We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hostel. it's in the name”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samesun Venice Beach
Reviewed July 25, 2012

the absolute advantage of this accommodation is its location. it's smack down in the middle of venice beach, it's where it's all at: promenade, artists, green doctors, bars, sport courts, "artists", weirdos, skateboarders, surfers - all the local specific. this also makes it a very busy place, and it can be noisy at night due to the neighborhood. you can meet a bunch of new people or just hang around - you'll be in the middle of all the action.

the single room i stayed in was very spartan, had its own sink, a (good) bed and and a closet - not much, but bear in mind that accommodation in LA is *very* expensive - i was looking for something decently-priced, in santa monica or venice beach area, so a clean hostel was a good choice for a few nights. the bathroom was shared, fairly clean, no frills. you can store your drinks and food in the common kitchen, there are some convenience stores nearby (not much to offer and quite overpriced). for food you can venture to the cafes nearby where you can get a decent breakfast for instance, or dinner. you can also head down to santa monica for cleaner-looking restaurants.

safety - you get buzzed in, always say you name and room number. as there are many bars nearby, people might be standing in the doorway as well, but don't get discouraged by that. the thing i needed time to get accustomed to, was the nature and the safety of the neighborhood - it has lots of very strange characters, can be well above one’s personal level of tolerance. after a while though, you'll see that they are part of the local specific and they're harmless - but that situation needs some time to digest, depending on your "weirdness/readiness" level. the hostel is safe though and the staff are doing their best to keep it that way - stick to the house rules while you're there.

the hosts are nice and friendly, sometimes tense, but ok overall, they organize welcome get-together nights for new guests, take you around, answer your questions, help with directions, and so on. they can also arrange transportation, although i found out that by negotiating with the taxi drives outside you can get better fares.

i think the place offers a classic hostel-stay experience, and, due to its location it spices it up with that venice beach specific. for those of you not ready for this, you should find accommodation in santa monica but definitely spend a day or at least an afternoon in venice beach.

Room Tip: get a room with its own bathroom, and preferably, a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiraBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 626 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

For some reason, this hostel gets a lot of bad rep as I can see. I stayed there for a week and I think it's the best hstel I've been to. It's located right on the beach, there are bars and restaurants just a few steps away. My room had amazing sea view and it's own bathroom, houskeeping ladies were very friendly and the cleanliness was perfect. Price is high, but you get what you pay for! If you don't like the noise, the "dirty backpackers and homeless people", then there is no place for you in any hostel nor in Venice Beach especially. There is a party everyday taking place in the hostel bar which continues (under supervision of a person from staff) into either a bar or other places. Especially enjoyed nights out with Dodo, one night she even took us to a crazy houseparty/artshowing/whatever, true venice experience! The bums around the hostel and on venice beach are very friendly, sensitive and sometimes inteligent human beings and I've enjoyed talking to them more than to some people from the hostel. If you don't like this kind of thing, don't come to venice beach, seriously, there is nothing for you.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Peeetrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

where do i start on this place?? expensive considering what you are getting. staff very very rude and unhelpful. every other hostel i have been to you are welcomed by polite friendly staff who are more than willing to help.here they make it out like they are doing you a favour by staying there!! smary bald guy especially. price fluctuated (just for me apparently) from 35 to 45 dollars just depending on how the manager was feeling. another lad checked in after me and payed 10 dollars less!! where is the sense in that!! perhaps they should tell you the rules about the key deposit when you check in...lost mine twice! already told them i was staying 3 nights, spoke to the manager when i checked in she said it was fine. next day key deposit gone! this happned twice. thats a 20 dollar hit. they seriously need to take a trip abroad and find out how a hostel is supposed to be run, instead of just milking their cash cow for everything its worth. manager is something else, horrible piece of work. DO NOT I REPEAT DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Great place to stay..staff are very friendly..great location...you can bring your own alcahol to the lounge in the cotel and have a few drinks with the other travellers and then a member of staff takes you out to bars,clubs ect. i really enjoyed my stay here..all in all a great place to stay

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishBoy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Expensive , bad location (alot of dirty backpackers and homeless people) , terrible service (waited 30 min just to get the room clear , not interested in the customers).
We had the most expensive room there.
The bar and the living room for the rest of the cotel were right outside our room.
So noisy with music all night and people talking in the phones.

In other words : DONT go here!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allanwold25526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The room had zero air conditioning, the fan on the ceiling just blew around warm air, the window was open but upon closer inspection it opened into a closed off room so we had no fresh air at all. The guy at reception was so rude but he had our credit card details so we had to bite our tongues! Probably the worst night of sleep i have ever had! Staff were so unhelpful - Word of advice to anyone thinking about staying there, please DON'T!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marylongworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Where to start, the location is by far the only good thing about the hostel being right on the beach, however the area just outside the place is filty and full of bums and there's only free parking til 8am you then have to top up a meter every hou. When we arrived in we had to carry all our luggage up 3 flights of stairs as no lift and not safe to leave any in car, the guy working at the reception was the most obnoxious person I've ever come across there was 5of us and my brother was living in America so travelling on his licence, apparently the company policy is no passport no bed however I have yet to see this advertised before booking, fair enough if it is but when my brother was about to tell ye guy he didn't have a passport as you don't need it to travye the guy cut him off mid sentence and went on a rant about how he didn't need to let us stay and he's such a nice guy for doing this for us, I would have walked out the door at this point had it not been so late, the rooms were filthy with horrible uncomfortable beds they smell bad and have ZERO air conditioning it was horrible I got no sleep when we asked for a fan we were met with an arrogant attitude again and told to change a setting in the fan, when we did this it sent dust flying all over the room! Clearly ha not been cleaned in years! And we were fed up dealing with the staff so we lied there til 8am, no one got any sleep and left as quick as possible, there was a new girl there in the morning who we told about our experience with her co-worker and the room, she was a bit more polite but was disinterested and unhelpful.

If offered a free night here I would say turn it down you would have a better night sleep on the beach itself. I've stayed in a lot of hostels on the west coast of America in the last few weeks all of which were good except this one

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mishsmelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#8 of 355 in Los Angeles
797 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#10 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,358 reviews
Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
#2 of 101 in Los Angeles
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
#12 of 101 in Los Angeles
438 reviews
Hollywood
Orange Drive Hostel
Orange Drive Hostel
#6 of 101 in Los Angeles
358 reviews
Santa Monica
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samesun Venice Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samesun Venice Beach

Address: 25 Windward Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90291-4102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range: $44 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Venice Beach 1.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samesun Venice Beach is the best place to stay in Los Angeles. Located in beautiful Venice Beach, California, our hostel is friendly and affordable, perfect for international travelers. Swim, party, and live it up while you're in LA.Located in the St. Charles Hotel building, the oldest hotel in Venice, Samesun focuses on meeting new people, interacting with other backpackers, and lots of fun. Our vibrant atmosphere brings people together from all over the world and you can expect good times and new friends to come out of your experience. Our friendly staff, including many who are travelers themselves, work hard to make sure your stay is as easy and perfect as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Samesun Venice Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach Cotel Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing