We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for us !”
Review of Venice Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Venice Beach House
Ranked #14 of 92 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
523 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Not for us !”
Reviewed November 10, 2008

We spent the last night of our tour at The Venice Beach House which we booked after reading other reviews. It did not start well when we were overcharged by $10 which was meant to be refunded but wasn't until after we arrived and requested it, but this aside we did not feel comfortable here. The position is excellent, being only one block away from the beach but although the staff were very polite and helpful the house lacked the personal warmth of being owner ran. It was the only accomodation during our week that did not have either coffee making available in the room or available in the lounge, tea is on offer briefly in the afternoon but we did have to request hot water for this. The room was not equipped with a hairdryer or ironing board, they may have been available but were not offered and during breakfast we had another guest talking loudly into his mobile phone for several minutes at the table. The room was large and interesting with old furniture but the windows were not well covered and a large skylight had no curtain which meant that the room let the early morning sun in. The Venice Beach House felt like an impersonal hotel but without the facilities for what it charged.

  • Liked — Position
  • Disliked — Hard bed and morning sunlight
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Warks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    42
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
32
67
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2008

We stayed at the b&b for two nights in the Aimee mcpherson room. We had our own entrance at the back of the house and toilet with shower. We also could use the fridge in the kitchen to put stuff in as it was right next door to us. We had a warm welcome on arrival and the house and gardens are lovely. The room had lots of character and also a single bed for our son who settled in straight away. House is not far from venice beach and is nice and peacefull. It is and old house and the people up stairs were only moving about normally but did sound like a small elephant. Were able to use it as a base and visited universal studios and hollywood. Having a eight year we were limited to what we could eat and struggled to find healthy food but found a good italian that did take away which was nice and you gots loads. We had a nice time only thing i would say is it was expensive we paid just over £500 pounds for 2 nights and also $12 per day for parking.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank jers3ygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, CT
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2008

This property is a "Craftsman House" built in the early 1900"s, updated with modern amenities but still preserving its early American charm. Gorgeous vine covered home with 9 rooms, the only drawback being a few rooms have to share a bathroom. Home is surrounded by a high fence with immaculately kept gardens. The staff is extremely curteous and friendly, offering assistance whenever needed. The furnishings are mostly antique, the beds very comfy. Breakfast served every morning is adequite. Location is also an important key here, just a half block from Venice beach and also from the Washington Street shopping and dining area, many nice restaurants and shops located within walking distance. The Venice beach boardwalk is just a few short blocks away, and Venice is an ideal location for sightseeing in LA, it is a central location, minutes from downtown, LAX, and Hollywood. This hotel is a jewel, and very reasonable rates for the accomodations, book way ahead as they fill up fast!

  • Liked — Comfy beds, great location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JazzCT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2008

One of my best B&B I have ever stayed in my life. The only issure is you have to share the bathroom with other guests. In a high season it may give you some bewilderments.

  • Liked — Quiet and traditional.
  • Disliked — We have to share the bathroom.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nomonomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2008

My husband and I spent almost a week at the Venice Beach House at the end of April and loved every minute of it . It was truly an oasis in the midst of the vastness and intensity of Greater LA . I can't imagine staying anywhere else and we hope to return very soon .

  • Liked — Staff , physical charm , location
  • Disliked — nothing !
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DoloresNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2007

We were pleasantly surprised to find this jewel seconds from the boardwalk, yet miles away from the noise and busyness of Venice Beach. Classy, warm and not pretentious, the building has been put on the Historical Places Registry and you can immediately notice the charm of the old days. Staff was very friendly, with great breakfast included every morning, and location was great. This place was a breath of fresh air for us, and we will definitely return.

  • Liked — Old-time charm with modern amenities
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank annik_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2007

This place was perfectly located for us. Just a block away from the ocean, it was an easy walk along the beachside boardwalk to the main area of Venice Beach. We would not want to be any closer to the central Venice strip as it gets busier and noiser the closer you get.

We were unsure whether the place would match up to the photos on the website and were more than pleasantly surprised when it did. Yes, the ivy over the walls and the lush lawns are that green.

The staff there are attentive without being intrusive and there is a wonderful space in the foyer with a comfy couch to read a paper or magazine or sip some iced tea in the afternoon.

The breakfasts are good and the afternoon tea is a nice addition.

If we didn't live in Australia, we'd be back there in a jiffy.

Santa Monica was easy to get to by bus. Hollywood Boulevard took a bit longer, but we still managed it by bus with a changeover at Santa Monica and it only cost a few bucks. It would cost quite a bit more by taxi ($50-$60). So it is a bit out of the way if you don't have your own transport. But I guess the same can be said for anywhere in LA.

  • Liked — ambiance
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonandMarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,316 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#8 of 350 in Los Angeles
774 reviews
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#57 of 350 in Los Angeles
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#91 of 350 in Los Angeles
514 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,392 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Beach House

Property: Venice Beach House
Address: 15 30th Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90291-4378
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Venice Beach House is a restored craftsman house just a 3-minute walk from the beach. A daily breakfast and free Wi-Fi are provided at this charming B&B. The individually decorated rooms and suites at the Venice Beach House have a sitting area with cable TV. Each has a private terrace with lush garden views. Select suites feature spa tubs. A daily breakfast with eggs, yogurt, and fresh fruit can be enjoyed on the covered terrace. After a day of exploring, guests can relax with an afternoon tea service featuring homemade cake or biscuits. Beach House Venice features an on-site library and room to relax in the common area. Guests can lounge in a comfortable chair with a book by a stone fireplace. Featuring sightseeing, dining and shopping opportunities, Abbot Kinney Boulevard, Santa Monica Pier and 3rd Street Promenade are within 3 miles of the bed and breakfast. Venice Beach is a great choice for travelers interested in beach walks, people watching and sunny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Venice Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach House Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing