We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Grand Dame....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bel-Air

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bel-Air
Ranked #2 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
London UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Grand Dame....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is our 1st visit back after the remodel, having stayed 4 times previously. Stayed for 3 nights in a Junior Suite and I have to say our experience was absolutely amazing. This was the last part of a month long vacation in California. The Hotel Bel Air is a 10 out of 10. I cannot even think of one thing that I was not satisfied with. The property is amazing, the staff are incredible especially Barbara at the Concierge who really looked after us, the Bar and Restaurant are second to none. Dined at WP and was extremely impressed, was given one of their best tables overlooking the lake. I think what really impressed us was the staff, all truly exceptional nothing was ever a problem. I will be staying at the hotel for many years to come and highly recommend it. Even my 3 year old Daughter was upset when we had to leave! Thank you Hotel Bel Air for a great weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MylesLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear MylesLondonUK,

It was a pleasure welcoming you back to Hotel Bel-Air. It is wonderful to hear your experience was amazing and you enjoyed the new Hotel Bel-Air! I will pass along your kind words to Barbara, she will be very happy she was able to make a difference in your stay.

Thank you for recommending Hotel Bel-Air, we look forward to welcoming your family once again.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    97
    23
    14
    7
See reviews for
133
313
37
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
165 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We loved the grounds and our room had a huge private patio where we could have breakfast. They had a nice gym also and a car that would take you within 5 miles of the hotel. Staff was really nice, only complaint I have is that our bed (173) needed a new mattress. One side of it was so low that I felt like I had to climb uphill to get to the other side.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dsgandlcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Dsgandlcf,

It is great to hear how much you enjoyed the grounds at Hotel Bel-Air. The native surroundings create a tropical and secluded atmosphere that is uniquely Bel-Air, and completely one of a kind in our city.

I am delighted you enjoyed breakfast on your patio, dining al fresco. Thank you for providing feedback regarding the mattress, I will make sure to follow up with our housekeeping team to identify and correct the issue.

We hope to see you again this summer season!

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

If service is your number one priority then this is your choice. Beautiful surroundings, fabulous property; it's not for the weak at heart if money is your concern, but it's a once in a lifetime experience in Los Angeles that offers the most in privacy. There is a reason it is the home of movie stars and ceo's. Treat yourself and send a night or more here on your next trip to LA>

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Harry R,

I am thrilled we were able to provide you with a once in a lifetime experience! I truly appreciate your recommendation and hope you return to visit us in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Flawless service at hotels is all too rare today. The Bel-Air was so close to receiving a perfect score but unfortunately they ran out of crackers for our cheese plate one night. We were so disappointed we almost checked out early but we decided to soldier on and make the best of our weekend:). The service staff here are wonderful, friendly and genuinely enjoy their work. The hotel grounds are legendary and have been maintained in pristine fashion. We stayed in a Canyon View Suite which has its own small pool. The suite is very well designed; sliding glass doors open to the patio and pool. The stone floors are uniform inside and out and it allows a feel of continuity as you move about. The bathroom is amazing with a unique high tech commode. The food in the restaurant and from room service is terrific. The fresh baked rolls and pastries are second to none. So close to perfection Bel-Air staff, but we plan to visit again in September, to see if you've cleared up that vexing cracker problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Bryan C,

I am glad you were able to enjoy the ultimate California experience in our Canyon Rooms. It’s wonderful to hear you were provided with the friendly five star service that we are known for here at Hotel Bel-Air, albeit the lack of crackers! I am hoping our restaurant staff was able to provide you with a suitable alternative.

See you soon and thank you again for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

What can one say about this magnificent hotel? Sheer perfection. It's a boutique hotel so it is not overwhelmingly large and crowded. It is beautiful, immaculate, professionally run, comfortable and welcoming. As beautiful as it is, it is not intimidating nor stuffy. The breakfast should not be missed. In fact, all meals served are wonderful. The grounds are splendid. Best of all is the staff. So charming, so efficient, so helpful, your wish is their command. I love visiting here and hate leaving. Bravo to this classic hotel.

Room Tip: I just have never been in one that was not excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear susan s,

I am very flattered with your wonderful review of Hotel Bel-Air. To be considered “perfect” is quite the compliment! It’s lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you this Summer season.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
Level Contributor
186 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a small boutique hotel nestled in the hills of Bel Air which is part of L.A. CA.
The hotel is a retreat for the wealthy but if you want to splurge this is the place to do it. You can go for one or two nights and never leave the property as they have elegant dinning and also a place for casual fare. The best time to go is Summer so that you can relax by the pool. The property does do a lot of weddings so you may want to make your reservation for mid week to avoid the possibility of extra crowds especially around the pool as it is on the small side.

Room Tip: To avoid running into a lot of crowds ask for your room to be away from the swan lake area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear samroz,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Bel-Air. Summer is our busiest season but thankfully in Los Angeles we have pool weather almost year around! We recently added more lounge chairs to make sure we have plenty of space for our hotel guests.

We look forward to your return.


Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

coming through the tree-lined drive, one truly feels he has escaped the hustle of los angeles (and LAX!!!)--- time to relax and breathe and be quietly welcomed by the doorman and bell staff, who whisked away our bags and allowed us to settle in for a much needed lunch. (the hotel had allowed us early check in.) The shower was the best I've seen, coming down like rain from 4 separate heads in the shower ceiling---so luxurious. Restaurant was good, altho service a bit slow on Sunday, even tho it wasn't very busy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marynash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear marynash,

Hotel Bel-Air is truly an enclave of tranquility, so close yet so far from the hustle and bustle of Los Angeles. It's intimacy and natural setting lend itself to escaping from it all.

I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will be back to visit us again.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
#2 of 15 in Beverly Hills
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
The Garland
#10 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#1 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bel-Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bel-Air

Property: Hotel Bel-Air
Address: 701 Stone Canyon Rd., Los Angeles, CA 90077-2909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#1 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#1 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bel-Air 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 12 acres in the Bel-Air Estates neighborhood of Los Angeles, the iconic Hotel Bel-Air is one of the most beautiful, romantic, and exclusive hotels in the world. This Spanish mission-style urban oasis wins a never-ending stream of praise for its faultless service, luxurious accommodations, and magical ambiance. All rooms and suites feature a new generation of design aesthetic and is reflected through different design themes from the glamorous decades of the 1930s, 40s and 50s conveyed in a fresh, youthful and elegant manner. The famous restaurant, bar, catering and in-room dining services are managed by world-renowned Master Chef Wolfgang Puck with a menu featuring modern California cuisine with European and Mediterranean influences in a spectacular garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bel-Air reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bel Air

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing