We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
Ranked #33 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
mk
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I stayed here with my husband for three nights when we were travelling around California. It had a nice large reception area where you can also check in for your flights online at the reception desk. They do room service although is quite expensive. There are plenty of eating places not far from the hotel so cheaper to eat out. Over the road in the hotel on 4th floor there is a food court where they are various take-away shops and restaurants anyone can eat in.

Room was large enough with large TV and large windows so get a good view. Had a shower and seperate bath with iron/ironing board/hair dryer and coffee machine which can also be used to heat hot water for hot etc, although there were only herbal tea bags supplied in the room.

If you want to use the wi-fi internet you have to pay and they do have a swimming pool outside though we never had time to use it!

Overall a nice comfortable hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasha011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    421
    217
    81
    62
See reviews for
159
270
90
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

A busy hotel during the day with lots of meetings and conferences. Very quiet at night. Unlike the other posters, I was thrilled to not have to wrestle my bag away from a bellman, there were none to be found. Lobby is huge and clean. My Queen room was large, clean and reasonably well maintained. It took 10 minutes to figure out how to open the door of the in-room safe (pull the key straight up and a big steel plug will come with it permitting one to open the door). Breakfast buffet was typical and typically overpriced. The bar was small, but the food available was excellent and reasonably priced. For $123/night (government rate), a good deal for downtown LA.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

+ Ok location in downtown (but not the best, you have to walk to get any where)
+ Clean
+ Pool side nice (exept the trafic noice)
- Rooms average, nothing special
- Car rental desk service slow

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JarmoPulkkinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

3 of us stayed here while attending a nearby concert. Entire hotel needs renovation - very 80's. Thought the King Suite would be upgraded. Great space, floor to ceiling windows but decor felt dated. Curtains frayed, those bathroom vanities with hot lightbulbs that look like backstage Broadway. Room amenites for a King consisted of one half bottle of water (for three guests). No sofabed for living room. Buffet wasn't great either. Parking, as always too expensive.
A real let down.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank la811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Horrible service
1) no one EVER offered to help carry my bags to my room - the valet put them on a cart and just rolled it into the lobby (happend with 2 other people I went with too). And I had a lot to carry as I was there for a convention.
2) room service = lukewarm food
3) Valet lost my keys
4) upon checkout I told them the issues I encountered - the "supervisor" didn't even say sorry or thank you as I left.

AWFUL

Room Tip: Stay at the JW Marriott adjacent to Staples and forget this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAMarriottDT, Manager at The L.A. Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review of our hotel.
I am sorry to read that your stay was less than satisfactory.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced while a guest at our hotel. Your experience is contrary to the high level of service we strive to maintain, and of which you have every right to expect at the Los Angeles Marriott Downtown.

We regret that these incidents may have marred what would have otherwise been an enjoyable visit to Los Angeles. I appreciate your feedback as this will allow us an opportunity to improve the quality of service we offer to future guests and it is my sincere hope that you will be among them.

Warm Regards,

Regina M. Stryker | Resident Manager
Los Angeles Marriott Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I took my daughter here because we were going to see a play at the Ahmansen Theater. First of all - if you're looking for a place to stay because you're going to a show there or any other venue in the area, it's perfect. We had a nice safe, short walk to the theater. Good thing, too - with the high price of parking at the hotel! That's the thing about this Marriott: You will pay a pretty high price to stay there, and you'll pay a lot for everything else too! The internet, water, and the usual high room service and hotel restaurant prices. But it's easier to pay a lot when the people serving you are so nice and friendly. From check-in, to the gift shop to the people working the lobby food/drinks, everybody was warm and welcoming. I really like the big open-air lobby, and the burgers (we had the sliders in the lobby and a cheeseburger for room service) were TERRIFIC. The beds were way comfortable, lots of big fluffy pillows. Very quick and efficient valet service (It cost 30 bucks a day, though!)

In short, this is a great business hotel, if the company's paying your expenses! It's a nice place to treat yourself for a quick overnighter for a show. But staying there for a week for leisure purposes - too much money for a stay in a financial sort of district.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophiemichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

When I stayed at the hotel there was an anime convention in town. The hotel was full of people dressed as their favourite characters which was marvellous to see lots of young people enjoying themselves and revelling in it.

As for the hotel it was fine for what it was but really was overpriced.

The room was adequate if not spectacular for a hotel of this type. It was clean, tidy and presentable.

The breakfasts were expensive for what they are and the meals in the hotel were pricey. No problem as I dined out and there are plenty of decent restaurants in the vicinity.

There is a pool and a lounging area which is nice but it is adjacent to a main road so the noise is pretty much a nuiscance.

It also did not help that on the Saturday night there was a rowdy party outside which went on til 4AM and in spite a call to reception requesting it to be toned down it was not. I guess the hotel was happy while they were spending and they already had my money.

Service could be patchy, when good it was excellent, when poor it was painful but the staff still expected to be tipped. I only tip good service, I do not tip people for doing their job badly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vislor_Turlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 350 in Los Angeles
724 reviews
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#48 of 350 in Los Angeles
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The L.A. Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The L.A. Hotel Downtown

Property: The L.A. Hotel Downtown
Address: 333 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles, CA 90071-1001
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The L.A. Hotel Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 469
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the financial district of downtown Los Angeles. 400 Guest rooms and 69 suites are among the most comfortable and spacious in the downtown area. The L.A. Hotel Downtown offers a beautiful outdoor heated pool, a restaurant and one lounge. Close proximity to many attractions including Staples Center, LA Convention Center, L.A. Live, Walt Disney Concert Hall, Cathedral, Dodger Stadium, Beverly Hills, Hollywood, Universal Studios and Disneyland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The L.A. Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Los Angeles Downtown Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing