We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An authentic California experience”
Review of Venice Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Venice Beach House
Ranked #14 of 94 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We loved this spot and were sorry to leave. It's a beautiful craftsman house with remarkable original detail, and the location near the beach is fantastic. The staff were very nice; the breakfasts ample and delicious; the rooms quiet; the bathrooms spacious and clean. There are many lovely spots in the surrounding garden to hang out, read, eat breakfast, or have a drink, so be sure to leave time just to enjoy the place. The tired condition of the mattresses did produce quite a few laughs among our family, but we would absolutely return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Venice Beach House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 145 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2012

We spent 4 days here last summer, to be honest, the house is may be 50 meters from the beach, very close to the Venice pier. Nested in a beautiful garden, you'll want to enjoy a glass of wine in the patio after a busy day in LA and a dive in the ocean. The rooms are beautiful, our kids had an appartment downstairs with their private bathroom. Our room upstairs was cosy. Great breakfast and very friendly staff. We'll be back

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philippe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed at Venice Beach House for one night in March 2012. The house has a lot of character but is in need of some serious updating in terms of drapery, carpet, linens. My husband, daughter and I stayed in the Aimee McPherson suite at the back of the house. It needs freshening up to get the musty feel out of it. I felt like I was staying in my Grandma's basement. Also, beware that the yahoos party until 3am and are always walking past the house howling at the top of their lungs (perhaps this is what Venice Beach is always like??)
I think this property would be lovely on a warm sunny day, as the grounds are beautiful and the beach is a stone's throw away. Unfortunately we had a cold, drizzly day. It is in a good location, you can walk anywhere you would like to go in Venice Beach and the price is right.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms looked cheerier and sunnier than the rooms at the back of the house.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pickering4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

As long as you remember that this is a beach house, built in the first ten years of the 20th century, then you probably won't be disappointed. It is a period house, very relaxed, slightly eccentric, only yards from Venice beach. We had the Aimee Macpherson Suite for 3 nights in April; the room was very large but the decor was a bit tired. Breakfast itself was fine but there should be more tables made available for guests. Overall we enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NDW_Wimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Venice Beach House is a delightful escape just a block off the bustling Venice boardwalk. Despite its proximity to the beach, it is a quiet oasis, full of entirely charming Victorian detail. Each room has a historical theme and our room (the Abbott Kinney, after the founder of Venice Beach) had a sweet tiny balcony that overlooked the verdant courtyard. The staff was helpful, breakfast was fine, and it was a wonderful getaway!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed here for the last part of our honeymoon and i have to say, it was such a treat, it was a pity we couldn't stay longer than the 2 nights we were booked in. The staff are really helpful and the location is perfect if you want to be amongst the Venice Beach vibe. This was my first time to LA so I was thrilled with having the beach 2 seconds away. The breakfast is great and the female staff are all very friendly and nice and helpful. One thing about LA is the distance it takes to get around, so taxi rides can be expensive if you don't have your own hire car. We bused it a few times which was fine. I didn't think i'd like LA as much as i did and am keen to head back. If i do, i definitely would look into staying at Venice Beach house again. Oh i forgot to mention how beautiful the bathroom is too!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahGinFiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

How charming, when you just arrived after a 1hr taxi ride from Downtown, to step through the gate of flowers and step in to this little green paradise in Venice. I would say a 20sec walk from the beach.
If you like the busy boardwalk and the crowded places, than this is probably not your place to stay. For us (me and my girlfriend) it was a great relief after staying a couple of days in downtown.
The rooms are stylish decorated and very clean. The bathrooms look beautiful! Very classic. We even had a very small balcony to drink some cold beers late at night. Service was good and friendly and were there when you needed them. Breakfast a little bit minimal, but that's a minor detail.

Room Tip: We had the Aboot Kinney room, which had a small balcony. Perfect to sit together with a nice cold be...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vjurjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,334 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 353 in Los Angeles
785 reviews
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#54 of 353 in Los Angeles
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#96 of 353 in Los Angeles
514 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,402 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Beach House

Address: 15 30th Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90291-4378
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range: $232 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Venice Beach House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Venice Beach House is a restored craftsman house just a 3-minute walk from the beach. A daily breakfast and free Wi-Fi are provided at this charming B&B. The individually decorated rooms and suites at the Venice Beach House have a sitting area with cable TV. Each has a private terrace with lush garden views. Select suites feature spa tubs. A daily breakfast with eggs, yogurt, and fresh fruit can be enjoyed on the covered terrace. After a day of exploring, guests can relax with an afternoon tea service featuring homemade cake or biscuits. Beach House Venice features an on-site library and room to relax in the common area. Guests can lounge in a comfortable chair with a book by a stone fireplace. Featuring sightseeing, dining and shopping opportunities, Abbot Kinney Boulevard, Santa Monica Pier and 3rd Street Promenade are within 3 miles of the bed and breakfast. Venice Beach is a great choice for travelers interested in beach walks, people watching and sunny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Venice Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach House Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing