We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely in Hollywood”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hollywood Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 91 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Homely in Hollywood”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a total of four nights at the beginning and end of our holiday. We had the Mavarick plus the Special Ed rooms. The beds were comfy and pillows just right. William and Nina were friendly and helpful and the house is the perfect location with a pleasant walk down to Hollywood tourist sites. Would recommend to everyone and one day hope to stay again.

Room Tip: Mavarick is away from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollywoodBandB2013, Owner at Hollywood Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We love the Aussies! They are as open and crazy as we Americans and they have such nice manners, almost English.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    38
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
128
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My sister and I spent 4 nights at the Hollywood B&B in March, and couldn't have wished for a better place to stay. William and Nina were friendly and helpful, the location was very convenient, and the building itself was colorful, fun, comfortable, and immaculate. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We liked the Biarritz room, with its door opening out onto the pool area. We had comfortable twin b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollywoodBandB, Owner at Hollywood Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
We must admit it is nice to read posts like this from our guests whose company we were fortunate enough to have enjoyed for a short while. Having a Bed and Breakfast should be an opportunity for everyone who enjoys meeting new people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a small inn run by a couple with multiple artistic talents. The home is covered in art work (tile mosaics), architectural models, and generic ephemera. The innkeepers are friendly and the rooms are as described on the web. Overall a fun and quirky place to stay and a good value for LA.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LuckBeALadyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Comfortable bed with topline linens in a room with a 50" flat screen TV and shelves filled with an eclectic selection of books. Off street parking. Very very reasonable rates. Very nice owner and staff (one housekeeper). Spotless, convenient to L.A. ( if anything is convenient in L.A.!) I hope this place is available for all my trips to the 'left' coast!

Room Tip: The Biarritz that I stayed in is what I'm reviewing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonofAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We only spent one night here, but had a wonderful stay. The house is beautiful and has a lot of character. You could spend your whole vacation inside the house just exploring all the fun art work! The location is very convenient and the owners were extremely friendly and went out of their way to make sure I had a special type of milk I needed for breakfast. I can't say enough good things about this place... I will definitely stay there again if I'm ever in LA!

Room Tip: The Comet room was great and has a huge bathroom. It over looks the backyard and swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beebeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I decided to stay in a BandB for our one week vacation to LA. We could not have pick a better place. Hollywood Bed and Breakfast is located in Hollywood, within a short driving distance to Grauman's Chinese Theater, The Dolby Theater, etc. Our hosts, William and Nina were super. They allowed us to check in early, even though the room was not ready. At least we were able to drop off and luggages and unpack. They were friendly and accommodating. They were knowledgeable on most attractions in the LA area and beyond. Along with the usual flyers and advertisements from they had maps to different locales (Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, Rodeo Drive, Hollywood, etc.) We stayed in the Comet Room which was just right for my wife and I. One drawback is the lack of drawers for unpacking clothes so we just keep some of our clothes in our suitcase. They serve a la carte breakfast, cereal, oatmeal, bagels, coffee, tea, the kind of breakfast that isn't too heavy but at the same time satisfying. i recommend checking out their website which is very accurate.
I heartily and enthusiastically recommend this BandB!!!

Room Tip: The closet space is small and the drawers aren't really designed to store clothes. Be prepared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxtheAx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Hollywood bed and breakfast. It is located in the heart of Hollywood, within walking distance of the clubs, restaurants and tourist attractions, but manages to still retain the charm and atmosphere of a private, quiet oasis. Nina and William are charming and attentive to your needs. Every detail is immaculate. Both times we have stayed in the Premier Room. It is absolutely perfect: clean, spacious, beautifully decorated. The bathroom is probably larger than my kitchen, flawlessly clean with handpainted ivy illuminating the walls. There is a giant Jacuzzi and walk in glass enclosed shower with a balcony outside the door. The bedroom is dreamy, with a king sized bed so comfortable you will definitely want to sleep in. And..yes, there is more -- a private patio next to a hideaway kitchenette complete with microwave, coffee machine and fridge.

Breakfast is laid out in the morning by seven, and William is there to offer tremendous information on places to see or just to have an interesting conversation. Food is a healthy mix of cereals, yoghurt, fruit and breads, and hard boiled eggs. If you want something a little more substantial there is the Grill, a few blocks down on Sunset Boulevard, and is a busy wonderful place to enjoy a large, delicious breakfast.

I feel that the Hollywood B&B epitomizes southern California with its artistic flourishes evident throughout the house and property, large swimming pool surrounded by flora and fauna, and incredibly helpful yet laid back owners.

If you want a true taste of hospitality and a great place to stay I recommend this wholeheartedly. I certainly plan to come back again next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,866 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,040 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,586 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
997 reviews
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#28 of 351 in Los Angeles
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hollywood Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1701 N Orange Grove Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90046-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to enjoy Hollywood by staying at our whimsical 1912 Bed & Breakfast located right on Hollywood Boulevard and within walking distance of the Sunset Strip and the Hollywood Walk of Fame; Grauman's Chinese Theater; Hollywood&Highland Dolby Theatre, site of the Academy Awards; Disney's El Capital Theater; the Jimmy Kimmel Show and Madame Tussaud's Wax Museum along with many other exciting attractions. The proprietors, Nina (who speaks German, French and Spanish) and William are very well acquainted with Hollywood and Southern California and are happy to share information. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hollywood Bed And Breakfast
Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing