We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I have ever experienced”
Review of Hotel Bel-Air

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bel-Air
Ranked #1 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

From the arrival experience to the luxury accommodation, this is an amazing hotel. The treatment in the Spa was sensational ( thank you Nerida). Did not want to leave. So private and comfortable. The bathroom had the most unique toilet. The TV's are super high tech. Service around the pool was also very attentive.

Room Tip: Pay more for a suite. Worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alisonjenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Alisonjenk,

The title of your review brought a huge smile to my face…I am so happy to hear you feel Hotel Bel-Air is the best hotel you have ever experienced. Thank you for sharing your kind words regarding your spa treatment with Nerida. I will make sure to pass your note along to her…she will be thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed it.

Thank you for staying with us and please do come back and visit us again!

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 729 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

I think this is the finest hotel I have ever stayed in. From the time you pull up and leave your car with the valet, you are pampered by a well trained professional outstanding staff. The property is like a lovely lush garden with rooms situated only a short walk away. The gardens with sweet smelling flowers surround you. A treat to the eye and senses. Guest rooms are equipped with all the latest upgraded amenities and tech abilites you would expect. Housekeeping is fast to respond to any request. I dined in all outlets (dining room, bar and room service). Wolfgang Puck runs the F&B and it's really terrific. He walked through the restaurant one night as he lives in the neighborhood. The pool is a dream, not allot of sun. But allot of privacy. The Spa is La Prarie is very restful and professional. The hotel is just a minutes from all the action of LA and BH. The hotel exceeded my expectations!

Room Tip: Eat at the hotel and do take advantage of the wonderful spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FloridaTravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear FloridaTravelfan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hotel Bel-Air. It is wonderful to hear you feel our hotel is the best hotel you have ever stayed in…this puts a huge smile on my face. I am pleased we were able to provide you with an exceptional experience from the moment you stepped out of your car until the moment you departed. I will make sure to pass along your kind comments regarding our food and beverage to Chef Puck. Even after all his accolades and achievements, he still loves to hear feedback from those who have dined in his restaurants.

I am delighted we were able to exceed your expectations…this is always our goal. Please so come back and visit us again.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has changed my mind about LA hotels, the other need to visit this to see what a great hotel looks like.

It's truly a 5*. The staff are quietly professional. Rooms are all impeccably clean, they have spared no expense on the refit last year. Bang and Olufsen TV, iPads in every room fully automated lighting and air conditioning. Fantastic comfortable beds, a real treat.

Restaurant and Bar service was brilliant and professional staff made us feel very welcomed.

The setting is probable the best in LA, you could be in the hills of Tuscany.

For a small hotel it sets very hgh standards.

Well done.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galaxy5030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Galaxy5030,

Your review was a pleasure to read…thank you for your kind words. It truly sounds as if your stay with us was transporting and this is wonderful to know. I am pleased you enjoyed everything from the service, to the room, to the overall setting and ambiance.

We hope to see you again.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Bel-air hotel is one of the finest hotels in the world. It is the best hotel I've ever stayed at in the Beverly Hills area, that includes the Beverly Wilshire and Montage. The property is quite, it's private, yet it's close enough to all shopping and anything else you'd like the in LA area. Stay at the Bel-air hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mfsupra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear mfsupra,

Your review put a huge smile on my face! It is so great to hear you felt Hotel Bel-Air is one of the finest hotels in the world and the best hotel you have every stayed at in Los Angeles. As you can imagine, we love to hear this and we strive to create this type of experience for each and every guest. Thank you for recommending Hotel Bel-Air and we hope to see you again very soon.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Wonderful hotel, great service from beginning to end, not fussy, not stuffy, simply excellent.
We splurged on a suite in the newest part of the building, with terrace and jaccuzzi, the room was very large and pleasant, the bed perfect. It's quiet, you will be able to open your windows at night and turn off the air conditioning, a luxury I truly appreciate. Bathroom is wonderful.
Food is also up to one's expectations.
Frankly, this is one of the best 5 star hotels I have stayed at, we had absolutely not one complaint during our stay.
Barbara, the concierge, is the best, she recommended restaurants and made reservations on 3 different occasions ; each time was the right choice, she really singled out our taste.

Room Tip: We had room 268 in the newest part of the building. It's an extremely private and quiet room, vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cgailloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear cgailloud,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Bel-Air. It is so wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Canyon Suite. These accommodations truly are one of the most special additions to our hotel. I will make sure to pass along your kind words to Barbara, as she will be thrilled to know that you were impressed with her recommendations.

Thank you for staying with us, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We always come here when we need a short break from our house or have any work done on it and it never fails to relax and entertain. The gardens and the rooms are amazing and beautiful and there is nothing to improve imo.

We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Jackson B,

It is always great welcoming you back to Hotel Bel-Air. I am thrilled our garden oasis provides a place for you to escape and relax. Our enchanting setting really is one of the hotel's most unique features. Please do come visit with us again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Boy, do we love that place.
Each year as we leave, we feel it is going to be a long year before we return. Home does not feel better.
We only spent 4 nights this summer. We cancelled most our activities, so that we could stay and enjoy. We only went out for dinner. We took in the place, again, enjoyed every minute.

We were kindly comped at check-in from a Grand Deluxe room to a Bel-Air Suite. Unfortunately, the suite did not have outdoor space, and we asked to revert to our Grand Deluxe room, not basic by any mean. But thanks anyway, we appreciated the gesture.

The minor glitches that we noted last year have been worked out. The tables at the pool that were using too much space have replaced by loungers. We were always seated, which had not been the case. The service is still inparalleled, mixing new staff and old Bel-Air staff (we were happy to see, year after year, Carlos and Lucinda).

As our profile will show, we have slept around !
I wrote last year that HBA was our favorite hotel in the world. No change here. We are getting married next saturday, only to feel sorry that LA is too far away for a short honeymoon, because this is where we would like to go, of any place.

Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PASCAL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear frenchandparisian,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Bel-Air. The title of your review put a huge smile on my face. It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoy to visit Hotel Bel-Air…we always love welcoming you back. And know that we will add a note in your guest profile indicating your preference for outdoor space.

I am glad you decided to cancel your activities and just relax and enjoy your time at the hotel…Hotel Bel-Air seems to have that effect on a lot of our guests! Since reopening, we have learned a great deal from the valuable feedback we have received from our guests and it's so gratifying to know that you do see "fine tuning" with regard to our service levels and they had a positive impact on your stay. We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests.

From everyone at Hotel Bel-Air, congratulations on your wedding! And remember, you can always take a belated honeymoon...

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#2 of 15 in Beverly Hills
1,201 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
#11 of 355 in Los Angeles
645 reviews
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#15 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bel-Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bel-Air

Address: 701 Stone Canyon Rd., Los Angeles, CA 90077-2909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#1 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#1 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $600 - $1,392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bel-Air 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 12 acres in the Bel-Air Estates neighborhood of Los Angeles, the iconic Hotel Bel-Air is one of the most beautiful, romantic, and exclusive hotels in the world. This Spanish mission-style urban oasis wins a never-ending stream of praise for its faultless service, luxurious accommodations, and magical ambiance. All rooms and suites feature a new generation of design aesthetic and is reflected through different design themes from the glamorous decades of the 1930s, 40s and 50s conveyed in a fresh, youthful and elegant manner. The famous restaurant, bar, catering and in-room dining services are managed by world-renowned Master Chef Wolfgang Puck with a menu featuring modern California cuisine with European and Mediterranean influences in a spectacular garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bel-Air reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bel Air

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing