We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for the Staples Centre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Ranked #24 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Location for the Staples Centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here one night after flying in from Sydney to see a Lakers game, and then head out to Vegas the next morning. Prime location for attending anything at the Staples Centre. We booked a room for 3 people and requested a roll away bed in our booking. The bed was not there on arrival but was delivered quickly after a phone call. The Wi-Fi at reception was ‘dodgy’ at best and it’s seriously annoying when there is no free Wi-Fi in the room. The room and bathroom were quite large- enough space for 3 of us and clean. The hotel bar was busy after the game and had a good atmosphere. I liked staying here and would again if going to see another game in LA. Can’t really comment on the location for other purposes as we left the next morning.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    712
    182
    67
    44
See reviews for
321
362
92
957
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Girona, Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for two evenings. I was a little worried about staying here with our toddler, but it turned out to be a great location for him. We had a king bed and asked for a roll-away bed and it was brought up immediately. Our room was clean and very comfortable. It did not have a tub, but we just took our child in the shower and it was no big deal. Our son loved the pool area and we spent hours there each afternoon. The room had a small fridge, which was great to keep milk and water in for our child. This hotel did not necessarily look "family-friendly" at first glance, but every staff member was super helpful and my son adored walking through the lobby waving to everyone and checking everything out. The hotel is surrounded by many restaurants and things to see and do. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
131 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

I stayed here for two nights for a business conference being held at the hotel. This is a very nice place. The lobby area is busy with people who congregate in the lounge...keep your eyes peeled, you might just spot a celebrity who is downtown for an event at the Staples Center (my colleague saw Patrick Dempsey right before the Clippers game). The room was very spacious and comfortable. It also had a gorgeous view - my room faced west, so I could see the sun set over the mountains every evening. All of the employees were very friendly and accommodating. It was very quiet at night, so I had no trouble sleeping. The meeting facilities where we had our conference were very nice. The hotel is part of LA Live, which features several restaurants, plus the Staples Center and Nokia Theater. The only downside to the location is that beyond the one block LA Live area, there isn't really anything interesting that you can walk to. That wasn't a problem for me since I was there for my conference though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LHWIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed here for five days. Rooms were decent size and clean. Nice location on LA live property. Great lobby amenities. Staying here again next November.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dezaria33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Just stayed for a 1,400 person convention and WOW did they do an awesome job! Gorgeous hotel--very modern and flashy decor with warm and glitzy colors. Staff very polished and professional--Auriela at the front desk accomodated our request for an upgrade as a Gold Marriott memeber since hotel was sold out--great room--thanks a ton! Food was excellent and Ballroom video screen (went from wall to wall like American Idol) was phenominal! Only bummer was the Lobby Bar was small expecially when conventioners and Staples Center guests intermix. Room Service expensive but excellent. Valet parking car pick up is a bit odd but it worked out.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking Staples Center--great view of LA skyline!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Budd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwards, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

JW Marriott LA Live is big. Hand written notes might mean something in a B&B, but not a hotel this size. The valet entrance is on Olympic. As of May 2012, valet parking is $40/day with a discount for alternative fuel vehicles.

Location is central to the Staples Center.

The fitness center gets crowded in the afternoons.

The central atrium is as loud as my high school cafeteria was, and unfortunately it is decorated in the style of a middle school dance.

Instead of using classy room furnishings, they went with a blend of modern cubism and 70s decor (reminiscent of the W off of Lake Shore Drive, except badly done). My favorite piece of trailer park furnishing passed as art is the coffee table in the atrium made from aspen tree trunk segments banded together with a piece of glass on top. Likely costly, but not classy.

By design or defect, my floor was not level, not by alcohol.

It's still a JW, but I would not choose this hotel on my nickel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

I really enjoyed my visit to the JW Marriott at L.A. Live. I booked a junior suite and it was huge! The only complaint about the room is the shower did not have a tub--but it was a lovely bathroom. I had a massage at the spa--actually at the Ritz Carlton that is connected to the JW. The service was good, friendly, prompt. Great stay!

Room Tip: Book a junior suite--it's a huge, corner room with lots of space and a really nice layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grommit7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#32 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
#23 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#39 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE

Property: JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Address: 900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE 4.5*
Number of rooms: 877
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing