We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Venice Beach Hostel and Hotel
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hostel is ideally located. The facilities are very good. Clean bathroom and sufficent space for a backpacker. I really loved the paintings on the walls in the bedrooms. Good size kitchen. On our trip we didn't interact much with the other guests, luck of the draw I guess; however we made friends with some of the staff. I will for sure stay here again if I visit Venice beach again,

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 95 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

Loved the time we spent here. Probably the best location in Venice as it joins onto the Venice sign and is just 1 min walk from the beach. The hostel provides free coffee and waffles in the morning and I met some really interesting people whilst staying here, all of which were very friendly! We even went to san fran with one of the guys we met!
The only issue you could have was that smoking is permitted in the common room so it could get rather smokey, but to me this just added to the Venice Beach atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Was concerned with previous reviews. However enjoyed an excellent stay. Staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. Room was basic but clean and spacious - definatley recommend private room ! Location was great just off Venice beach, restaurants and off licence near by. Not a massive amount of Night life around in the way of bars and clubs but a good opportunity for a cheap night in with a few beers meeting new people

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damiankirkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

DONT EVERRRRR STAY HERE!!! If I could, I wish I could sit out there everyday just to let everyone know HOW DISGUSTING and VILE this place is. BUGS all over the bed, room and bathroom. Drugged out bums having KEYES TO ROOMS...I know because they got into my room in the middle of the night. When I tried to get a refund, the owner WOULD NOT meet with me. Finally, after me going back day after day I finally caught him. His answer was that he will NEVER give a refund.I called the cops and of course they did NOTHING.

PLEASE JUST SLEEP IN YOUR CAR! YOU'RE SAFER AND CLEANER.

Room Tip: Sad to say but too many travelers overlooked my girlfriend's review from 2007 ("Desk Agents...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank RastaSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Firstly this is a terrible service, that claims to offer so much! We arrived at first and they had lost our booking and they admitted that even if you book on hostelworld it often gets lost and there was nothing they could do!
They finally found our booking, but admitted that we could not check in till 3pm YOU DO NOT PAY 45 DOLLARS to receive such service. Finally I was put it into a 'private' room which represented more a prison cell which was damp and has pieces of brick falling on my bed. Free dinner was also offered what i received was a bowl of stale rice. This is an awful hostel, and we moved to the other Venice beach hostel on yale avenue which is brilliant. Do not stay here, the staff are clumsy and cocky1

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willrichards26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I only stayed for 2 nights but during that time we had an enjoyable time in Venice Beach. The location is amazing, walk around the corner and you're on the boardwalk right in front of the skate park, jus down from muscle beach.
We booked a private room which made all the different as the room was massive! Very light and airy in the room. No aircon but there is a fan and with the sea breeze we have plenty of fresh air.
The free waffles in the morning were great. We didn't stay for dinner (not my husband's type of food) but if you we had done that, we could have easily have eaten for about $10 per day - there are a lot of cheap eateries along the broadwalk (cheap pizza, hot dogs etc or visit Subways across the road).
The free wifi was quiet poor in our room but in the common room was excellent.
Venice Beach is very free spirited and some might be intimated by the locals, especially at night (would recommend a stay in Santa Monica if that is the case). However the location of this hostel is very close to places to eat - eg Larry's around the corner is a good place for a bite to eat for dinner and excellent beer.
One point to note - the hostel doesn't let you bring food back to your room, either at in the common room our eat out for dinner.
The hostel is around the corner from Jay's Rentals where we hired skates and a bike for a few hours - great activity to do along the board walk up to Santa Monica.
The staff kindly recommended some LA tours with pick ups from around the corner. We had limited time and the bus system into town doesn't look that easy and could take about 60-90 to get there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nottkylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed here with a friend for 3 nights, and it was the best hostel on our trip!!
The staff is friendly and helpful, and the location is INSANE 1 minute from the beach !!! The hostel is spacious but worn out. But the rooms and bathrooms are clean !! This is kind of a party hostel, and properly a bit loud, if you want to go early to bed.

Stay here if you want to be at the beach at day and party at night

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#97 of 355 in Los Angeles
521 reviews
Venice
Cadillac Hotel
Cadillac Hotel
#259 of 355 in Los Angeles
694 reviews
Venice
Samesun Venice Beach
Samesun Venice Beach
#5 of 101 in Los Angeles
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Walk of Fame Hostel
Walk of Fame Hostel
#11 of 101 in Los Angeles
106 reviews
Hollywood
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
#12 of 101 in Los Angeles
438 reviews
Santa Monica
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Beach Hostel and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Beach Hostel and Hotel

Address: 1515 Pacific Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3611
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range: $48 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Venice Beach Hostel and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing