We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Simply the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Ranked #19 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed there for business for a conference at the LA Convention Center. The Convention Center was close. The staff was super friendly , thanked me for my elite status , upgraded my room. The rooms were very open , updated and clean. The bathrooms were very nice.

The elevators were actually quick, the lobby beautiful and the ambiance perfect for a business trip.

This was a great experience, if I am in LA i will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    651
    163
    58
    40
See reviews for
283
332
88
860
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at this hotel for a convention and overall not impressed; At >$300 a night and the flagship of the Marriott group I would have expected more. Check in was unorganized and took forever which is not fun after a long flight. Rooms are more like a Courtyard Marriott than a JW. Very simple rooms, no luxury and bathrooms are unimpressive. Service at the bar very slow and laid back. Food at the restaurant was just terrible- went there only because there arent many options in downtown LA. Checkout took forever to settle the bill which caused a delay to get back the airport. Would not recommend staying here as it is far from everything nice to do in LA.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sguntupalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

For a convention hotel, the JW Marriott was very nice. It was close to the Convention Center and LA Live gives attendees lots of choices for food and beverage. The WiFi had very spotty service and was expensive. It was better to be hard-wired in the room if you were going to pay for the service. There were plenty of towels in the bathroom although some were quite worn out. They gym and spa were part of the Ritz Carlton located next door so they were very nice although the spa was quite expensive. The Executive Lounge is normally not open on the weekends which could have been a big issue but our meeting organizer arranged to have it open for our meeting. If you are a business traveler and getting reimbursed for your stay or attending an event at the Staples Center or Nokia Theater, this is a nice hotel. Otherwise, it is quite far from tourist destinations and there isn't much around the area to do in free time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoTraveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel is in the LA LIVE area, so close to the Nokia Theatre (right beside) and the Staples Center (across the street). It's also a 5 minute walk to the Convention Center. Despite looking nice, the shower is horrible, and you need to get into the shower to turn it on = getting soaked with cold water!

Room Tip: As always, try to get a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPP566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was my first time in LA and I went with a couple of friends who were Marriott members. This is an awesome hotel next to the Staples Center. The building is practically brand new and is very nicely finished. The staff was friendly and the room was over-sized with good views of LA Live. I wished I stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the JW for a national convention. We were sad to find our room had leftover food in the mini fridge and dried up rose peddles behind the bathroom door (apparently someone had a nice night). Our tv did not work and they did send someone to fix it, but the next day it broke again. We are also not from the area and had not been to LA before. When we asked for directions to a shopping area they sent us 8 blocks in a very "shady" area where their were street vendors. Not quite my idea of a shopping area. We also were told to ride the Metro to get to Long Beach. Not a big deal to us, but it would have been nice to have been tipped off on how long it would take 1.5 hours and what areas we would be traveling through. I am just disappointed in the customer service of a JW. They never bothered to consider we may not be familiar to the area and never gave very good directions etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel keeps getting better and if you havent experienced the JW Marriott LA Live you are missing out ! The lobby restaurants are amazing , delicious and beautiful. The decor is lively and the rooms spacious.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good dont worry !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tali N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#10 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
#28 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#31 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#32 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE

Property: JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Address: 900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1338
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE 4*
Number of rooms: 877
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing