We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samesun Venice Beach
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This hostel is in an excellent location for Venice Beach, literally 50m from the beach footpath. Rooms were clean and a decent size, though we thought that pricing was on the expensive side for a hostel with dorms.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calebmondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    214
    100
    44
    57
See reviews for
5
118
242
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2011

20 year old white upper/upper-middle class American male college student talking here: the Venice Beach Cotel is truthfully a good place. Clean, respectable, great people, great service. The bathrooms & beds were VERY clean -- there is really nothing to worry about in that regard. The only big complaint I have is that there was no air conditioning in the room I was in on the third floor (312 perhaps?). Considering it was in-facing and had no air circulation, the room got balmy (shall i say, unbearable) at night, and so that brings down my review for the hostel from 5 stars to 4 stars. Also, I didn't use the Internet Wifi, but friends in my room who did said it was very expensive/slow. Remember as well to bring your own LOCKS: they have lockers but no locks. Airport shuttle is also definitely worth it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elakhna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

For a hostel right in the middle of crazy Venice beach, it felt safe and welcoming..staff did not get annoyed with endless questions, suprisingly not too loud even though planted right on 'top' of skaters, buskers, pubs and beach...and thank fully quite clean (including shared kitchen, yes it is true, very clean)

great...you have the beach right there and buses to anywhere you want to go....: )

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank sehecarebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

The only thing that is good about this hostel is it's location right on Venice beach. Everything else sucked (for the price). The room absolutely stank everyday and was average, the beds were uncomfy. You had to pay to use the internet which I think is ridiculous anywhere especially when your paying £25 a night, no laundry facilities, small common area with no tv, small but very helpful front desk. Overall not worth the price as the facilities sucked.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gseward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I was coming to the end of a 3 month trip around america and canada and I was low on funds when I decided to book in here. At the time if you booked online on their website you could get it for just $12 per night. I though the place was going to be a dump because it was so cheap but I was pleasantly surprized.

My room was on the 3rd floor overlooking VB boardwalk. You had direct views of the ocean and Malibu (see my pictures to see the amazing views).

Venice looks intimidating because of all the strange people around but it is actually quite safe and people are friendly.

The only thing that sucks is that the TV (common room) closes at 11pm and you have to either go out or go to bed at that hour. I loved this place and I will be back again.

The staff were great.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fruges12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubllin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

We visited this hostel because my wife had stayed in a hostel on venice beach 20 years ago. Wow what a difference.The private room reminded me of cell block D in Alcatraz prison which we had been to earlier on our trip. It's right on venice beach, but location seemed unsafe.Unsavoury characters hang around the front door at night. They charged outrageous price for room because it was a busy weekend. You have to park on a residential street 5 minutes walk away.Don't go here unless you are really stuck for somewhere to sleep.Wifi charge is a ripoff. There is however a fantastic Sushi restaurant nearby that's worth a visit.

Room Tip: avoid this place at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We got a private room for 4 nights, the pros of the place are that it is in a good location near the beach and the 'sights' of Venice, but downsides were there were bed bugs in the bed (after the third night I had spots all over my legs and my bf said he could feel them biting him). Room was quite expensive for what you get, however the bathroom was clean and has been renovated. However, our room (room 1) is wedged between the kitchen and common room so it was noisy until at least midnight and then after that you can hear the reception doorbell, phone, etc all night long unless you have earplugs. Also they say free parking is nearby - but good luck in finding a car park at least 5 min walk away (we parked in Market St). Can also smell weed when the windows were open (not really the hostel's fault though).
Would probably suit a single person looking to party, meet people etc, but it just wasn't for us. We were due to go back there for the last 3 days of our trip but we have booked a motel in Beverly Hills which was cheaper and offers more...
There are also lots of homeless people/druggies etc right outside the hostel entry which can be intimidating - would recommend perhaps Main St Venice area, Santa Monica or Marina del ray area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank platos3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#69 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#51 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Venice
Cadillac Hotel
Cadillac Hotel
#236 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samesun Venice Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samesun Venice Beach

Property: Samesun Venice Beach
Address: 25 Windward Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90291-4102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Venice Beach 1.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samesun Venice Beach is the best place to stay in Los Angeles. Located in beautiful Venice Beach, California, our hostel is friendly and affordable, perfect for international travelers. Swim, party, and live it up while you're in LA.Located in the St. Charles Hotel building, the oldest hotel in Venice, Samesun focuses on meeting new people, interacting with other backpackers, and lots of fun. Our vibrant atmosphere brings people together from all over the world and you can expect good times and new friends to come out of your experience. Our friendly staff, including many who are travelers themselves, work hard to make sure your stay is as easy and perfect as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Samesun Venice Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach Cotel Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing