We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view”

Griffith Observatory
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Hollywood Sign and Griffith Park Hiking Tour
Ranked #3 of 554 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A public observatory owned and operated by the City of Los Angeles for the benefit of all. Located in on Mount Hollywood in Griffith Park, the Observatory offers a planetarium, exhibits, public telescopes, cafe, bookstore, and the best views of the Los Angeles basin. Admission is free, and visitors may drive directly to the Observatory and park in its lots and roads.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I was there at the griffith Observatory 2 times. You have a great view over LA.
Its nice to relax and walk. You also can see the hollywood sign there! you have to wait until sunset its is amazing.. the observatory is very interesting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Looori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,914
    4,027
    708
    93
    49
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Watch the weather reports”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a nice place to spend an evening and we specifically went at dusk so we could see the sunset from high up. It's a nice place but overcrowded with tourists.

Due to the weather (Heavy fog) we were unable to view the telescope or see any of the exhibitions that involved the sun. So try to go on a clear day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Babydonutx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
257 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“a nice way to learn more about our universe.”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Situated overlooking Los Angeles. We were fortunate to go up there on a clear haze-free day.
One can see all of LA and a nice photo-op of the 'Hollywood sign'. The observatory's architechture is 'new deco'.....a rememberance of the past. There are multiple shows in the planetarium of different interests. The displays are informative. I was going to just spend 1-2 hours but ended up spending the morning and part of the afternoon there. I recommend it for children with a scientific mind :-)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank kcchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ah, the view...”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I visited this place with my mom in late summer of 2012. A nice place to walk to and from your car. (good exercise) The Observatory was informative but the view of the Hollywood sign and hiking trails were wonderful.

We did not get to try to restaurant on the lower level but have read good reviews. Must try it on my second visit. Also MUST try the hiking trails.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mej68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Planetarium show”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

For $7 extra dollars, the planetarium show was well worth seeing. The surrounding grounds are beautiful and you can see the Hollywood sign from there too. Everything else at the observatory is free. Great place to visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank crewtravellerDGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griffith Observatory also viewed

 

Been to Griffith Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing