We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Asian Cuisine Ever :)”

RockSugar Pan Asian Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
RockSugar Pan Asian Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 9,980 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Century City
Description: RockSugar Pan Asian Kitchen is an upscale casual destination from restaurateur, David Overton and Singapore-raised, New York trained Chef Mohan Ismail. RockSugar showcases the cuisines of Thailand, Vietnam, Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia and India. As keeping with the traditional style of Southeast Asian dining, dishes are meant to be shared and each plate aims to capture the spirit and authentic flavors of Southeast Asia. The restaurant also features a full-service bar with an extensive wine list and exotic cocktails. An on-site bakery allows RockSugar to create fresh-made desserts that infuse traditional French flair into nearly a dozen Asian-influenced items. Happy Hour is every day from 4-6:30PM in the courtyard and bar areas. Parking is located in the Westfield parking structure and is complimentary for the first 3 hours with validation. Valet is also available and is located on Santa Monica Boulevard.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best Asian Cuisine Ever :)”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This restaurant has the best Asian food ever. The atmosphere is just spectacular because the entrance has sounds of birds chirping, couches with fire pit tables, statues, fine art, grand furniture, and is very comfy. The Menu has so much to choose from that its really hard to choose what to order. The staff is very friendly. Next time your in LA check out this place for a great dining experience. :)

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ayayitstiffany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    114
    42
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent pan-asian food”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Rock Sugar restaurant is large and busy with high ceilings and a tacky but somewhat interesting ambience. The menu is extremely broad representing a large swathe of Asia, and the food is generally excellent. I have eaten there at least 5 times and have never been disappointed. The drinks are reliably good and the service is first rate. Prices are a bit on the high side but probably fair for a decent West LA eatery. The only caveat that I have is that Rock Sugar is located in the Century City, CA shopping/movie complex, and parking there on a busy weekend is a challenging sport. I would only go there if you are shopping or going to a movie there anyway. If in the area, Rock Sugar is definitely worth trying.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnpaul17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful decor and excellent food!”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We were staying at the Hyatt around the corner and I was keen on Italian having had a very disappointing dinner at PF Changs the night before, but luckily for me my teen daughter and husband persuaded me. The Best Meal we had in the U.S.! 
Being a foodie from Melbourne (Aus), We eat a lot of Asian food.  The Vietnamese rolls were very good, the salmon sashimi was excellent and the pork buns were AMAZING!!! Using Kurobuto pork which just melts in your mouth, the pork was sticky, sweet and delicious. Onto the mains and we had a chicken pho (soup with noodles - perfectly executed) but the chicken with cashew in a dark sauce with chilli was absolute heaven. The only dish I wouldn't rave about was the butter chicken but that was our fault as the indian didn't go with the other Asian dishes. My lychee champagne cocktail was delicious! 
Our server was very attentive - all in all a fabulous evening. Highly recommend. Too full for desserts but I hear they're fantastic. Do share your plates otherwise you'll miss out on a great culinary experience. Hats off to the chef and a 3rd of the price of our Nobu meal (and 2/3rds more delicious!). 
Thumbs up!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Loved it, loved it!!! Pan Asian food, great service and ambience”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I loved this restaurant. Pan Asian food, so you could have Thai, Indian and Chinese in the same place. Excellent service from the waiters to the clean up staff. The prices were not decent, and we were multiplying by 7! The mains were priced from about $15. The cashew nut chicken and butter chicken were divine!!! Loved it and will definitely go back there!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
2 reviews
“The happiest place on earth”
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Rock sugar is one of my top favorite restaurant in Los Angeles. The restaurant is in a super awesome mall called Century City. They serve pan asian food. Mostly southern asian. A lot of Thai, Indian, Chinese and much more. The place is so well designed and there are televisions for all of you tv lovers out there. There is not a single thing you can order there that is bad but it is a bit expensive. I think all of you out there will love it.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roseluvstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RockSugar Pan Asian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to RockSugar Pan Asian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing