We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing it already!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
USA Hostels Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This place is brilliant! I've never stayed in a better hostel.

I was a female travelling alone for the first time and this place could not have been a more perfect start for my trip.

You will make friends instantly here. The atmosphere in the hostel is so friendly that it makes people want to talk to each other. On top of that, you have the opportunity to meet new people on all the tours they run.

These tours are brilliant, a few of the ones I did..

Beverly Hills walking tour: The only tour that offers you the chance to walk up to celebrities homes and explore the neighbourhood on foot and priced at a very cheap $12 as apposed to the $50 some of them are charging for a bus tour!

The pub crawl: Great chance to meet everybody, I did this the first night I checked in and met so many friends this way.

The Hollywood sign tour: A hike up the Hollywood hills all the way to the sign, this is a cheap $6 and another chance to chat to new people, definitely worth it.

The comedy night: I'm not usually a fan of comedians but this night was great. Hilarious comedy and a great atmosphere upstairs. On top of that it was 2 beers for $3.. cheapest in Hollywood! By the end of the night I was paying $1 a drink..bargain.

Breakfast is in a sociable area where its easy to talk to and you have a good pick of different juices and other options.

The staff are incredibly helpful. They know everything you need to know and you will recognise all of them after just a few days of staying there. Upon check-in you even get shown to your room and the choice of whichever bed you would like.

The rooms are incredibly cosy with a shield around where you rest your head. It's completely private sleeping and there is a shelf, light and plug socket next to your bed.

I met some friends for life at this hostel and I never had a bad roommate either. Everyone was young and out to have fun and meet new people.

The good thing about this hostel is that you don't need to make friends in your room, there are plenty of opportunities to meet people here. If you're looking for a quiet place to rest your head however then stay in a hotel instead!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sofi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,095)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

657 - 663 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here in November and again at the end of January. Very friendly and informative staff, lots of services and activities, Clean, and fantastic location. Great stay, wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dylan_crosbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have stayed in a lot of hostels, but this is by far the best one I have ever stayed at! The staff are super helpful with everything, the hostel offers free, healthy and good breakfast everyday, and the rooms are perfectly clean and comfortable! The hostel also hosts a lot of different event to make your stay in LA perfect. Will deffinately stay here the next time I go to LA!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurakleiven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I've been travelling quite a lot in California the past year and also visited several cities on the east coast, without doubt I can say that this is the best hostel in the US! I stayed in Hostel almost in all major cities on the west coast and I never had a better experience than here.

The location is great for anyone, who is coming to LA to see the usual (Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Warner Bros, Universal). Even Downtown or Santa Monica and Venice are not too far (even with public transportation it takes just an hour)

Staff was super friendly, breakfast was great and the rooms were the best I've seen so far. Both times I've stayed in dorm rooms with 6-8 people.

+Big Lockers (including chargers INSIDE: seriously this is a great idea and I don't know why many other hostels don't do it, you can charge your camera over-night and don't need worry it gets stolen)

+ Shelf at your bed (including reading light, 2 additional chargers and enough space to put glasses, cellphone etc.)

+ Huge Mattress (it was bigger than usual and very comfortable)

+ Very Clean

Room Tip: The rooms at the west side can be located right next to the bar / social area but even when i stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Really nice hostel in Hollywood. Rooms are big and have private bathrooms. Beds feel very private, and the hostel is not too noisy at night. The staff is great and there are a lot of different activites to attend like pub crawls, six flags, tours etc. We met a bunch of nice people here, and had a great time! Lots of bars, clubs and places to eat just around the corner. Metro station and buses are also very close. The hostel also has a shuttle service to the beach, which was great! I really recommend this place if you feel like meeting a young and outgoing crowd! Would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank -Kristinsj-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

i really enjoyed this hostel. it had a great location, some awesome staff (the people on reception were worth their weight in gold), cheap burger night, cheap bar upstairs, a bunch of organised events to go to if you want to meet more people. i totally recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nisse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a great option to stay in the heart of Hollywood on a budget - OK, let's say on an "LA budget".
It's a place with a very young and fun vibe: there's always music playing, a lot of opportunities to meet other travelers and a variety of activities organized by the hostel at very fair prices: shuttles to the beach (these are actually free), BBQ nights in the patio, open mic nights, stand up shows, tours (that cost a fraction than those you'd book anywhere else in Hollywood but offer pretty much the same), etc.

We experienced a private room with bathroom, which was rather compact but well equipped: TV, ipod dock, bath tub, hair dryer, etc. Very clean upon arrival and cleaned upon request, although we never felt the need for that.

Breakfast is included in the rate and it's DIY: there's pancake batter for you to cook your own pancakes (and it can be fun to see how some people do this!..), some breads and spreads, coffee/tea, oatmeal, juice and fruit. It gets busy towards the end of breakfast time (I guess backpackers tend to wake up late), so go early if you want to enjoy a more peaceful meal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank zararock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#136 of 355 in Los Angeles
316 reviews
Harbor
All Star Inn
All Star Inn
#228 of 355 in Los Angeles
37 reviews
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
#12 of 107 in Los Angeles
443 reviews
Venice
Samesun Venice Beach
Samesun Venice Beach
#4 of 107 in Los Angeles
635 reviews
Hollywood
Walk of Fame Hostel
Walk of Fame Hostel
#9 of 107 in Los Angeles
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Hostels Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels Hollywood

Address: 1624 Schrader Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90028-6214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range: $37 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels Hollywood 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Hollywood,only a half block to the Walk of Fame and 5 blocks to the Chinese and Egyptian Theatres. We organize daily activities and tours making for a very social environment. Also offered is a free daily breakfast of baked goods, fresh fruit, all-you-can-make pancakes, oatmeal, fruit juice, coffee and tea. All dorms and privates are with bath and our large garden patio and lounge are great places to hang out after a day of touring We also offer a free beach shuttle 3 times per week and a weekly trip to Magic Mountain. No other hostel in Los Angeles offers as much as we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your USA Hostels Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hostels Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing