We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is good, not much else” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samesun Venice Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Samesun Venice Beach
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location is good, not much else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

I checked in, went out and returned to find all the beds in the room I was assigned occupied. Staff handled it well and gave me a private room (bad mattress, no bathroom) for the night. Showers don't have warm water or anywhere to keep toiletries. Dark rooms, noisy hallways and beds and bad breakfast (toast and butter). They charge $20 for a shuttle bus to the airport - Uber (private car service) costs $18.

Service and cleanliness is good, and of course location, but for the revenue per room it is poor value. Anyone traveling with at least one other would do better to stay at a hotel instead. And they should assign beds instead of rooms to avoid confusion!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ung1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samesunvenice, Front Office Manager at Samesun Venice Beach, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. At this location we do not assign beds, just room numbers as we have had issues with bed assignments in the past, however, we will definitely re-assess the situation again to see if a better system might be available. We recommend a few shuttle companies within the Los Angeles area. Thank you for suggesting Uber: we will follow up with them.

Cheers and Safe Travels!

-Sara, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    201
    93
    42
    57
See reviews for
3
113
227
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed at this hostel three times already. My first stays were during a California trip in 2012 (three nights in the beginning and 6 nights at the end). I had a great time, the staff was super nice and the other guests were pretty cool.

They usually organize some fun stuff like pub crawls and I can only recommend joining them. The staff also helps you with booking trips (e.g. Hollywood) or shuttle rides to the airport and even down to San Diego!

I made a couple of friends when I went down there. Abby (staff) has been fantastic and made our stay awesome. My friend and I went back this summer to kick off our roadtrip down south and then over to Vegas.

TLDR; great location + great people + amazing staff = lots of fun.

PS: they also have a hostel in Downtown Vancouver, haven't stayed there yet (because I live there) but recommend it to anyone who is visiting me

-axel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Axel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samesunvenice, General Manager at Samesun Venice Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thanks for the feedback. We love to hear when guests return to LA they stay with us! We are glad you took advantage of the activities offered and that our staff were helpful and friendly. Make sure you stop but the Samesun Vancouver and say hi to the staff! That location also has a bar and restaurant - The Beaver (open to the general public)- with great food, amazing drink deals and an awesome atmosphere, filled with backpackers from all over the world!

Cheers and safe travels.

Sara, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Directly at venice beach, which is perfect. but our room had only a small window which was blocked by a wodden fence (?), there´s carpet everywhere, the citchen is extremly small and it costs about the same as the St. Monica youth Hostel- you should compare the pics, they have a lot more common space, a great citchen, etc, . also the tours offered at the front desk of the hostel were really really expensive, mostly around 80$. St. Monica Youth Hostel offered comparable tours for about 10$.

But i´d recommend it nevertheless for some days, because of its great location, many bars in the area, and the nice staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Christian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samesunvenice, General Manager at Samesun Venice Beach, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed your time in Venice and took advantage of the local events offered. Hopefully you participated in some of the nightly activities that we also offer. We do have a variety of room types; some with ocean views, some without. This provides options for all of our guests' budgets.

Cheers and Safe Travels

-Sara, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

It is in an amazing location, just metres from the boardwalk and the beach! But not only that, the rooms are clean, the water is hot, it's safe, and THE STAFF ARE INCREDIBLE! Definetly people I will always stay in touch with! Always greeted with a friendly smile and are always willing to help you.
They have organized activities if you choose to participate, always something to do. Whether you're traveling alone or with friends I would recommend this hostel to anyone! Couldn't have been the same trip to Venice Beach without them !

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashlea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samesunvenice, Front Office Manager at Samesun Venice Beach, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for the feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that Samesun is such a positive memory. Looking forward to seeing you again the next time you find yourself in Venice.

Cheers and Safe Travels.

-Abby, Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed 3 nights in this Venice Hostel and was impressed.

Firstly, the location is great. The window of my room directly overlooked the venice boardwalk and beach. Note that this means that it was not quiet, over the course of my stay I just about memorised the the script of the Jamaican street performers nearby, so if you're not OK with noise, you don't want to stay this close to the boardwalk. At night it was fine however as everyone pretty much goes home when the sun goes down.

But the reason I'm giving this a 5 star review was for the service I witnessed by the person working reception. I went to organise an airport shuttle with them and there was a person being served by the reception in front of me. He thought he had appendicitis and was informing reception that he was going to take a cab to the hospital, in case he didn't come back that night. The girl behind the counter helped him out without being asked by calling up the hospital and making sure that they would accept a foreigner who did not have domestic health insurance and made sure his travel insurance would work with them so he wouldn't get turned away. Then when she served me she apologised that I had to wait!

I was very impressed by that level of service and it still stays in my mind.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yaziyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samesunvenice, General Manager at Samesun Venice Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for such awesome feedback. We understand how scary it can be while traveling overseas and need medical attention. We like to make sure that our guests are well taken care of and feel right at home. We did it then and we will do it again! Safe Travels!

-Sara, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

You basically pay for the location and nothing else.

The hostal didnt have hot water when we stayed there (they didnt tell us beforehand) so we decided to ask for a refund and leave. At first they didnt want to give us the money back even though the service proposal wasnt being held, luckily the recepcionist had 2d thoughts and decided to make "an exception" and refunded us the 2nd night.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samesunvenice, General Manager at Samesun Venice Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for the feedback. We do have hot water in the building, however, we had an emergency with the heating system, which affected the hot water. We attended to the situation as carefully and quickly as possible, but unfortunately the water temperature was temporarily affect. I apologize for the inconvenience and do hope the refund helped.

-Sara, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is mere steps from the Venice boardwalk and is surrounded by all that Venice has to offer. Parking can be a bit of a bugger but there are some free spots about 5 mins walk away.

I think it was an old hotel because the rooms are very hotel like, albeit with bunks in them now. Bedding is comfortable, showers are great and rooms are separated from the common areas.

Common areas are good, the kitchen is large with all the things needed from cooking. WIFI is strong in the common areas.

Breakfast was ok, not awesome, not bad but serviceable. Staff were helpful and security was like Fort Knox!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank kilometres9345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samesunvenice, General Manager at Samesun Venice Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thanks for the feedback. It's great that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are what I like to call a 'heritage building', one of the oldest buildings in Venice! There is a lot of history in these walls. We like to create a safe environment for our guest, which is the reason for the security; no unregistered guests. Cheers and safe travel!

-Sara, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#70 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#10 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#13 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#43 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Venice
Cadillac Hotel
Cadillac Hotel
#233 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Venice
Venice Breeze Suites
Venice Breeze Suites
#4 of 84 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samesun Venice Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samesun Venice Beach

Property: Samesun Venice Beach
Address: 25 Windward Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90291-4102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Venice Beach 1.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samesun Venice Beach is the best place to stay in Los Angeles. Located in beautiful Venice Beach, California, our hostel is friendly and affordable, perfect for international travelers. Swim, party, and live it up while you're in LA.Located in the St. Charles Hotel building, the oldest hotel in Venice, Samesun focuses on meeting new people, interacting with other backpackers, and lots of fun. Our vibrant atmosphere brings people together from all over the world and you can expect good times and new friends to come out of your experience. Our friendly staff, including many who are travelers themselves, work hard to make sure your stay is as easy and perfect as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Samesun Venice Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach Cotel Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing