We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Downtown LA Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Ranked #21 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Went here for a conference. Great to get a chance to see the hotel as I drive past it regularly. Rooms are spacious and furnished very nicely...biggest hotel bathroom I've seen with terrific rainshower. Lots to do right outside the hotel, which is across from the Staples Center and next to the Nokia Theater where the Emmys were held the previous night. There are several restaurants right in the LA Live complex, as well as the Grammy Museum, bowling alley and multiplex movie theater. Will definitely stay here again if I have the opportunity.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OCfoodie92648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWHotelManager, Manager at JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to the hotel. It was our pleasure having you with us, and we'll look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,147)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,272 - 1,278 of 2,147 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights in a premier suite during her company conference. The room had a southerly facing view that offered fantastic views across Santa Monica on the north to the Palos Verdes Peninsula and down to Long Beach on the south. It was breath taking and I could not stop looking out at it.
When you step up to the check in area, a staff member greets you with a smile and on your side of the counter and welcomes you to the check in process. Attentive bellman show you to your room and hang up jackets and offer to get ice. It is first rate service. And it is uncanny how every staff member seems to know you last name. Even the valet knows and addresses you by your last name. It's a nice touch that was a pleasant surprise.
The room is rather basic however. The furniture is not particularly comfortable. The bed was a standard mattress not the pillow top we desire for comfort. Our room was tomb like however and so I really never heard a peep from above, below or next door. The bathroom was average with a shower / no tub. Be warned that hotel valet parking is $40 per night.
The hotel sits in an area known as LA Live which is not really much more then a bunch of buildings (Nokia Theater, Staples Center and LA Convention Center), parking lots, many good restaurants and hotels. There is no retail in sight and nothing of particular interest other then some statues celebrating great LA sports figures like Magic and Jerry not to mention Chick Hearn. The Original Pantry is a short walk away. Patrons line the street to get a great breakfast there. The LA garment district and jewelry center are longer walks away from the hotel. For first time LA visitors Hollywood is a freeway ride away and much worth the trip from this hotel.

Room Tip: Cornor rooms or suites on higher numbered floors will offer views and quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrGoodAdvice60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very new and clean hotel with beautiful décor. We stayed at this hotel because it was right next to the Laker's Stadium. We basically walked across the street which was great. There are night clubs and restaurants close by but we decided to stay at the hotel lounge....it was pretty modern and had good appetizers. We also ate at the breakfast buffet in the morning which was fabulous but a little pricey. Overall this was a big beautiful hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodessa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We felt this hotel catered more for conferences than tourists but could not not fault them on cleanliness, pleasantries and comfort.
Bar prices, even by American standards are high and when we were there a couple of weeks ago restaurant was closed so we had to eat in the bar but this did not cause a problem as it appeared that conference delegates ate elsewhere.
Our only ' down ' about this hotel that stopped me giving it a 5 star for tourists is the fact of where it is situated. It is almost surrounded by major roads and although there is a very good Mexican restaurant nearby other average restaurants are a long walk away into the downtown area where we did not feel very safe after dark.
At the top of the Hotel they have a bar that overlooks the city but beware as the drinks are very, very expensive so check before you buy. The area opens at 16.00 so you can have a quick look before it gets busy with people.
If you want Baseball or the Olympic Stadium then this is a very convenient hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room so you get good views over the city.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrygrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were looking for a hotel close to the airport and a friend of mine recommended JW Marriott Hotel. I must say that it was indeed a good choice for a three day stay with my family. The room we stayed in was very beautiful and spacious with cosy beds and great interior décor. The room service is very good and I really love you guys for the timely breakfast that you serve. We also had a wonderful time at the coffee shop within the lobby. Great going guys!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shakita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWHotelManager, Manager at JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your great feedback. We are happy to hear the team took great care of you, and will share your comments with them. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed here for a business conference in early September 2013 - and it was a very good experience. Staff were super friendly and helpful. Pool and spa were wonderful. I love going to the jacuzzi - and I am a Marriott Rewards member - so I was on the 4th floor - and I had super easy access to the jacuzzi and the Marriott club room (executive lounge) - it was great!! So, if you really like both of these - definitely request that floor. Also - another local tip for this hotel - the Grammy museum is around the corner - I did take a couple of hours that I had free to go and explore it. Overall - a very good experience and I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 4th floor - super easy access to the jacuzzi/pool and the Marriott club room (executive lounge)
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmosho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend and couldnt be happier. Its five stars all the way. From the roof top pool to the views, to the closeness to the Nokia theater (literally a 20 second walk from the hotel), to the abundance of nearby restaurants by Wolfgang Puck, Lowes, Rosa Mexicanos, ESPN live, The Conga Room, The Regal movie theater across the street, etc. Its a one stop shop of luxury. And of course if you like to people watch, there are tons of celebs and wanna be celebs along with people there just to have a great time. This is a very popular hotel - reserve early!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
#6 of 352 in Los Angeles
618 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 352 in Los Angeles
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#55 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,228 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#78 of 352 in Los Angeles
247 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE

Address: 900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $328 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE 4.5*
Number of rooms: 877
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing