We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty Mexican food”
Review of Loteria Grill

Loteria Grill
Ranked #230 of 10,038 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Hollywood
Cross street: Cherokee
Transit: The main subway station is Hollywood/Highland, and we are 3 blocks east from there, also the main bus line number 217/780 run along Hollywood Blvd 24 hours a day.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very tasty Mexican food”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went there for dinner and had tacos. Very different from any tacos we have eaten before, but very, very tasty. The restaurant is a bit pricey, but the service is good and the food is excellent. The music from the bar is, though, far too loud. We could almost not talk to each other without yelling at each other. That's too bad, since it was good music but I don't want to use earplugs in a restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LarsRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    92
    28
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice but not exciting.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Food was good, but a bit pricey. Ambiance ordinary. Better to walk a few blocks to Mussos, past the hideous south sea street fiasco next door.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CleareyeHollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Authentic, delicious mexican ... a little upmarket!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Loteria was recommended by the staff at our hotel. We wanted Mexican, and in Hollywood there are so many mexican restaurants its was great to get a recommendation. We enjoyed a margherita with guacamole to start, and share the 'special' for main which was pork, chicken, beef, shrimp, beans, salad, condiments and mini tortillas. The special ingrediant - cactus pad - which tasted a little like green pepper to us. This dish was delicious! The absence of sour cream and cheese was such a welcome change and you then really enjoyed the ingredients and spices. The staff were firendly and knew there stuff! Lovely setting too. It isn't your regular cantina, and was only $70 for the 2 of us. Compared with Sydney prices, great value!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This restaurant was recommended in our guide book; we walked in during busy lunch hour without a reservation. There's a wonderful high-ceilinged interior dining room, seating about a hundred people. There's also a patio/terrace with views on Hollywood bvd.
The staff are very hospitable, and the food was surprisingly good (having read other reviews here). We had the chicken burritos with a couple of cocktails, and they were excellent. Fresh chicken, good vegetables, excellent service and reasonable prices. Worth a try if you're visiting he Zkodak Theater/ Graumann's Chinese theater.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas_Kar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour Prices Food not so Impressive”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We liked the happy hour prices but the food was not desireable. If you are looking for fajitas this is not the place to go. The queso is not like the queso you would get in a what I am used ot as a "normal" Mexican restaurant. It is basically melted cheese not the kind you dip your chips in but the kind you pull the cheese off the plate to put on a piece of bread.The servers were nice. I recommend going for happy hour but not for a main meal seat down dinner.,

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flyaway0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loteria Grill also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Loteria Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing