We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool party hostel in a good location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orbit Hotel and Hostel
perth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool party hostel in a good location”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed here a few times. It's a hostel so of course the rooms are basic. They are clean so that is all that matters. The kitchen is fine too and they have a few communal areas. The reason I keep going back is the atmosphere here. They have bbq's or trips to other hostels or group nights out. When travelling and staying in hostels it is more about the fun you have than how plush your room is. If you're looking to meet other people and go party this is your spot.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    45
    18
    26
    29
See reviews for
3
32
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
BATH
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I travelled with my son - I was the oldest in the hostel !!!

We had private room - it was very very basic but what do you expect for such a low price. I felt safe and it is a great location. For younger and open travellers - go for it.

Staff were helpful and accommodating. Loved West Hollywood.

Room Tip: Suited for younger and more open and budget conscious travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZAMPANOBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Economic. Reasonably clean. Needs an upgrade to some facilities.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyGoldC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I booked it and liked what i saw on pictures, however the reality was a bit different. I cannot say anything bad about people working there, as they were friendly and trying to help with all informations you need to know in L.A. (and there are many...) However, i was dissapointed by the rooms, beds, bathroom, as those were not really clean and i went to quite a few on my tour aroun States. What is also strange, is the smell, not just from cigarettes, but something else also you would not like to smell at home....it is really shame....is relatively close to Hollywood Blvd. and was safe when i was there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

This Hostel is really nothing special at all, place was dirty in general (beds, bathrooms etc). I would never consider staying here again, I found it hard to sleep due to the noise from the patio area down below, where people use to smoke at all hours, and the smell in the room from this, is really not that pleasant. Like I say, the staff are helpful and really nice people, and the location is not too bad, next to a bus stop that takes you straight into hollywood, but these good things are no where near enough to excuse the bad things.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJno41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I booked this hostel for a cheap stay in LA back in July. I saw the reviews for the nearby Banana Bungalow and decided I didnt want to stay there, this however looked smarter and better recieved....

Imagine my alarm when I got an email three days before my stay saying that "The Orbit had Moved around the corner" THE ORBIT AND BANANA BUNGALOW ARE THE SAME PLACE. Alarm bells sounded louded when noone at the airport had ever heard of the orbit... to me it sounds like a deliberate diversion from the poor reviews the other property had..
Anyway that issue out of the way....

I contacted "Orbit" two days before my stay about the advertised Ariport Pick up - Absolutley no reply. So you have to take a Supershuttle or Prime Time from LAX - its about $16 per head.

The private room I booked was ok - clean enough. the Patio door did not lock so it would be possible to walk straight into the room from next door via the adjoining balcony.

The room had shower/bath a good size TV and was actually a family room with a Bunk Bed Adjacent to the Double some of the staff were very informative, some indifferent.

The breakfast was a loaf of bread and a choice of three cereals with an urn of Coffee... The kitchin did appear a though you could use it for your own meals.

Unlike the other reviews, I had absolutely no cockroach experiences, and the bed was comfy enough.

The Location is ok, close to the regular 217 Metro Bus which is direct to the hollywood walk of fame or south the get to the beverley hills area.

Room Tip: Choose a private room, with patio doors failing to lock be prepared to not leave many valuables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

This place should not call itself a Hotel and Hostel - we got a private room and there was nothing hotel-like about it. Dirty rooms, stained sheets and carpets, weird smell throughout and cockroaches in the bedroom. We didn't eat the free breakfast as we didn't trust it so I can't say what that was like. All-in-all, great location on Melrose and extremely cheap, but frankly not worth the anxiety that I might wake up with one of the cockroaches crawling all over me.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PriscillaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Palihotel
Palihotel
#107 of 350 in Los Angeles
303 reviews
Central L.A
Rodeway Inn Los Angeles
Rodeway Inn Los Angeles
#190 of 350 in Los Angeles
192 reviews
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#99 of 350 in Los Angeles
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
#12 of 90 in Los Angeles
425 reviews
Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
#2 of 90 in Los Angeles
1,014 reviews
Venice
Samesun Venice Beach
Samesun Venice Beach
#5 of 90 in Los Angeles
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orbit Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orbit Hotel and Hostel

Property: Orbit Hotel and Hostel
Address: 607 North Fairfax Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90036 (Formerly Banana Bungalow Hollywood @ The Orbit Hotel and Hostel)
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Orbit Hotel and Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orbit is a safe and secure two-story Hotel featuring 32 newly remodeled rooms. Private rooms have a comfortable queen size bed and TV, some having sunny balconies and high ceilings, or a beautiful view of the West Hollywood Hills and Melrose Avenue. Dorms have 6 per room, all with closet space, shelves, their own private baths and showers. They are clean and well-kept. All rooms have a cool, colorful, retro-futuristic design giving the place a swanky Hotel vibe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orbit Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing