We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsecure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I was staying in LA on my own and wanted a cheap but comfortable place to stay. Unfortunately this place has some very basic things wrong with it which the hostel needs to address. I stayed in a shared female dorm of six bunk beds. First of all there is no locker to store your luggage in the room, so you either need to have brought your own case lock (they do not provide these) or leave it in a locked room next to reception. This was very inconvenient so after the first night I just left my suitcase in my room and hoped the other girls/cleaners didn't take anything when I was out. The other problem is that although there are lots of toilets, shower rooms and at least one shower/toilet hybrid on the floor there are no mirrors or soap/sinks so you need to go back to your room to wash your hands! This is unhygienic and I can imagine some people not doing it because of the hassle. The windows are also not well insulated so you definitely need earplugs to get a good night's sleep. One last complaint - my room key never worked. I had to keep getting it changed because in the shared dorm when one person checks out, all the keys are cancelled. This happened four times in two days. I eventually decided to opt for a room of my own for $23 extra a night so I could have a working key and not risk anything happening to my possessions. Good things about the place: there is a TV room on the 6th floor, the reception and mezzanine look stunning (but bely the basic functionality of the actual dorm and bathrooms), the breakfast was basic but you could have oatmeal, cold cereal or fresh waffles, and tea, coffee or orange juice and this was free. There are free computers to use on the ground floor and activities as well, such as ping pong and another big TV screen. Fresh towels were also provided in the rooms under the sink and you could get more for free at reception. I found the staff helpful and can only say they are limited by what the hostels policies are. I wouldn't stay here again unless the issues around security, hygiene and practicality are addressed which other hostels in LA (such as USA Hostels Hollywood) which charge less, already do.

Room Tip: Get your own room if you are a light sleeper, and take ear plugs with you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Locumcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 943 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed on the fourth floor with shared bathrooms. It had the basics so don't expect much. No ghosts were seen unfortunately, maybe next time. The breakfast come with cereal or waffle. The lobby has lots of activities so if you're looking for something to do, theres plenty here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minimevind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We booked two beds in a five-people-room and when we arrived there they didn't have space anymore, the good thing was that they gave us a double room so we stayed there alone. Bathrooms are clean and rooms are spacious. Breakfast was good for that price. The bad thing was all the city noise at night, we almost couldn't sleep, but you know, its L.A.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caavazquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

The rooms look nothing like the pictures. It's a very old building with no AC. Do not stay there when it's hot!!! The bathrooms are just disgusting. They Are not even clean. I've never experience such an awful looking hotel. And mind you, I stayed in the most expensive room they have. The employee said was the best room they had.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank iBSEN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I know it's not the hotel's fault, but my credit card was cloned by an employee. It's the only place that I used my credit card. So watch out. Other than that, for a 2 stars hotel, it was ok. Be aware that the toilets/showers are not in the rooms, they are in a separate common bathrooms.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Slim514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed two nights there, the reception is really cool, the people at the front desk were super friendly, but the room are.. ok. Small, no view (of course), the bed weren't very clean. But we didn't expect something amazing, it was just for the night so it's ok.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaMoccha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

well It's clean, conveniently located in downtown if your plans are going to buy clothes on fashion district which it's just a few blocks away but after 6:00 PM the nearby area becomes full of homeless people and that could cause concerns regarding security due to the fact that the hotel don't have safety boxes available on rooms or front desk and no other solution is provided by them forcing you to carry your valuable items (passports or money) all the time with you. Not so cheap at USD89 per night the twin beds room with private bathroom.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fpabon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 355 in Los Angeles
805 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,200 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#104 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
#2 of 101 in Los Angeles
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel

Address: 640 South Main Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014-2004 (Formerly Cecil Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range: $40 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on Main is the hippest boutique hotel and hostel in downtown Los Angeles. We are located in the heart of LA’s Historic Core, surrounded by many of the newest and hottest restaurants, bars and night- clubs in downtown Los Angeles, California. We are located one mile to LA LIVE, minutes by Metro to famous Hollywood, short walk to the fashion, toy, jewelry districts and flower mart. Also, minutes by bus to China Town, Little Tokyo and USC…or hop on the bus right outside the front door for a unique site seeing ride to Santa Monica beach.Our location, style accommodations and vibe offer our guest the best value in Los Angeles. Stay on Main offers a menu approach to accommodation selection. Depending upon budget and lifestyle, guests can choose from a wide array of room types and amenities at stay on main hotel, from private rooms with private baths to shared rooms with shared baths down the hall.Stay on Main is youthful, high-style, and high-tech. our rooms are simple stylish and inexpensive. We offer convenient accommodations for the hip and spend thrifty traveler.In-the-know 18-30 year old international travelers and domestic travelers looking for modern, upscale accommodations on a budget will appreciate our variety of room types and options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay On Main Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing