We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel in Downtown L.A”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel
Villach, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel in Downtown L.A”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

Well, the STAY is an affordable Place to stay in Los Angles. The rooms are very modern design- but the cheap room doesn´t have bathroom. The smooker rooms stinks really bad....Unfortunatly Downtown L.A isn´t the best place to stay during a weekend especially alone as woman. The Metro Station/Bus and Greyhound bus are reachable in less than 10 min.

Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank CorneliaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    252
    260
    131
    171
See reviews for
61
282
213
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

Pleasantly surprised at this hotel/hostel after reading some of the reviews on here. Yes, would agree its more like a hostel/hotel hybrid so if you're looking solely for a hotel you will be disappointed. As we had been staying in private rooms in hostels on our travels this hotel was a godsend for us. Lovely bright, clean room (IKEA furnished), the shared bathroom a few doors down from us was always clean and we never had to wait to use it. Housekeeping ok and would always ask if we needed extra toiletries, even if we may not need the room cleaning (bit sketchy at leaving towels though and usually returned to find they had taken the dirty towels and not left clean ones so would have to ask for some) Nice clean kitchen with a microwave and a fridge dispensing ice cold water (no cutlery or crockery though) Free wifi/ use of computers in the lobby - only hassle was that the lobby closes at 11pm. You have to enter the hotel via the next door Cecil Hotel after this (seem to be a wing of this hotel) Even though no washing facilities are available we were able to use the washing machines situated in the Cecil hotel.
The area around the hotel is a bit down at heel and there are a few homeless/drunks hanging around- mainly on the way to Pershing metro up on 5th St.This didn't really bother us too much though and we walked around at night without any bother from anyone. We tended to use the other metro at 7th/main - a few more minutes walk but a much nicer area to walk through at night.
The area seems to be having lots of development going on and there are a number of good eating places/bars nearby. Definately would recommend Bottega Louie (on way to 7th/main metro) which is a deli/bakery/restaurant serving absolutely delicious food of the highest quality. They also have ready prepared deli items that we bought and then reheated in the microwave back at the hotel- not too epensive either dispite its rather grand appearance.
If you are looking for a great value for money hotel then this is it and if we are in LA again would definately choose to STAY here!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mibial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2009

So I should of guessed that this was a hostel, or some sort of on campus housing dorm considering how cheap it was. The website I booked it on did not mention it was a hostel, but looking at the pictures it looked clean and modern enough so I decided to give it a shot. We got in late and checked in around ten, which I am glad we did, because after only an hour or so the lobby completely closed. I'm not sure what we would of done if that happened. The attendant was a bit slow and had trouble finding our reservation. (most staff members seemed like college kids that probably go to Fidm) After getting our room, we had to leave the lobby and walk thru these double doors that led us into a completely different hotel??? which did not look as new as modern as the clean white lobby we were in. Upstairs in the room, was a decent size, nicely decorated in the latest Ikea decorum. Our private bathroom had one of those showers that was not separated, so when you shower it falls directly onto the floor of the bathroom. Hard to explain but some bathrooms in asia and europe is like this. They have a common kitchen area with fridge and microwave which was nice. Anyways...all in all it was a decent stay for the price. The neighborhood is pretty sketchy with lots of homeless people wandering around. (I myself am from New York and have seen it all, but I must say, this was kinda scary) There was not much security present either. I would suggest parking at the lot directly NEXT to the hotel otherwise you will find yourself walking past crack heads on the street. If you are looking for a real hotel then don't stay here, but if you are looking for affordable accommodations and just need the basics, then this place is for you.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationgirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2009

I had stay in American Choice(A 1 star hotel) before, this Cecil Hotel is way behind a 1 star hotel. I will never ever visit this hotel again even it's FREE. The room is as bad as the cell i visited in Alcatraz (San Francisco). I really doubt it's a 2 star hotel.
- The so call 'Queen' Size bed is equal to the single bed in American Choice.
- The SHARED toilet along the corridor got no place to wash hand.
- The Room got no A/C nor fan.
- The basin is rusted.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanb70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

the world!
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2009

A word of warning is to make sure you have enough funds in your account for the deposit that they block for incidentals. You have to wait for 3-5 working days for them to release the deposit after staying at the hotel (in our case approximately $200 was blocked)
The windows in this place are paper thin so bring earplugs.
The staff were very helpful and assisted with any query.
Overall for someone visiting LA for the first time (like was our case) I wouldn't recommend staying in the downtown area anyway. its a bit dead.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyWhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2009

Great place to "stay" in downtown LA. Reasonably priced-choice of private or shared baths. ( no hairdryers, though). Walking distance to Little Tokyo, main library, LA Times, and especially the Nickel Diner which has absolutely the best breakfast in town-try the oatmeal!

STAY seems to attract a younger crowd; think European languages with expensive backpacks. Free computers, printers, and WI-FI. Coffee, newspapers and snacks available in downstairs shop. Close to public transportation. Neighborhood a bit suspect after dark, but overall a great value and clean, pleasant surroundings.
I will definitely stay again on my next trip.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HBrownFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

The Cecil is possessed of neither air-conditioning nor internet access, despite making mendacious claims in its advertising to both. Avoid the place like the plague! Because, sitting on my bed, showered yet positively steaming, in a room that lacked even a fully-opening window for ventilation, I opted (rather than endure one night in this sub-tropical hell-hole) to go straight back to the Greyhound Station and spend the night on a much more comfortable Greyhound Bus.

In retrospect I'm glad I did: the Cecil is the pits!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halterburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Stillwell Hotel
Stillwell Hotel
#217 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Downtown
The Los Angeles Athletic Club
The Los Angeles Athletic Club
#80 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#54 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#87 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
#2 of 82 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel

Property: Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel
Address: 640 South Main Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014-2004 (Formerly Cecil Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on Main is the hippest boutique hotel and hostel in downtown Los Angeles. We are located in the heart of LA’s Historic Core, surrounded by many of the newest and hottest restaurants, bars and night- clubs in downtown Los Angeles, California. We are located one mile to LA LIVE, minutes by Metro to famous Hollywood, short walk to the fashion, toy, jewelry districts and flower mart. Also, minutes by bus to China Town, Little Tokyo and USC…or hop on the bus right outside the front door for a unique site seeing ride to Santa Monica beach.Our location, style accommodations and vibe offer our guest the best value in Los Angeles. Stay on Main offers a menu approach to accommodation selection. Depending upon budget and lifestyle, guests can choose from a wide array of room types and amenities at stay on main hotel, from private rooms with private baths to shared rooms with shared baths down the hall.Stay on Main is youthful, high-style, and high-tech. our rooms are simple stylish and inexpensive. We offer convenient accommodations for the hip and spend thrifty traveler.In-the-know 18-30 year old international travelers and domestic travelers looking for modern, upscale accommodations on a budget will appreciate our variety of room types and options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay On Main Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing