We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“L.A. Glamour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Ranked #23 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“L.A. Glamour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

I get to stay here when the college basketball team I work with travels to L.A., and I look forward to it every time. I always get a spacious, beautiful room with an amazing view, and the property still has that "brand new" feel to it. Service is very helpful, and there are so many high-end lounges/bars to eat and drink at (if I had the money). Pool is medium-size with a bar and lots of tents/chairs/beds to lounge in. Rooms are quiet, sleep quality is excellent, overall just a luxurious place. Free wi-fi would have earned it another point.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    716
    184
    67
    44
See reviews for
326
364
92
971
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed for a fitness convention. Room was clean and in working order. Staff was VERY HELPFUL. Close to LA Live and activities held there including frequent filming of television programming. NCIS LA was filming during the two days I stayed and it gives you a look behind the camera, not to mention star gazing. I'd stay again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sgoudeseun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Richmond, CA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Just stayed two nights at the JW Marriott LA Live and enjoyed the well appointed, immaculate and completely quiet room. It's a perfect location for access to the convention center but, of course, relatively far from the the beach communities and tourist attractions. For that, there are more centrally located and less costly hotels (though still with four star qualities). Not unlike NYC and perhaps moreso, the key to lodging in LA is to center on the most convenient location to accommodate your plans.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlatbushFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

I stayed here for a week while working in LA. I was working on an event being held in the hotel itself, so I spent almost all of my time inside the hotel, only going out into the surrounding area for a couple of meals and some basics (water, snacks).

The hotel is enormous, and attached to the convention centre. Brand new, and impeccably clean, the hotel staff was friendly and always ready to help. Room service and food service staff were a pleasure to chat with, and always professional. The business centre was also very helpful with friendly and helpful staff.

The rooms are nicely furnished, contemporary-feeling, with large walk-in shower (no tub), with some nice toiletries. Housekeeping was great and respectful of my things. I ordered room service on several nights when I worked very late, the portions are quite large, always thoughtfully plated, made me feel taken care of after some very long days.

You have climate control in each room, and a large armchair and couch, tv with lots of clothes storage space (wardrobe and large dressers). My favourite part of the furnishings was the desk/table on small wheels that you could drag to wherever you needed it in your room. When I'd finally get to my room at night, I could order room service, pull the desk to the side of the bed, and eat in bed comfortably, while watching some trashy tv before crashing. Small things like that make me very happy.

Outside of the hotel, you walk right into LA Live -- where there is an array of restaurants. My favourite, I went twice during my 1 week stay, was Katsuya. Try their seafood sampler, or crispy tuna rice dish. AMAZING.

Also conveniently nearby is a Ralph's (grocery and pharmacy and all-in-one store, where they also have cheap, hot food take-out, wine, dry-cleaning...everything). It's less than a 15 minute walk away.

Room Tip: If you're part of a convention and you have scheduled activities in the Ballrooms, ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aoc1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

The hotel was very very clean. Rooms are spacious huge beds lovely bathroom

Shame we didn't have a car as a bit far away from things

The lovely Joy at the concierge was really helpful and helped us make the most of our few days there

Not much to do their outside of LA live but some nice restaurants arounds

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraPPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Stayed at the J.W. Marriott at L.A. Live for a conference in February 2012. Hotel is clean, bright and lively. Rooms are spacious and modern. J.W. Marriott and Ritz Carlton are co-located on the same property and there is a lot of traffic due to the 2 hotels and the conference facilities they share. Lobby bars are lively well into the night. Would stay again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington IN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Lots to like about this hotel. It's new, modern, elegant. Gorgeous lobby and good restaurants. The rooms are gigantic. For anyone doing business or attending events at the convention or the Staples Center it's a great location, and an easy walk to other attractions. I was disappointed by housekeeping, though. The first morning, I left the room around mid-morning and made sure to put the Do Not Disturb sign back inside. I was at the convention center all day, returning around 5. And NO ONE had serviced the room! The bed was unmade, the coffee supplies not replenished, the trash baskets full. I called guest services right away and they apologized up and down and said they'd send someone up right away to get things put to rights. I had to leave again so went off confident that when I returned I'd have a nice clean room and empty waste baskets. Got back to the room again about 10 PM only to find that IT WAS STILL A MESS. Somebody dropped the ball, big time. I called guest services again and told them what I thought of their "service." They apologized up and down, asked if I wanted someone to come up now (as if! I wanted to hit the sack) and asked if they could give me a free breakfast among other things I didn't want. Finally I was offered a credit to my account that I accepted though still wasn't particularly mollified. For a higher priced hotel, this lapse showed incredible sloppiness and negligence. Other minor irritations included the gigantic illuminated sign right outside my window (on the south side of the building) that was on all night, and the curtains didn't close quite tightly enough to shut the light out completely. Also at 5 the next morning loud amplified music started to boom and continued until I just decided to get up since I couldn't sleep any longer. Never did figure out where it was coming from. Finally, whoever planned the room layout made a mistake in not locating the refrigerator in the cabinet just inside the door, instead of right under the TV in the bedroom proper. It was pretty noisy in both rooms (I asked to move after the loud booming music and got an identical room on the other side; alas, the fridge in that room was even louder; I had to unplug it). Though there are lots of nice things about the facility, and everyone I dealt with was nice, I doubt that I'd stay there next time. Too many glitches.

Room Tip: North side away from that awful huge illuminated sign.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#30 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
#22 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#36 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE

Property: JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Address: 900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE 4.5*
Number of rooms: 877
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing