We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool place =)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
USA Hostels Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“cool place =)”
Reviewed September 17, 2008

a cool place to stay =) my first stop in USA, so I was happy to see it was clean..the hike trip up runyon canyon is LONG, did it on 1st day, dropped our bags and went, VERY SORE..! the rooms were ok, beds not too comfy but you can sleep ok..kind of noisy but depends what holiday u want, our room mates just wanted to party and sleep all day (and snored like something i have never heard in my LIFE..!)..lockers are good, massive too..! they do offer good trips, pancakes are sooo good but u ave 2 get the good pan =) also, there is some parcel place behind the hostel and they were abit noisy..hollywood in general is cool, lots of crazy people though, and im from london so that is saying something..!

so overall a cool hostel, nice little bar..has a good atmosphere overall..and i loved the little canadian guy although wen he took me for that hike i wanted to kick his jack black look-a-like [--] =p x

  • Liked — pancakes..location..general atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing..!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cole271189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    365
    99
    29
    29
See reviews for
11
73
527
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2008

This hostel is really clean and safe, you need to be buzzed in to get to the rooms and the reception desk is always open for help. I found the staff really friendly and they gave really good adivce. The location is great and is right off the hollywood strip and close to public transport. It does get a little seedy in the area at night but as long as you are with someone you will be fine. I would walk back late at night with my friend (2 girls) and we were always fine. The bathrooms and rooms are super clean and the internet facilities were great. They have an all you can make pancake thing in the morning which is ok, the batter is made and all you need to do is fry it up which is great if you can cook! They also run heaps of tours, i really recommend doing the runyon canyon walking tour - its a bit of a hike but it was really fun. The staff member who took us was lots of fun. After staying in a really 'party' hostel this hostel was a little laid back and not as open, also sometimes all the rules could become a little bit annoying but I would definitely stay here again. Its safe, clean, affordable and the people are nice.

  • Liked — Clean and safe, good location
  • Disliked — Lots of big groups of friends that didnt really 'mix' - but this is subjective
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank taz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2008

Having booked and confirmed our reservation online with the hostel website, we arrived only to discover that unlike the many other hostels where we've stayed, this one is STRICTLY for passport-carrying foreign students, or American adults carrying an out-of-state student ID. Nobody under 16 is allowed to stay in the dorms, here or in any of the other nearby hostels. Therefore, my 13-year-old daughter and I were refused a room. The young woman at the desk was kind and apologetic, and tried to suggest other places we could stay; the young man at the desk was totally unsympathetic and rude. Fortunately, my daughter and I were with friends who could put us up in their small apartment for a night while we checked out other lodging options, and we ended up at a nice, clean, budget motel with good AC and a friendly staff... All's well that ends well, but for other travellers with younger teens, and any budget traveller who is NOT a student, BEWARE and read the fine print carefully -- this is NOT an AYH Hostel and NOT a family-friendly place!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GammaQuadrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2008

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights in a 6 bed female dorm. The room was fine, big enough with lockers and an attempt to keep slightly worn place with very yellow paint! The bathroom was very clean and everything else good, only snag was the room being too hot as only a ceiling fan to keep cool but not a major problem. Great location with good transport, friendly and helpful staff and fab pancakes! Overall good experience.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Just a bit tired
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rach89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

The hostel was easy to find right off hollywood blvd which was great and is close to public transport such as the metrolink and bus services. The staff were good and gave us a tour of the hostel when we arrived which was great. The organised activites were good we went on the hollywood sign tour which is a 4hr hike up to the hollywood sign the guide was really good for that. We did want to go to six flags magic mountain which is another organised tour done by the hostel but unfortunetly that wasnt on while we were there as the hostel shuttle had been stolen. The location was good close to kodak theatre and other attractions. and it was a quick bus ride from the hostel to the shopping malls in L.A. The only bad thing was our room. we stayed in a semi private room with a shared bathroom. When I booked this I was under the impression that you get your own room but share the bathroom located across the hall. But that wasnt it. Insted it was a 4 person dorm room with a little cupboard at the back which was our room. You had to walk through the 4 person dorm room to get to our room. Which made it very awkward. The bathroom was an ensuite off the dorm room. That wasnt good. the room was very small and hot. The really bad thing was that the curtains were see through and there was an apartment building next door that could see right in the room. I couldnt get changed in my own room. not good!!!

  • Liked — close to public transport
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kiwigirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2008

USA Hostels Hollywood was a good place to stay. I stayed in a six bed room with an ensuite. The room was a good size and the ensuite was handy with cleaners coming through everyday to keep it clean and tidy. The bar is good with cheap beers. Most of the people that work there are really nice although a couple of them were a little bit arrogant but overall they were helpful. Its in a great location just of Hollywood Blvd and not too far from Sunset. Security was good and I generally felt safe around the area even though i was travelling alone.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2008

Had two nights in a private room. It was en suite and had a giant TV and even a view of the Hollywood sign from the window!

The staff were helpful and friendly, and there is loads to do around the hostel. It is a 30 second walk from Hollywood blv.

The hostel has lots of activities on everyday, and we had a guided tour of Bel Air and Beverly Hills for 3 hours. Only cost $6!

Very, very noisy on a night though. But would stay here again.

  • Liked — Activities arranged by the hostel
  • Disliked — Noisy at night
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tentotheminus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#25 of 351 in Los Angeles
373 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,826 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,108 reviews
Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
811 reviews
Hollywood
Orange Drive Hostel
Orange Drive Hostel
#8 of 88 in Los Angeles
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Hostels Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels Hollywood

Property: USA Hostels Hollywood
Address: 1624 Schrader Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90028-6214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels Hollywood 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Hollywood,only a half block to the Walk of Fame and 5 blocks to the Chinese and Egyptian Theatres. We organize daily activities and tours making for a very social environment. Also offered is a free daily breakfast of baked goods, fresh fruit, all-you-can-make pancakes, oatmeal, fruit juice, coffee and tea. All dorms and privates are with bath and our large garden patio and lounge are great places to hang out after a day of touring We also offer a free beach shuttle 3 times per week and a weekly trip to Magic Mountain. No other hostel in Los Angeles offers as much as we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your USA Hostels Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hostels Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing