another hostel to top the fun i had at this one.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saphyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2009

As many previous reviewers have stated, this is a great hostel if you are only up for partying. My boyfriend and I booked a private room for three nights and they were the worst three nights on our whole 5 week trip.

It is a very small, noisy hostel. Our room was the first downstairs, we were directly opposite the laundry room which was always noisy. We were also next door to the kitchen and below a very loud bathroom so we had very loud noises coming at us from all directions! I think the worst aspect was the fact that there is constantly partying going on, and people constantly congregated right out the front of our room, right until the very early hours of the morning. One night a guy was running around banging on every door at 2am yelling 'HOUSEKEEPING! Do you have a cigarette??!' - We found out the next day that it was a member of the staff doing this. I understand that everyone wants to have a good time, but there needs to be some sort of balance - it shouldnt be allowed to happen every night until the early hours of the morning - some people want sleep.

The room itself wasnt very good - the flat screen tv was nice, but the bed was really uncomfortable, we only had hot water late at night (definately none in the mornings), and from the moment we arrived our toilet wouldnt flush properly.

The hostel does run good tours - we went on a walking tour of Beverly Hills which was pretty good and the guide was very funny. They also held a pub/club crawl which was fun.

The area isnt really great - good to see the walk of fame and hollywood sign, but I would honestly recommend paying a little more for a decent hotel around Santa Monica or Venice beach - we spent a day around there and it was really lovely - and is close to Rodeo drive etc. Downtown LA and Hollywood are not really very nice areas to hang out in.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KateM1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAH, vp of operations at USA Hostels Hollywood, responded to this review, January 24, 2010
Unfortunately noise is often a fact of hostel life and we do list on Hostelworld that we are known for late night parties. This does not excuse staff partcipating in the noise level however. I hope that you reported the situation to the manager immediately so he could ferret out the offenders and discipline any staff who participated in the noise factor. I apologize that you had such a noisy experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

All things fair the hostel is in a great location & the private rooms are great. BUT I also booked this hostel because of the great reviews I read about on tripadvisor. My partner & I arrived Sat morning & needed to drop our bags off for the day. We were taken inside by a lady who was so busy that she just gave us the keys for the storage room. We could of at any point stolen someones suitcase, so we were on edge all day about how safe our luggage was at the hostel. We had an extremely long flight to LA & decided to call it a night at about 11pm, we could not sleep the entire night because of the partying that went on. The hostel has a rule for being quiet after 11 but nobody takes notice of this nor is it enforced. We stayed for a week & regretted every moment of it. The partying went on every single night up until about 5am & continued throughout he morning. What made it even more noisy was the nightclub across the rd & it got noisesr again once the club closed & everybody came back to the hostel to party more. We also ran out of toilet paper & I put a request in for more but we never got any. If you are up for partying 24/7

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank staz_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outback, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2009

We arrived at 10am. There was a certain air of hungoverness out the front. The reception lady was nice and our room was ready. Cleaners came every morning (sometimes a little to early) to clean the rooms and vaccum. The Hostel is in a great location close to 2 metro lines. Very easy to get to from the airport. We moved to a semi private room which was a little nicer asethic wise. (Including 2 bottles of water and starburst sweets) We did go on the limo tour which was good to get to know everyone. Fun night. The pancakes were good in the morning! The comedy night was also good. A good cost effective hostel in a great location.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juniper_Lime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,457 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#21 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
#15 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Hostels Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels Hollywood

Property: USA Hostels Hollywood
Address: 1624 Schrader Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90028-6214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels Hollywood 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Hollywood,only a half block to the Walk of Fame and 5 blocks to the Chinese and Egyptian Theatres. We organize daily activities and tours making for a very social environment. Also offered is a free daily breakfast of baked goods, fresh fruit, all-you-can-make pancakes, oatmeal, fruit juice, coffee and tea. All dorms and privates are with bath and our large garden patio and lounge are great places to hang out after a day of touring We also offer a free beach shuttle 3 times per week and a weekly trip to Magic Mountain. No other hostel in Los Angeles offers as much as we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your USA Hostels Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hostels Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing