We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Customer Service!!! Dont Expect T Get Your Car Fromk Valet In A Timely Manner!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
Ranked #32 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
1 review
“Horrible Customer Service!!! Dont Expect T Get Your Car Fromk Valet In A Timely Manner!!”
Reviewed April 1, 2009

I had a presentation to do for my business to. If all went as planned it would have been very lucrative for my business. I was the only one this presentation featured. In other words if I was late it would have made me and my professionalism look VERY BAD because no one would be there to cover me. I made sure I was going to arrive 1hr early to my event in order to set up and make sure everything was going to work as planned. Nobody informed me about a convention on Saturday morning, the morning of my presentation, where the valet would take 45min-1hr to get my truck out of the valet. I told the Valet staff and manager my predicament after about 10minutes of waiting, after 20minutes I realized I was being ignored, and reprioritized. After 1/2 hour I started DEMANDING someone bring my vehicle! I was told it was on its way. I let everyone on the staff there know my situation and NOBODY could get me my vehicle. I even saw them bring people their car that had arrived 20minutes after me. I was now beginning to wonder if my truck had been stolen and this was their way of stalling so I DEMANDED to be taken to my vehicle. As I was getting ready to step in to a ride to the structure my vehicle was at it came around the corner. This was about 50-55 minutes from my original time I gave them my ticket to pick up my vehicle. Needless to say I was late to my presentation, my business suffered because of the irresponsibility of your staff, and made me look completely unprofessional to prominent, professional, future clients. THANKS! This was the absolute worst experience I have EVER had at a hotel! I had many other options of places to stay that night. I chose to use your chain because the price and location were right. I would have paid in the thousands of dollars for a room at another hotel in order to make it to my presentation on time because the $ amount of business lost could be around $10,000 or more. I delt with everyone involved in this situation including Mr. Marriotts personal assistant. They ALL told me my situation was of no importance to them and they ALL said they would do nothing in the way of compensation! DO NOT STAY HERE OR ATG ANY OTHER MARIOTT HOTEL!!! THEY ABSOULTLLY DO NOT CARE ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS!!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjm805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    410
    211
    80
    57
See reviews for
148
259
90
405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2009

I stayed at this Marriott for approximately 5 months and I will say it is as average as it comes. The staff is great and concierge lounge is nice and large and a bit nicer than average, but the decor is a bit outdated in some rooms, the fitness center is small for this size of the hotel, and elevators don’t seem to handle the morning traffic. However, when looking downtown LA, there's really not too many that are better for the business traveler.

As with other hotels downtown, the busyness of this hotel ebbs and flows when there are conventions in town or when the foreign bus tours are in town. When that happens, it seems to slow everything down dramatically. Waiting for an elevator between 8am-9am can be painful even if you are on a high floor as you'll stop at every floor and the elevator will likely be crowded with tourists with huge suitcases. If you're on a low floor, good luck with the stairs or the maintenance elevators. Over the months I was there (May- Oct) the issues with the elevators were always apparent whenever the hotel was near capacity. All in all that's only a minor setback, but can grow to be a major annoyance if you stay here for a while.

There really aren't too many options downtown for the average business traveler, but this hotel offers all of the standard amenities you'd expect for in a Marriott. If you stay for a while, the staff becomes even friendlier as they get to know you… once again kind of what you expect from this tier of hotel, but you don’t always find that everywhere you go.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2009

Loved this hotel. Very beautiful and comfortable lobby. Cool and soothing. Mainly a business hotel with a downtown location and thoroughly enjoyed my stay given that my activities were focused in the downtown area. Rooms were larger than typical rooms you find at the large chains. Very well-appointed and clean. Nice pool and patio area. Didn't have extensive interaction with the staff, but overall very polite and accommodating staff. Valet parking with in and out privileges. Easy access the Santa Monica and Harbor freeway, and Interstate 5. Finally, the bar in the lobby was fantastic...relaxing place to have a drink and watch a game or chat. Would stay there again in a minute, for business or pleasure. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boston02118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights in Oct 08, was part of UA super value deal. My colleagues and I decided to come earlier for some leisure time before transferring to Hollywood area to attend a business conference.

I was given a single room with a double bed (the only lady in the group). The room was clean and spacious and I loved the interior decoration, cozy! But being a Marriott hotel, I would expect better provision of room amenities like fridge, sewing kits, toothpaste/toothbrush etc. Only shampoo, shower foam and lotion were provided..Mmm, wonder was it due to the value package... so certain stuffs were not given..

We tried the buffet breakfast on the last morning, limited variety for US$25. Location wise, nothing much to see with tall business buildings. There was a Macy department store down the street, within walking distances. Got a map from the reception which was useful. The nearest Metro station 7th Street/Metro Center was 15 min away. We took the metro on the second day to visit the Ontario Mills(outlet mall) with some train transfer.

Overall, our stay here was pleasant and the hotels staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sillypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Central Valley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2009

We stayed at a suite at This Hotel and it was Great!! Everything from the arrival to the departure it was all good!!!

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — not enough time to enjoy the stay
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank erac87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2009

I stayed at the Marriot for 3 nights and the hotel I couldnt fault. It had a great pool, good choice of restaurants and spacious high quality rooms. The hotel is much grander than most Marriot's I have stayed in within the UK.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who hires a car in LA but even though Downtown has meant to have shifted its negative image I would not stay here if you have not got transport.The neighbourhood is not safe to walk about at night and nobody walks in LA anyway! I would recommend anyone who wants a great location to wander on foot rather than drive to stay in the Santa Monica area-more expensive but well worth it.

  • Liked — comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank adelenicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2009

We were visiting Hollywood and Santa Monica over the weekend with two pre-teen kids and used Marriott Rewards to book this hotel. There isn't a whole lot to do with kids in downtown LA but the weekend rooms are usually substantially cheaper than similar properties around the Hollywood area. You can get to the fun places in and around LA with a 15-30 mn drive from here (see my posting on things to do in LA with kids).

This is a large, clean hotel with good service. I thought $30 for valet parking was a little excessive. We did not eat in the hotel but there are a couple good breakfast places nearby.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CVTravelerSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
661 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#57 of 351 in Los Angeles
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The L.A. Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The L.A. Hotel Downtown

Property: The L.A. Hotel Downtown
Address: 333 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles, CA 90071-1001
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#83 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The L.A. Hotel Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 469
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the financial district of downtown Los Angeles. 400 Guest rooms and 69 suites are among the most comfortable and spacious in the downtown area. The L.A. Hotel Downtown offers a beautiful outdoor heated pool, a restaurant and one lounge. Close proximity to many attractions including Staples Center, LA Convention Center, L.A. Live, Walt Disney Concert Hall, Cathedral, Dodger Stadium, Beverly Hills, Hollywood, Universal Studios and Disneyland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The L.A. Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Los Angeles Downtown Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing