We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dresden B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dresden B&B
Ranked #9 of 88 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
152 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed for 4 nights on our first trip to L.A. I don't think we could have stayed in a better location or had a more hospitable and helpful host. The lovely house sits on a relatively quiet, palm tree-lined, residential street, but conveniently between Sunset and Hollywood Blvds. Free street parking is easy. Not only are iconic Hollywood sites within walking distance, but so is Runyon Canyon, a great place to hike in the Hollywood hills. The house itself has many lovely things on the walls and shelves, collected over the 30 years that Dresden has apparently lived there. She only rents out 2 rooms. We were the only ones staying there while we were there. So we essentially had a private bathroom. Dresden herself obviously enjoys having visitors from all over the world and enjoys making suggestions and showing maps so that visitors, depending on their interests, make the most of their time. She was really helpful and we enjoyed talking to her. It was like coming home to family at the end of each day. It's not a traditional B&B, in that the host does not make and serve breakfast. But she truly gives guests the run of the house, including the kitchen. We ate breakfast at Cheebo's down the block the first morning (where we had a celebrity sighting). Then we bought some things at Trader Joe's and made our own breakfasts the next 3 mornings. The coffee and teas in Dresden's kitchen are free for the taking. We could have made full dinners if we had really wanted to. The house has a surprisingly large and private backyard, with lemons and flowers growing around a pool. We enjoyed sitting out there each morning while we ate our breakfast. If we return to L.A., we would love to stay with Dresden again. The house cannot accommodate large groups. So I'm sure it remains fairly quiet even when both rooms are occupied. I would definitely recommend it for 1 -4 people. It's also quite the bargain compared to what I expected to pay in L.A.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laborman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    23
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
81
34
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

It was our second stay at Dresden's B&B and our second review and it is as great as ever.
We couldn't imagine any other place to stay in Los Angeles and can just recommend this B&B if your looking for a helpful and nice B&B host and a place in a perfect location. ♥

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LOVE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I stayed at Dresden's BB second time. It was short trip to visit West Hollywood Halloween, spend some time in Santa Monica, visit vibery in Santa Ynez and local food. Location is perfect. Walking distance to Hollywood Blvd, nice areas for morning jogging, it is easy to park your car. House is perfect as well - you have all benefits of living in real, hollywood-style house, but also have as much privacy as you like. Another benefit is, that Dresden, host of the place, can recommend you best places to visit - not touristic places, but real, like Hollywood Farmers Market, Griddles Cafe or nice street with european style restaurants (done with american way).

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Just send email, tell who you are and what is your travel experience - Dresden will recommend you be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at Dresden's place in May 2013, and we had a great time.
We started our trip badly with a car accident just miles before arriving at Dresden's B & B.
Arriving with a 2.5 hour delay, at 11.00 PM, Dresden was waiting for us, calming us done and opening a bottle of wine to end our bad entrance in the USA.
The room was clean, had a comfortable bed, WIFI, and a ceiling-fan. The shared-bath was not a problem, certainly because the other room was occupied by our friends, who were travelling with us.
In the morning, we always had a fresh coffee to start the day.
The location was just perfect! No bad traffic, a nice calm street, always a parking spot... and magnificent palm trees. In just a few minutes you can go to the Walk of Fame, but also Universal Studios is in the neighbourhood.
Dresden herself is a very warm person, who makes you feel at home.
I would definitely stay here again in the future, and hope to do so!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Alixe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

The B&B is in a very good position and safe neighborhood. In fact, it 's quite close (walking distance) to the Walk of Fame in Hollywood and the subway station. It has a free parking space available in the street by the house. If you are not sure where to park just ask Dresden. She will be pleased to give you useful information about sights, shops, markets, shopping malls and many others. The B&B offers you a complete kitchen and a swimming pool. In addition, wi-fi and air-con are available in the room. Just remember to book in advance!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Americ_Incompreso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I really don’t understand what makes all the opinions about this place so unanimous. We stayed for a couple of nights and it was a great disappointment. In fact, we had three nights booked, but we had to stay in another B&B in the same street because the owner overbooked our first night. There’s no way that this B&B can be a 5star place, despite the kindness of the owner, the place does not really deserve being so well rated. There are two things that you can ask for in a so-called B&B: Bed, and Breakfast. Ok, there’s no breakfast, this is a minor problem. Shared bathroom, this is another minor problem. The pool has no water in august, well, we are not in L.A. to swim in a pool. But when you think of all the minor problems in a place that has all this 5stars you wonder what’s so good about it. The location? Yes, it’s near Hollywood in a good neighbourhood, but if that’s all you ask, just in front of this B&B there’s another one that has room with private bathroom, and they serve breakfast. And they are also nice and helpful with places to visit and where to go. We had the opportunity to stay in both of them and the difference was huge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Pekhitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our first time in LA we stayed at Dresden's B&B. Dresden was a fantastic host and her home is in such a wonderful location. We were able to walk down to Sunset Blvd and over to Hollywood Blvd. Dresden had great suggestions as to where to go and what to do to maximize our time in LA. Wouldn't stay anywhere else! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#13 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Hollywood
The Moment Hotel
The Moment Hotel
#66 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,368 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#19 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dresden B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dresden B&B

Property: Dresden B&B
Address: 1623 N Sierra Bonita Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90046-2815
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dresden B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing