We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this hotel needs some work!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highland Gardens Hotel
Ranked #217 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed February 28, 2012

mold in the shower - wouldn't be too difficult to clean. the cleaners obviously don't step into the shower, otherwise they would see it by the door.
no wheelchair access - my mother who had a broken foot had to crawl up entrance stairs.
uncomfortable pillows - felt like i was sleeping on a 20 year old cushion.
the pictures looked nice! the rooms need to be remodeled like the reception area has been

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msrosieposie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 279 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2012

This hotel feels like a garden sanctuary once you are beyond the lobby, and you'd never know you were just a block away from the hustle-and-bustle of Hollywood. As a member of the Magic Castle, I have stayed here many times to be walking distance to the Castle. I was delighted to see the lobby and many of the rooms have been renovated. I stayed in a 1 bedroom suite and really enjoyed the room (ask for the ones that face West. They are sunnier, often have private balconies and vaulted ceilings). I especially like rooms 217 - 221. We had a beautiful kitchen, full living room, table for 4 inside and out, renovated white bathroom with pedestal sink, and the bedroom was roomy with a large walk-in closet (and a nice view of the pool and mountains). Each day when we would come in, the room was freshly cleaned and smelled good. Breakfast is just continental, expect coffee, some type of bread to toast, jelly / cream cheese. Hot cocoa was available too and some juice boxes if you have kids. We almost stayed on Sunset Blvd and I'm so glad we didn't - because we would have had a MUCH higher bill. Here we didn't pay for parking, we could get a soda or water for a dollar, Wifi is just $10 day and free in the lobby, the room was twice as big as average. I have found if you need something, just ask - they'll give you extra towels, loan you a hair dryer, and Marie can likely arrange for you to get a pass to the Magic Castle (try Sunday Brunch). Also a bonus is what is nearby. It's just a block to the Kodak Theatre and the mall over there - lots of food and shopping (Sephora, Mac, Victoria's Secret, CVS, California Pizza Kitchen, Cirque du Soliel, Walk of Fame, etc). And behind the hotel you go up to Yamashiro and have the best view in LA. (The hotel is on the Hollywood tour because it is where Janis Joplin died - so you might be able to catch the tour at the hotel, I'm not sure). Also nearby is a big, mountainous public park where you can hike and enjoy the day. I'll stay again and continue to stay. The hotel is dated on the exterior, but I like that old Hollywood 60's look. Just remember the rooms can vary a lot in size and how they feel inside. Ask to see a few before you pick one.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suites facing West are the best. 218, 219, 220...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsammar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I have stayed in many hotels. This was close to the all time worst I've stayed in in 25 years of traveling.

I paid for an "executive suite" thinking I'd get a renovated room. When I asked the front desk person, she said, "they're all renovated." When I got to the room, if I hadn't already paid for 3 nights, I would have turned around & walked out! The bedspreads, nightstand & dresser were "updated." The shower tile, sink & toilet were "updated." But, the bathroom & kitchenette windows were very old & not secure. The huge sliding glass door that opened to the walkway barely locked, the chewed up gap across the bottom of the door to the room was so wide, critters would barely have to sqeeze to get through. There were multiple mouse traps & "droppings" in the kitchen. The lamp shades looked like they'd been tossed around a few times. The clean towels & wash cloths were still damp. The good news is, when I checked for bedbugs, I did not find any evidence of them.

What I don't understand is, when I walked across the property to my friend's "executive suite," it was like they were in a different hotel - - it was fully updated - - like a real hotel!

The hotel staff were pleasant. The continental breakfast by the front desk every morning was adequate. The proximity to Hollywood Blvd attractions is convenient.

Room Tip: Ask to SEE the room before signing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GenCo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

The unusually large one-bedroom suite at Highland Gardens Hotel is a very good value at a convenient location -- just a block and a half from all the popular sights and activities along Hollywood Boulevard. Overall, the room was clean and nicely decorated with reasonably new furniture and appliances. The kitchen was fully equipped for cooking (pots, pans, plates & utensils), but no ice-trays. However, the major problem is that all 1-BR suites have only one through-the-wall air-conditioner located in the living room or dining area which does not adequately cool the entire suite -- especially the bedroom and bathroom! After changing rooms a couple of times, it seemed most suites suffer this problem. The bathrooms were clean with good water pressure and plenty of hot water. Some bathrooms had a few chipped plaster spots in the celling and mild tile defects. Closets offer good storage space, ironing board and iron and one unit had a roll-away bed. Minor things: the TV sets are small; no free wi-fi in rooms; room phone didn't work. The interior suites also offer a nice, spacious balcony with table, chairs and umbrella overlooking the pool. The free underground secured parking is a real bonus. There's a convenient and casual breakfast offered in the nicely renovated lobby area. The large, sunny pool is surrounded by lush palm trees, flowers and other vegetation which adds to its charm. There's even a sheltered ping-pong table near the pool. It's clear that this quirky but charming hotel has seen better days, but with it's location, layout and tropical courtyard interiors, it's easy to imagine it's heyday as the hip spot for Rat Pack members, Hollywood stars, Jefferson Airplane and sadly the place where Janis Joplin died.

Room Tip: As you pass through the lobby, you want to stay in the rooms on the left instead of the right of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank borisbetanoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a dirty little hotel with guetto cleaning ladies that are laughing an talking loud first thing in the morning.

The tv was as big as a portable radio and just about everything in the room was broken in some way.

No hair dryer, ice, or wet bar.

The breakfast is never there on time and is cold. The coffee is disgusting and the cream was sour.

The female receptionist was rude
and acted bothered everytime I asked her for something even though all she does all day is it around on her butt.

If you want to impress someone this isn't the place. If you don't want to stay in a hostell and are totally broke with no standards then this is the place for you.

This is a nasty little hotel and looks like a place porno movies would be filmed!

Never again! Gross!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wickedpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Having read some of the positive reviews, it's obvious that the quality of this hotel varies drastically room to room. We, unfortunately, got a terrible one. The headboards on both beds were leaning in and looked as though they'd fall on top of us. The table and chairs were in the same shabby/wobbly condition. The carpet was dingy and puckered up, and the shelf in the shower was missing. But it wasn't just that the place was old - it was also dirty. The carpet had not been vacuumed very well and one of the chairs had a huge stain on the seat.

As others have said, the location is great, the parking is free, and the garden/patio areas are nice, but none of that makes up for the outrageous condition of the room. Don't risk it - spend a few extra bucks and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauraisrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Love this place. I think this is going to be my go-to hotel in LA from now on. It's in a good central location and the staff was friendly. This place has a younger clientele from what I saw so I'm sure it gets louder on the weekends. Things were perfectly great for us on a Monday however. I'm not going to say I didn't do a good bit of partying myself, so maybe the neighbors had a problem....but we heard no complaints.

There's parking in a locked garage under the hotel, the lobby area is renovated, the pool area was clean and inviting. We had a nice little patio area outside our first floor room which put us in perfect location to the pool.

I loved this place, but as others state, it can be a party hotel. It's and old school LA party hotel what do you expect. Hey, Janis Joplin died here for God's sake! But its a clean hotel, I thought the management was nice and friendly, and its a good location and price. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kreskin2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood VIP Hotel
Hollywood VIP Hotel
#187 of 353 in Los Angeles
383 reviews
Hollywood
Saharan Motor Hotel
Saharan Motor Hotel
#198 of 353 in Los Angeles
586 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 353 in Los Angeles
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
BLVD Hotel & Suites
BLVD Hotel & Suites
#86 of 353 in Los Angeles
550 reviews
Hollywood
Lexen Hotel - Hollywood
Lexen Hotel - Hollywood
#156 of 353 in Los Angeles
9 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Gardens Hotel

Address: 7047 Franklin Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $211 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Gardens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Highland Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Gardens Los Angeles
Hotel Highland Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing