We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud and dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samesun Venice Beach
Leeds, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Loud and dirty”
Reviewed September 30, 2008

The location of this hostel is great, right by Venice beach. The hostel is not so great. Firstly we had to drag our cases up a few flights of stairs that they didn't tell us about. The room had seen better days, the sink was rusty, the walls marked and dirty and the carpet was sticky.

Although we knew this place was a hostel and we expected young backpacker types, we didn't expect to be kept awake all night by our neighbours shouting and arguing.

The shared bathroom was dirty and didn't have toilet paper on a few occasions. The kitchen was sub-standard and it took an hour to boil a pot of water.

There are a lot of homeless people around the Venice beach area, so people didn't seem to venture out at night. There weren't many bars around to have a drink at.

The best thing about the hostel was the restaurant next to it. "Danny's" serves great food and has good service, excellent!

  • Liked — Danny's restaurant next door
  • Disliked — it was dirty and uncomfortable
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nikk83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    216
    101
    45
    57
See reviews for
6
120
245
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2008

Great location i.e. the street is perpendicular to the beach and the beach is a 2 minute walk. However the staff were a problem. Rude, offhand, and acted as if it was the Hilton. We had a room at the front and loved the noise coming from the bar below. When we mentioned it (not a complaint and we made this known, just a mention). The snippy response was "well that was the room you asked for". What? So we asked for that particular room above the noise. If anything can ruin a stay it's that sort of rubbish from someone. Don't go here. There are a few other places close by for only a little more money.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff and noise
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David-Sydney_Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2008

The location was good . there was a nice beach and people from all over the world is staying there . but when it become evening there isnt much things to do and there are lots of homeless people take place on the street . the place was clean at all but the entrance hall smells weird . cotel workers was helpful and the rooms were average . if you go Venice - LA , try venice beach cotel

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank subway006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2008

This place has everything going for it. It is virtually on the beach, it is clean, the rooms are big, the staff were very helpful and polite. The bathrooms are great. I stayed one night only and it was the worst night ever. Why? There was no aircondition in the room I stayed in, just a ceiling fan which could not be controlled. There were absoultely no airflow in the room,even with the window fully open. The temperature during the night must have been well above 30 degrees - and I am not exaggerating!! In the middle of the night I had to go and take a cold shower, then wrap a cold towel around my head to try to keep cool. I did not sleep the whole night and was really pleased I had to leave at 06 in the morning for the airport. I would not stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The temperature - too hot!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Norlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2008

It was really nice to stay there. Many people from all around the world, 4 beds room with ocean and sunset view...no breakfast included, and my room was clean but could be better (but this depends on what kind of people are in your room).
I will suggest for sure!

  • Liked — location and people
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank matty83pg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united states
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2008

The strength of this hostel is its location. It's VERY close to the beach (50 meters), in a area famous for shopping and nightlife.
The hostel itself is nothing special, anyway, since it has the "valid passport policy" doesn't receive suspicious people and believe me, this is important cause LA is full of homeless looking for a place to sleep..
The bus stop is pretty close even though it takes forever to move with it, due to the size of the city. We had a great time here and I wouldn't change this hostel for anoter one in the caothic downtown or Hollywood! Have fun in LA!

  • Liked — Amazing location, Venice Beach
  • Disliked — Pay attention at night..
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lindaUnitedStates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

1. It was my first hostel stay. My partner & I had a private room with view of Beach. This was priceless on its own.

2. Room was clean and basic. More than what I expected however with plenty of breathing room.

3. Outside was pretty quiet. However you do get some of your fellow travelers making some noise coming home late at night. It is a hostel after all!

  • Liked — The view and location
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank danielz_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#12 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,300 reviews
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#88 of 351 in Los Angeles
511 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 351 in Los Angeles
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#56 of 351 in Los Angeles
538 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Venice
Venice Breeze Suites
Venice Breeze Suites
#4 of 89 in Los Angeles
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samesun Venice Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samesun Venice Beach

Property: Samesun Venice Beach
Address: 25 Windward Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90291-4102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Venice Beach 1.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samesun Venice Beach is the best place to stay in Los Angeles. Located in beautiful Venice Beach, California, our hostel is friendly and affordable, perfect for international travelers. Swim, party, and live it up while you're in LA.Located in the St. Charles Hotel building, the oldest hotel in Venice, Samesun focuses on meeting new people, interacting with other backpackers, and lots of fun. Our vibrant atmosphere brings people together from all over the world and you can expect good times and new friends to come out of your experience. Our friendly staff, including many who are travelers themselves, work hard to make sure your stay is as easy and perfect as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Samesun Venice Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach Cotel Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing