We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A second home on the other side of the big pond”
Review of Dresden B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dresden B&B
Ranked #9 of 91 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A second home on the other side of the big pond”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Dresden’s B&B is conveniently located between Hollywood Blvd and Sunset Blvd. Cafés, restaurants, supermarkets and public transport are all within walking distance. It’s a 15min walk to the Metro red line which takes you straight to Downtown in about 20min. The 704 Metro Rapid bus stop is also within walking distance (about 20min), which means if you are without a car, you can still get to Santa Monica Beach without any problems. Dresden will kindly provide you with maps, a tap-card and a lot of good advice on where to go and what to see.

While staying at Dresden’s you have your own bedroom, equipped with a ceiling fan, TV, dresser, a queen-sized bed (which was btw super comfortable!) and pretty much everything else you need to feel like at home. The bathroom which comes with a tub and a shower is shared between the guests of the two rooms Dresden has. You’ve got your own refrigerator shelf with ample of space to store your groceries, and you can use all utensils in the kitchen. As others already mentioned, breakfast is not included, but there’s plenty of coffee or tea for you in the morning.

If you are not looking for your typical hotel vacation I highly recommend staying at Dreden’s B&B, you will most certainly not regret it. I know I did not – in fact, I kinda regret I only stayed for 5 nights… Well, I guess there’s always a second time :)

Thanks for the wonderful stay, Dresden!

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank TkrMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    23
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
82
35
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Staying at Dresden's place was fantastic, her house is in a great location between Hollywood Bl and Sunset Bl. Once you get a hold of the public transport system you can go virtually everywhere you need to - having said that, a car would be beneficial (20/20 hindsight anyone?!). Dresden was incredibly helpful in providing advice on how to get around and things to see - hiking up Runyon Canyon was a highlight. The weather was excellent for a swim in the pool, which we did twice. Dresden makes you feel very welcome upon arrival. We loved staying there! Thanks Dresden!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Dresden B&B was an absolute pleasure to stay at. It was a shame we were only there for one night! Dresden was very accommodating and made us feel right at home. She helped us with driving instructions to our next destination and suggested places to visit. Her home is very cosy and has all the necessities. Our room was very comfortable and clean. As previous reviewers have mentioned, there is no breakfast, but there is ample space in the fridge to store your own groceries and the kitchen is well stocked with utensils. A lovely stay and definitely recommended for anyone who is looking for a non-hotel experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinYJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

First of all, i would like to say sorry for Mrs Dresden since i have been home for a long time, but i have something else to work with, hard to find a free time with peaceful mood to write the experience of living in Dresden B&B. Here are some tips which might help you.

1. Good Location
The biggest advantage of this B&B is its great location, from where you can work to a lot of famous places such as China Theater , Madame Tussaud and Kodak theater. The walking distance might just be around 15 mins. There are a lot of shopping malls nearby on Hollywood Blvd, where you can reach directly by walk. The house itself is very quiet at night since it is a great community, even some famous person live here, if you want to know who is that please ask Mrs Dresden :)

2. reasonable price

LA is a big city, all of the good hotels in central LA is very expensive, i spent $ 90 everyday, where you can live safely, you prepare your own food in the kitchen,the room itself also very clean.

3. Nice host

Mrs Dresden is a very friendly person, she is very helpful if you are new to this city, she knows a lot of the good places in LA and near by because she likes traveling as us, i am sure you will get a lot of good idea from her personal experience. Most importantly, she always tells you where can you get good deal, because of her i get a ticket of Madame Tussaud with half price.

In sum, i recommend her place highly, if you are from OHIO, please wear a cloth marked as OH or buckeye because she is from the BLUE side, GO BUCKEYE!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank please_call_me_miki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

When you first arrive Dresden is there to greet you and make you feel very welcomed. She shows you around the cozy little abode, and by the end of the 5 minute tour you are already feeling like it is your home as well.
She gives you spots in the fridge and kitchen to put any items you bring for food and beverages and had the coffee pot set up and ready to go in the morning.
The neighborhood is quiet and safe and very centrally located. She will give you advice on things to do and see and is happy to do it.
Now this is NOT a place for those wanting fine luxury--but, of course, anyone expecting that at the outrageously value-priced rate of $90 a night is on crack anyway!
I've already recommended my daughter and her visiting friend from Australia stay there in September

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank oceanloversd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at Dresden's on a friends recommendation for 4 nights, and couldn't have been happier - the place is warm and cosy, and you are made to feel extremely welcome!
There is no breakfast, but every morning Dresden got the coffee maker ready to go, and freely offered up fridge space and kitchen use if you needed to make anything - but to be honest, there are such great little eating places nearby that we just went out.
There's free wifi, the bed is comfy, and the house is located really conveniently - a 10-15 minute walk to Grauman's, a block or so from Sunset, 15 minutes from Melrose Avenue, and a 40 minute walk or 5 minute taxi ride from WeHo.
To be honest though, the main selling point of this is Dresden herself - a warm, funny, and helpful lady who really does make it feel like a home away from home, and provides those little random extras - like a hairdryer and straighteners which were REALLY appreciated as our european ones didn't get particularly hot...
Will stay again if I can get the space - this place is popular!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eitrohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying with Dresden for my 7th time and as always loved every second of it. Her home so completely captures the Hollywood Los Angeles experience and I can't wait to walk through that door again. The house is so perfectly located and comfortable and real. Dresden is one of a kind, one of those rare people who make you feel happy just being in her presence. She is warm and open and giving and will guide you and advise you on every aspect of your stay in LA. Sadly, her beautiful dog Beau recently passed away, he was such a delight in the house and will be loved and missed by all the guests who had the pleasure of staying there while he was part of the experience. I highly recommend this b+b if you would like to experience living and life in LA

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dresser1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,585 reviews
Hollywood
The Moment Hotel
The Moment Hotel
#75 of 351 in Los Angeles
329 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#27 of 351 in Los Angeles
400 reviews
Hollywood
Saharan Motor Hotel
Saharan Motor Hotel
#189 of 351 in Los Angeles
582 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dresden B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dresden B&B

Property: Dresden B&B
Address: 1623 N Sierra Bonita Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90046-2815
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dresden B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing