We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Griffith Observatory

Griffith Observatory
Book In Advance
More Info
$93.99*
and up
Hollywood, California Science Center and the Griffith Observatory from Anaheim
Ranked #3 of 536 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A public observatory owned and operated by the City of Los Angeles for the benefit of all. Located in on Mount Hollywood in Griffith Park, the Observatory offers a planetarium, exhibits, public telescopes, cafe, bookstore, and the best views of the Los Angeles basin. Admission and parking are free, and visitors may drive directly to the Observatory and park in its lots and roads.
Irmo, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Griffith Observatory was really amazing. Everything in it will amaze and delight you. It is very well done and the exhibits are very informative. The downstairs is fabulous. The park and museum in the Observatory is free, if you want to see some of the show in the observatory, there is a fee--but WELL worth it. We had 5 hours here and it was not enough time. The view from the top of the hill is beautiful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank gatorbaityogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,325
    3,782
    656
    79
    41
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mirabel, Qc
Level Contributor
366 reviews
216 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
“Gotta be back...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We didin't have much time to spend here but find out that we will be back for sure.
We were on our way back to Vegas and decided to make a short stop here at noon to see this popular landmark.
The outside of the building is beautiful, the lawn and the view wonderful.
View of LA area and LA downtown. View of the Hollywood Sign, etc...
There are even some trails for hiking all around that mountain.
Inside the Observatory, there are a lot of things to see (which we didn't plan and unfortunatly didn't have time to enjoy) about planets and the earth and the solar system, etc... seem as great for kinds as for adults. All that is free !! The only thing that you have to pay is the planetarium part and for having seen other planetarium, it is worth your money... but anyway, you can do a lot for free here. Plan at least a few hours and take time to enjoy.
Will be back !

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ben0844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
416 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Amazing spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Was here on an overcast day, so the telescope was closed, but it is a compliment to the venue that I still had a great time. Neat exhibits, breathtaking views of the surrounding cityscape... LA has quite a local gem in this one!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“good views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

we were looking for a Griffith park and came to the Observatory. The views are good and also very close to this place you can see Hollywood sign if you check it up nearby

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nataliya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great sunsets from this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The observatory in and of itself is very beautiful. There are so many things to see while you're there. When you come, I'd recommend going about a half hour before sunset. The parking may be difficult, but don't let this sway you from coming at that time. I've come here many times, and almost always you'll have a beautiful sunset to see. After that, go to the main telescope int he place to see some outer space object. There also usually are some folks with smaller Celestron 12" scope to show you some other beauties of space. Lastly, go the overlook of LA at night. Absolutely stunning.

I've never been disappointed with the visits, and I've been here at least 12 times.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gizbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griffith Observatory also viewed

 

Been to Griffith Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing