We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, poor amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highland Gardens Hotel
Ranked #213 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, poor amenities”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

The best thing about this place is it's close proximity to all of the Hollywood sights and the fact that you get free parking which is really unheard of in this area. Walking into the lobby it feels as though you're walking into any other new or recently recently remodeled hotel. Unfortunately, this is not the case. Our room was run down and had rust along the shower. The front door was worn away at the bottom so you could see right through it. We decided to move the following day and the woman at the front desk was less than friendly. I understand that she was probably disappointed to lose the business, but rather than asking why we were leaving or if there was anything she could do to improve our stay she just was very put off in that she had to talk to the booking agency we used.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    68
    63
    56
    45
See reviews for
95
46
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stayed there the third time and it has been again great. Excellent location, room with a balcony towards the pool, garage parking in the basement and most importantly a great and extremely helpful reception team. I will make sure to come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FQTL247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGB1022, Manager at Highland Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed here for a little over a month, november into december. I had an awesome experience here, the staff are very helpful and really nice. I had 2 problems with my room which were fixed the same day I spoke to them about it, while I was at classes. I highly recommend staying here in hollywood, it was a great location for me.

I will stay here again when I am back in Hollywood :)

Room Tip: Different rooms have different Kitchens, just speak to them about what you want and you should be ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jcatchlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGB1022, Manager at Highland Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. Your opinion means a lot to us. We are constantly upgrading and evolving to meet the need of our guests and we value your imput imensely. We are happy that your time with us was a positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Night One: 1:24am. Next door neighbor wakes me up when he starts playing guitar. Quite poorly, I might add. I drift back to sleep and at 3:12am I was awoken again by loud talking by the pool area which ricocheted off of every wall in the courtyard. Oh how nice. A party. I picked up the phone to call the front desk. It was dead. My husband went downstairs to seek assistance from the desk clerk who had received several calls, he said. At 4:14am I was awoken a third time by teenagers (apparently), speaking at a high volume RIGHT outside our hotel room door. I opted to just stay awake and planned to deal with it in the morning. There's no sense in attempting to negotiate with drunk teens.

Night Two: After a fun but exhausted day in LA, my husband and I return to the room. Through the cracked door in our partying neighbors room I notice a bottle of low quality booze and a large bottle of equally low-grade mixer, along with a stack of cups. I approach the night desk clerk and ask to be moved to a different room, if it all possible. I don't want for the kids to have to miss their party and I don't want to miss my sleep AGAIN, so the best solution for all parties involved is to just give us a different room. He said he spoke with them earlier about the previous night's interruption and there won't be a problem. At around 10:30pm, the party guests began to arrive. We could hear the teens calling people on their cell phones giving out the room number to, seemingly, anyone that cared to attend. And then the guitar came out. Now, I am a music lover myself. I've played in loud bands, written many songs and appreciate good music. This was not good music. The John Belushi scene in Animal House played on a repeat ion my head as I watched the clock, waiting for the screaming teens to relax, but the volume increased, the guitar continued and I called the desk clerk. He told me that he would speak with them. I heard him knock on the door and ask them to put the guitar away. The guitar did not get put away and more guests arrived. The volume reached a fevered pitch, a room packed with drunk teens tends to produce a shrill and offensive tone. I heard one of the new guests comment on the overly full capacity of the room.
I called the desk clerk again who insisted that they would be leaving soon to go out celebrating a birthday and I was the only one bothered by the noise. We were the only occupants within screaming distance, is how I interpreted it. No other guest, paying hard-earned cash for four nights in a hotel would not be bothered by this. And all I asked was that he allow us to move to another room. It wasn't until midnight that he reveal his role at the hotel did not permit him to move us to a different room. This all could have been avoided had he called the management and arranged it before midnight.
I was awoken after 2am by the teens returning to their room with party in tow. I called the desk and told him that the guitar had woken me up AGAIN, and the crappy top 40 hit, which is evidently the only song this drunk teen thinks he can play was not permitting me to get back to sleep. It was a t this point that the desk clerk went into hiding. He refused to answer the phone and when I approached the desk he was GONE. There was a guest waiting to check in who had been standing there for quite some time. I sat and waited for about 20 minutes, with nothing better to do since I was being kept up all night by drunk teens playing crappy guitar. The clerk never showed. The traveling guest knocked on the desk, called for someone... nothing. I'd never seen anything quite like it.

Day 3: I approached the desk early in the morning with my husband to explain to the morning clerk what had transpired. I emphasized that the kids should be allowed to raise all hell and party all night, but we need a room for sleeping and the one next to the teens was not conducive to us reaching our goal of a relaxing vacation. The desk clerk actually DEFENDED the teens, telling me it was someone's birthday!!!!! I was floored. I was treated as if I was intruding upon THEIR HOME with my unrealistic goals of peaceful accommodations for which we spent close to $1000. !!!

The story became a bit clearer when we caught wind of the arrangement they had with a neighboring school. The kids were staying their during Winter break and had a group rate. So, the desk clerk who assigned us this room KNEW that they had been a noisy, bratty, self entitled and problematic lot and put us in the room next to some of them. Why not group them all together so the rest of us can sleep? Regardless of the drastically unprofessional response to my very valid complaint, we were granted our request and were assigned another room. Thanks to the drunk teens, we got an upgrade to a quiet, one bedroom suite. Aaaaaaah.

Room Tip: Ask the clerk if their hotel is used as a dormitory by local school children. This will save you a L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Pattio666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Kamloops, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

2 friends and I had stayed here for 2 nights. The (#108) room (on the ground floor) that we had was on the small side with 2 queen beds. The outside courtyard in the middle of the hotel was very nice suprise. The front lobby had free wi-fi and our stay included continental breakfast. The staff that I had encountered during our stay were very helpful and friendly. The parking in front of the hotel was very tight and the gated parkade was difficult to access at times. The price was very reasonable and the overall value of our stay was above average but the location was very close to Hollywood Boulevard which was great for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J0hn_C604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I have stayed here several times and always ask for room # 105. I always get what I ask for at this place, very accommodating and friendly staff. I like 105 because of the history. If you don't already know of this room, then it really wouldn't matter to you. I do and It does to me :)
I have had people come over to that place to visit me after shows, maybe 2 or 3 am, and stay 'till dawn, and never get any flack from neighbors of management. The closet area of the room has hundreds of well wishers from all over the world that have left messages regarding Janis (One of my favorite people) I will always stay here when in West Hollywood, or until my wife finally says enough is enough. (she's kind of a Loews, Ritz Carlton type of girl) next up, Chateau Marmont
mh.

Room Tip: I scored the 'sleep quality low because I never sleep I only socialize when here :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichaelHubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

After reading reviews of the Highland Gardens Hotel, I wasn't sure what to expect. Imagine my happiness when I arrive at 2pm and room was ready :) It's easy to see this is an older place, trying to renovate and up date their rooms. Ours had a full kitchen w/ microwave and stove/oven. A little kitchenette and great amounts of closet space! The bath is typical bit the vent worked perfectly. Also our own balcony that looked onto pretty trees and flowers -- very relaxing :) Staying two nights and so far the bed is fine and front desk has been extremely helpful......Would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atrimper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGB1022, Manager at Highland Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We are working extremely hard to improve your experience and make sure that your stay with us is a pleasant one. We greatly appreciate the positive feedback and thank you for your kind words. When a positive review is posted we feel as though our efforts have not gone unnoticed. Thank you again and we look forward to serving your needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood VIP Hotel
Hollywood VIP Hotel
#186 of 350 in Los Angeles
378 reviews
Hollywood
Saharan Motor Hotel
Saharan Motor Hotel
#187 of 350 in Los Angeles
583 reviews
Hollywood
BLVD Hotel & Suites
BLVD Hotel & Suites
#91 of 350 in Los Angeles
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,131 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Gardens Hotel

Property: Highland Gardens Hotel
Address: 7047 Franklin Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Gardens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Highland Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Gardens Los Angeles
Hotel Highland Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing