We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Beautiful!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bel-Air

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bel-Air
Ranked #2 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Just Beautiful!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has changed my mind about LA hotels, the other need to visit this to see what a great hotel looks like.

It's truly a 5*. The staff are quietly professional. Rooms are all impeccably clean, they have spared no expense on the refit last year. Bang and Olufsen TV, iPads in every room fully automated lighting and air conditioning. Fantastic comfortable beds, a real treat.

Restaurant and Bar service was brilliant and professional staff made us feel very welcomed.

The setting is probable the best in LA, you could be in the hills of Tuscany.

For a small hotel it sets very hgh standards.

Well done.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galaxy5030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Galaxy5030,

Your review was a pleasure to read…thank you for your kind words. It truly sounds as if your stay with us was transporting and this is wonderful to know. I am pleased you enjoyed everything from the service, to the room, to the overall setting and ambiance.

We hope to see you again.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    97
    23
    14
    7
See reviews for
133
313
37
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Bel-air hotel is one of the finest hotels in the world. It is the best hotel I've ever stayed at in the Beverly Hills area, that includes the Beverly Wilshire and Montage. The property is quite, it's private, yet it's close enough to all shopping and anything else you'd like the in LA area. Stay at the Bel-air hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mfsupra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear mfsupra,

Your review put a huge smile on my face! It is so great to hear you felt Hotel Bel-Air is one of the finest hotels in the world and the best hotel you have every stayed at in Los Angeles. As you can imagine, we love to hear this and we strive to create this type of experience for each and every guest. Thank you for recommending Hotel Bel-Air and we hope to see you again very soon.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Wonderful hotel, great service from beginning to end, not fussy, not stuffy, simply excellent.
We splurged on a suite in the newest part of the building, with terrace and jaccuzzi, the room was very large and pleasant, the bed perfect. It's quiet, you will be able to open your windows at night and turn off the air conditioning, a luxury I truly appreciate. Bathroom is wonderful.
Food is also up to one's expectations.
Frankly, this is one of the best 5 star hotels I have stayed at, we had absolutely not one complaint during our stay.
Barbara, the concierge, is the best, she recommended restaurants and made reservations on 3 different occasions ; each time was the right choice, she really singled out our taste.

Room Tip: We had room 268 in the newest part of the building. It's an extremely private and quiet room, vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgailloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear cgailloud,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Bel-Air. It is so wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Canyon Suite. These accommodations truly are one of the most special additions to our hotel. I will make sure to pass along your kind words to Barbara, as she will be thrilled to know that you were impressed with her recommendations.

Thank you for staying with us, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We always come here when we need a short break from our house or have any work done on it and it never fails to relax and entertain. The gardens and the rooms are amazing and beautiful and there is nothing to improve imo.

We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Jackson B,

It is always great welcoming you back to Hotel Bel-Air. I am thrilled our garden oasis provides a place for you to escape and relax. Our enchanting setting really is one of the hotel's most unique features. Please do come visit with us again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresnes, France
Level Contributor
142 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 666 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Boy, do we love that place.
Each year as we leave, we feel it is going to be a long year before we return. Home does not feel better.
We only spent 4 nights this summer. We cancelled most our activities, so that we could stay and enjoy. We only went out for dinner. We took in the place, again, enjoyed every minute.

We were kindly comped at check-in from a Grand Deluxe room to a Bel-Air Suite. Unfortunately, the suite did not have outdoor space, and we asked to revert to our Grand Deluxe room, not basic by any mean. But thanks anyway, we appreciated the gesture.

The minor glitches that we noted last year have been worked out. The tables at the pool that were using too much space have replaced by loungers. We were always seated, which had not been the case. The service is still inparalleled, mixing new staff and old Bel-Air staff (we were happy to see, year after year, Carlos and Lucinda).

As our profile will show, we have slept around !
I wrote last year that HBA was our favorite hotel in the world. No change here. We are getting married next saturday, only to feel sorry that LA is too far away for a short honeymoon, because this is where we would like to go, of any place.

Thanks guys.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PASCAL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear frenchandparisian,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Bel-Air. The title of your review put a huge smile on my face. It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoy to visit Hotel Bel-Air…we always love welcoming you back. And know that we will add a note in your guest profile indicating your preference for outdoor space.

I am glad you decided to cancel your activities and just relax and enjoy your time at the hotel…Hotel Bel-Air seems to have that effect on a lot of our guests! Since reopening, we have learned a great deal from the valuable feedback we have received from our guests and it's so gratifying to know that you do see "fine tuning" with regard to our service levels and they had a positive impact on your stay. We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests.

From everyone at Hotel Bel-Air, congratulations on your wedding! And remember, you can always take a belated honeymoon...

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Certain New Yorkers tend to look down on LA. Well if they stayed at the Bel Air I think they would be less vocal. This is a garden paradise , the rooms are ultra lux and modern, the hotel bar is one of the best I've been too (ask for a Manhattan). It is sophisticated and sure of itself. If you are a big-shot here's your place, if your a less than big-shot they still make you feel like one. It's a romantic place- honeymoon or rekindling a flame. Eat at the hotel. You really don't need to leave except to see the Getty which is very close and maybe Beverly Hills and Rodeo Drive. I was impressed. Also they were sweet to my little dog. I was surprised the London mother ship doesn't allow dogs!

Room Tip: Get a patio room and sleep with the doors open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCSBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear NYCSBH,

Ah yes, it's the good ol’ New York vs. Los Angeles feud. The never-ending battle of the two coats! As a former New Yorker, I have to say I do love both cities. But I have to say, you just can’t beat the weather in Los Angeles.

I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Bel-Air and had the chance to have a cocktail in our famous Bar. The location of the hotel is truly unique, as we are situated right in the middle of Los Angeles but we are located on 12 acres of lush gardens. It really sets the stage of the ultimate urban retreat. I am glad you appreciate our very special location and the ease with which you were able to visit the city's major attractions.

We hope to welcome you, and your little dog too of course, back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The room we stayed in was great but unfortunately, even for this tech savy girl, the operation from the lights was very confusing. It would take about 5 minutes of trying every combination (wall switches and turning them on through the phone system) each time we came back to the room. Also, the room was extremely warm. We had the air conditioner on full blast but to no avail. The hotel itself was gorgeous and the decorations were very tasteful. The gym was really nice as well. I also utilised the spa which was very nice as well. We used the courtesy car a couple of times and it was very helpful!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Karen P,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent visit to Hotel Bel-Air. I do apologize for the fact that you had some difficulties with the technology. On your next visit, I kindly ask that you let the front desk agent know you would appreciate a little more familiarization with the technology and we will be sure to make this happen. Our staff is well trained on all aspects of our guestroom technology and they are here to make it a benefit (vs a burden) for you.

I am pleased you were impressed with the rest of your stay and happy you took advantage of the house car…we always encourage our guests to request this convenient (and luxurious!) service amenity. Please come back and visit us again.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
#2 of 15 in Beverly Hills
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
The Garland
#10 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#1 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bel-Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bel-Air

Property: Hotel Bel-Air
Address: 701 Stone Canyon Rd., Los Angeles, CA 90077-2909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#1 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#1 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bel-Air 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 12 acres in the Bel-Air Estates neighborhood of Los Angeles, the iconic Hotel Bel-Air is one of the most beautiful, romantic, and exclusive hotels in the world. This Spanish mission-style urban oasis wins a never-ending stream of praise for its faultless service, luxurious accommodations, and magical ambiance. All rooms and suites feature a new generation of design aesthetic and is reflected through different design themes from the glamorous decades of the 1930s, 40s and 50s conveyed in a fresh, youthful and elegant manner. The famous restaurant, bar, catering and in-room dining services are managed by world-renowned Master Chef Wolfgang Puck with a menu featuring modern California cuisine with European and Mediterranean influences in a spectacular garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bel-Air reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bel Air

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing