We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$504
$377
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
$333
$231
Official Site
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$296
$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Westin Los Angeles Airport(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
$360
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$181
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,304)
Filter reviews
2,304 results
Traveler rating
1,185
785
208
73
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,185
785
208
73
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstaples centerconvention centerla live complexnokia theaterfilling stationdowntown layard housegrammy museumthe ritzlakers gamethe executive loungeattending an eventrooftop poolroom servicevalet parkingjunior suitelobby bar
Filter
Updating list...
1,639 - 1,644 of 2,304 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I really loved staying downtown at the JW Marriott. I live in Santa Monica but work downtown, so a concert at Staples meant getting a room, rather than go back and forth and back and forth. The downstairs bar is a great spot for an after work drink, and being able to walk to so many fantastic restaurants is ideal! Nearby are Rivera, The Palm, Bottle Rocket and so much more at LA Live itself. A really hopping area, and I highly recommend this hotel for an LA visit. I even took the bus to my office in the morning, which was easy and convenient!.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the freeway - it also faces the mountains (Hollywood sign and Griffith Park are easily seen) all the way to the beach (you can watch the sunset). At night, the lights are spectacular, ask for a room on the upper floors.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElleBe_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed at JW for 2 nights and had incredible food and an overall great experience. Loved the illy coffee in the lobby and the indoor/outdoor spaces. Stayed at the Westin bonaventure one night and wished i was still at the JW. You just can't beat a brand new hotel. I found the staff to be very helpful and attentive and the overall condition of the property was excellent. Hope I have an excuse to stay there again soon!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RG18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great location in the heart of LA Live. A lot of energy at night and the hotel haqs large rooms with beautiful views of LA. The hotel also offers a lot of food & beverage choices, including attached Ritz Carlton W24.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and are quieter.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCPME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed at the Westin Bonaventure and the JW Marriott within the same 11 day time period (half at the westin, half the days at the marriott) so I wanted to compare both for those deciding between the two hotels.

The bed/mattress at the Westin was significantly better than the Marriott's bed. It truly lived up to its "Heavenly Bed" name. I think the mattress at the Marriott needed to be flipped and rotated.

I liked the robe that was provided in my room at the Westin.

The shower/water pressure at the JW Marriott was wonderful!!! The shower/water pressure at the Westin needed much improvement. The shower seemed outdated and the water pressure was weak.

One thing to keep in mind at the JW Marriott: King rooms don't have bath tubs, only showers. I believe the double bed rooms have tubs, but I didn't stay in one of those rooms to try them out. So if you need a king bed AND a tub, stay at the Westin. If you don't care about a tub and need a really great shower, stay at the JW Marriott.

The king room at the JW Marriott was much bigger than the king room at the Westin. If you are traveling with a baby or child, the Westin king room will be too small for 3 people. It’s maybe even too small for 2 people. But the JW Marriott king room was a good, generous size for a portable crib, etc.

The JW Marriott requires you to insert your room key to access room floors in the elevator. The Westin does not.

I HIGHLY recommend the spa at the Westin, it is actually very reasonably priced for a hotel spa. The esthetician is AMAZING! Even if you live in LA, you should go see her! I’m sure the spa at the JW is good, too, but the prices were three or four times the prices at the Westin.

The lobby at the JW Marriott is very nice and modern. The lobby at the Westin is dated.

Each hotel has different food options, both which are wonderful, it just depends on what you want. The Westin has more of quick food; if you just want something quick and inexpensive, then the Westin has plenty of good options. I particularly liked the smoothie place; the workers were very nice and the food was good and reasonably priced. The Westin also has higher-end, more upscale restaurants. At one of the restaurants, I order a grilled cheese sandwich and tomato soup and (with tax and tip) it was $20! So you have lots of options at the Westin. The JW Marriott has just a couple restaurant options. The main lobby restaurant is excellent; although it is pricey.

The JW Marriott is within walking distance to the convention center and the Staples center. I also enjoyed the desk in the room at the JW Marriott.

I highly recommend both hotels and would stay at both again. It just depends on what you are looking for in a hotel (and price) that is the determining factor.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CJSLubbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here during a conference and loved it. Check in was a breeze and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Room service was incredible. The decor was updated and modern and the grounds were very clean. Lots of common areas to meet with friends and talk and the bar area was also great. I loved the location which is next to everything including the Staples Center. I loved my stay here and hope we go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuthnBelle1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews