We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Samesun Venice Beach
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
$333
$226
Official Site
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Westin Los Angeles Airport(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$282
$276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$129
FourPoints.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$542
$413
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
$360
$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (660)
Filter reviews
660 results
Traveler rating
206
237
109
48
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
237
109
48
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanta monicagreat locationsamesun hostelbed dormprivate bathroomstay in venicemuscle beachfree breakfastclean roomsskatebackpackersroommateslimosinkuberhollywoodlax
Filter
Updating list...
513 - 518 of 660 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Had a double room with no A/C and the only window was to a shaft with ventilation pipes and another room. The kitchen was small and became dirty very quickly.
Drinks every night in commonroom and drunk people were often heard in halls at night.
Lots of homeless people in streets, offered drugs twice in a day.
Close to beach and the hostess/owner, was very kind!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomasaplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

Staff were friendly and informative.
Our dorm room was pretty stuffy, no air ventilation. When we moved over to the private room, had a window and lovely. Bed was comfortable. Internet was fairly cheap. Kitchen was big and had a lot of utensils. Free coffee and tea all day. Excellent security.
Location was on the beach and close to the Venice Beach strip. Within walking distance of the shopping centres.
What we paid was pretty expensive for a hostel. Motels were offering less per night - private room, private bath, TV etc.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mich-n-Mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2009

Liked the location (the beach was super close) and I actually got to know the people that were sharing the room with me, which was really great. There aren't very many washrooms per floor, though (I believe ours had 2). The room was very basic, seemed clean. The staff were relatively blase, like they couldn't care less. I hated having to lug my luggage up the stairs, so if you plan to take a lot of luggage with you, have fun with that.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magesticbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2008

DON'T STAY HERE AT ALL COSTS. This is by far the worst hostel. Granted, in near the beach but it's filthy beyond Third World conditions. Bed bugs dance away in the carpets as well as beds. Stay in Santa Monica instead.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bobcatsofbhutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008

Really nice staff in the Cotel. We checked in quite late. Had a 4 bed room for our four person party.

Carpets are quite old giving the place a run down feeling but we had an ensuite, with a great shower, and beds were clean and comfortable.

Internet available, towels available (free), skim boards to use on the beach available (for free!), No breakfast but some nice places along the beach/down the road.

Wander along the beach and check out all the stalls there - it's great! Lots of strange people and homeless however :(

We didn't experience much noise while we were there (wednesday night), but only stayed one night.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ems_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews