We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could want”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
Ranked #31 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Everything you could want”
Reviewed October 27, 2008

While I can't give this hotel 5-stars, it secures a very, very strong 4 stars in my book.

We have been at this hotel many times - basically each time we visit LA from San Francisco. This last time, we were there for a full week, and I remain thoroughly impressed.

For Platinum members, their upgrade policy is very generous. Each time we have been there, we have been upgraded to a great suite. One of the times was a junior suite of sorts - which was an enormous room with a bilevel sleeping/living area with nonstop views out the window. This last time, we spent the week in the Vista Suite on the 5th floor (room 501) and it was an outstanding room with floor to ceiling windows on 3/4 walls, huge living room with dining area, a lot of space, a large bedroom with a really comfortable bed, and terrific room service for morning coffee. They were speedy, too. Also - their front desk service is phenomenal. Though we were originally booked for a certain number of days, when we called to change, it was all taken care of without any problems at all, no matter that they were booking a Vista Suite for the standard room price or anything. They accomodated us in every way.

I should note, though, that for such a high-class room, their TVs really need some upgrading. They had 24" tubes... and while this is just a minor details, it's details like this that prevent this hotel from getting 5 stars.

Their hotel lobby is large - sprawling, actually, and while the layout is a bit weird (you have to go all the way to one corner to go up to your room), the lobby is always bustling with activity and makes for a good location for people to come and visit you, if you don't intend to head out to eat or drink. There always seems to be something going on, be it a party or convention, upstairs on the 2nd floor.

Valet service was fast and efficient, and location is central to wherever you need to go in LA. It's right around the corner from the 110 freeway, and only minutes to K-town, 15 minutes to Beverly Hills (if LA had no traffic, which I should add, never happens), and merely 25 minutes to LAX - by distance, anyhow.

I would not hesitate to stay here time and again - and would highly recommend anyone who plans to stay in LA to consider this particular Marriott. Given that I am not a Marriott fan at all (it's my boyfriend who is a loyal member while I am a SPG girl) I have to say that this particular hotel rates up there with Westins.

  • Liked — Room Size, Service
  • Disliked — Tiny televisions
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gracek312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    414
    211
    80
    57
See reviews for
148
261
90
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
262 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

Well located downtown and easy to get to this large hotel is well staffed. Had a Vista Suite provided by the Company for business meetings at the hotel, The Vista suites are giant w/large bedroom; bathroom w/separate shower, and gargantuan living room w/dining table. Clean & comfortable. Meeting rooms were set well. Valet parking. Small and busy lobby bar. OK restaurant.

  • Liked — Neat & Clean
  • Disliked — OK Restuarant
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papaleadfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Booked the same day as arrival and only paid 140$ a night for 2 queens.

Check-in was easy, lots of staff on hand. If you bring your car you have to valet check your car. You can go in and out as many times as you want per day but you must phone 10 minutes before if you want your car. 16$ a day for parking.

The room itself was great. 2 queens and a large bathroom. We had a great view from a room on downtown LA. The beds were nice and comfy.

We ate at the hotel restaurant the Back Porch. Service was good as well as the food. The prices were moderate. You can have a nice meal for under 15 dollars. There is also a gift shop where you can buy snacks.

There are some nice reastaurants within walking distance. We went to the California Pizza Kitchen which is about a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel and sat out on the patio. For breakfast during the week, go to the second floor and exit the hotel and walk over the pedestrian bridge that connects to the World Trade Center. Right after you walk in there is on your left a little restaurant that serves breakfast and lunch. We went there for breakfast and it only cost us 4$ and it was great!

The swimming pool at the hotel is great. Just missing a hot tub and it would have been perfect.

  • Liked — The Lobby and the beds
  • Disliked — No hot tub
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Canada_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

I had the best night sleep since a long time.
The room was spaces and very nice with a nice big bathroom.
Our room was on the 9th floor, overlooking the city, the view was amazing.
Very good value for the price.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Melcsike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We booked this hotel with reward points, for one night as we were taking the Amtrak Coast Starlight to Portland the next day, and wanted to be centrally located. We were allocated rooms on a concierge level which meant we got evening snacks and a breakfast included.
The rooms were fantastic, with floor to ceiling windows offering a great view of LA. As we were with our children we went to the outdoor pool, which was only small, but did the job of amusing them for an hour or so.
My husband and I had a meal in the restaurant in the evening which was really nice, and there was a really relaxed ambience in the hotel.
We really enjoyed our short stay here and would certainly go back.

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Toton-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle,Wa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2008

Me and my husband found a great " last minuet deal " for LA including flight + hotel + car so in this case we did not picked this Marriott. However, we liked the hotel. It was clean and nice and if you are in LA for business, God ,this location is amazing it is just right in front of World Trade Center and many other banks and institutes.

We did not like the restaurant and bar much it was pricey for what they offer and you have to use Valet Parking $17 pn, which is not too bad for downtown LA.

Over all it was good but if I want to go to LA again for vacation I would not stay there, I perhaps book a room in Hollywood district or Santa Monica beach area.

  • Liked — big, comfy bedroom
  • Disliked — no open windows or balckony in the room
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nabaaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

This hotel was very convenient to CA-110 and had no problems finding it. When we drove in, we were greeted right away and opening our car doors and asked us if we needed help with our luggage or wanted to park our car. Check-in was very quick and the staff was friendly. The room was clean and roomy, especially the bathroom. It had a separate bath and a shower. The bedspread was a little out dated, but clean. There were connecting rooms available, which we were in. There was also a cabinet that looks like it is suppose to be a mini bar, but it was not stock or working. The only thing negative about the hotel was the parking. They only offer valet parking for $16.50. I chose not to use the valet parking and park it myself across the street at the world trade center. The parking was only $9.90 with no in/out privileges if you arrive before 10 AM or after 4:30 PM and you could park for 24 hours until the regular rates kick in. This was fine with us since we only use the garage for over night parking. The hotel even has a walkway that connects the world trade center parking garage. Just take elevator to the 1st floor and follow sign to the Marriott hotel.

  • Liked — The spacious room and Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Parking fee
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nhumbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 351 in Los Angeles
661 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#57 of 351 in Los Angeles
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The L.A. Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The L.A. Hotel Downtown

Property: The L.A. Hotel Downtown
Address: 333 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles, CA 90071-1001
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#83 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The L.A. Hotel Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 469
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the financial district of downtown Los Angeles. 400 Guest rooms and 69 suites are among the most comfortable and spacious in the downtown area. The L.A. Hotel Downtown offers a beautiful outdoor heated pool, a restaurant and one lounge. Close proximity to many attractions including Staples Center, LA Convention Center, L.A. Live, Walt Disney Concert Hall, Cathedral, Dodger Stadium, Beverly Hills, Hollywood, Universal Studios and Disneyland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The L.A. Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Los Angeles Downtown Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing