We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude Staff and Unsafe Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude Staff and Unsafe Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

There's one staff in the reception who's very rude. I think everyone who stayed here knows her! Be careful if you want to stay here because it's dangerous to walk at night outside. My friend was mugged on his way back to this hotel.

The room is descent and clean but that's it. Breakfast is terrible.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayps17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    251
    259
    130
    170
See reviews for
61
281
213
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

location of the hotel is so unsafe. homeless people are around the hotel and when you go out starts to follow you. rooms and beds are OK but breakfast is terrible. there's only one option you can choose. it's corn flakes. so much noise in the street and hotel you can not sleep well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gorki222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed in a single room with private bathroom and I spent about 40 dollars for night. The room wasn't super but ok for 40 dollars. A very beautiful room in Beverly Hills could have been at least 150-200 dollars per night, but I just needed a place to sleep after long walks visiting the city and the surroundings, so Cecil Hotel was perfect for me. The cleaners came every day, the breakfast was included and was simple but enough. The area is very beautiful with amazing buildings all around and the metro is at less then 10 minutes walking. The problem was the noise by night of the sirens of the ambulances, the police, vans fire...
Another problem was represented by the thousands of homeless people "living" downtown and that doesn't bring value to the hotel's location or joy to your heart.
So if you want to save money and spend more on eating, amusement and souvenirs, this hotel is perfect for you, especially if you travel alone or with young friends; if you want a peaceful or a romantic atmosphere, you must choose another place, but you will pay much more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
5 Thank LukeLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Puke, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great location, helpful staff, clean rooms and good value. To people complaining about street noise, what do you expect, it's downtown LA!! Beds were comfortable and I enjoyed my stay there. Would recommend getting private bathroom as opposed to shared bathroom for convenience. Will definitely be making a return visit when I go back to LA. :)

Room Tip: Choose rooms with own bathrooms, because shared bathrooms are a bit inconvenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
195 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Unbeatable prices. Room clean. Good common spaces. Excelent pc free to use. Breakfast ok and pop corn for all at 4pm. Wifi for free. Really a bang for the buck. Unluckyly one day the room was not cleaned and the bed not set: when i went back in the evening none could explain why or solve the problem. That was really the only issue.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

My son and I had to visit supliers downtown LA and we didnot want to spend money but bying things. $75 a nigh for two with breakfast was just perfect for us. Also we were just blocks away to where we had to go.
Very efficient when reservation or checkout and with normal service for all purpose.
Building is very old but they provide clean and confortable beds and private bath with hot water, what else can you ask for that price?
Because breadkfast is allways the same, after two days we went two blocks away and had a nice meal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarlosCR49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Located next to the cecil hotel in downtown LA this is a modern budget place to stay. I had a private room with double bed, private shower and toilet but the majority of rooms are shared with shared bathroom facilities in the hall. Very noisy outside with lots of shouting and sirens throughout the night. Free breakfast is cereal and coffee but still a welcome touch for hungry travellers as well as free popcorn. Its true that the internet did not work in the room but there is a communal lounge where it works.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Stillwell Hotel
Stillwell Hotel
#216 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Downtown
The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Downtown
The Los Angeles Athletic Club
The Los Angeles Athletic Club
#78 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#50 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#90 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
#2 of 84 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel

Property: Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel
Address: 640 South Main Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014-2004 (Formerly Cecil Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on Main is the hippest boutique hotel and hostel in downtown Los Angeles. We are located in the heart of LA’s Historic Core, surrounded by many of the newest and hottest restaurants, bars and night- clubs in downtown Los Angeles, California. We are located one mile to LA LIVE, minutes by Metro to famous Hollywood, short walk to the fashion, toy, jewelry districts and flower mart. Also, minutes by bus to China Town, Little Tokyo and USC…or hop on the bus right outside the front door for a unique site seeing ride to Santa Monica beach.Our location, style accommodations and vibe offer our guest the best value in Los Angeles. Stay on Main offers a menu approach to accommodation selection. Depending upon budget and lifestyle, guests can choose from a wide array of room types and amenities at stay on main hotel, from private rooms with private baths to shared rooms with shared baths down the hall.Stay on Main is youthful, high-style, and high-tech. our rooms are simple stylish and inexpensive. We offer convenient accommodations for the hip and spend thrifty traveler.In-the-know 18-30 year old international travelers and domestic travelers looking for modern, upscale accommodations on a budget will appreciate our variety of room types and options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay On Main Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing