We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Why Stay in a Hotel?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hollywood Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Hollywood Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 88 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Central New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Why Stay in a Hotel?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Why stay in a hotel? You get everything you need at Hollywood B&B. Comfortable room,FREE parking, and a nice Continental breakfast. On top of that, the Innkeepers, Nina and William are so hospitable..
Unfortunately , we were there when the weather was at it's worst(5 straight days of rain) so we could not enjoy their beautiful backyard.
The location was perfect. You can walk to sights along Hollywood Blvd. or Sunset Blvd.. It's one block from Fairfax which is a major road.. Real close ( have to drive) to Farmers Market and The Grove. I come to LA about 3 times a year and I will be staying at the Hollywood B&B

Room Tip: We stayed in the Maverick which is the smallest and least expensive. It is upstairs(most of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Couchking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    39
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
125
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed in 43 different locations on our tour of the U.S.A. (19 of them B & B) and this was
the most disappointing.
The house itself lived up to our expectations, but once we saw our room what a let down!
The room was very cramped and there was a sort of alcove attached, but had no obvious purpose. We arrived early evening and no one was there to greet us, even though whenever we stayed elsewhere and had warned our hosts that we would be late arriving they made every effort to meet and greet us. NIna herself was pleasant, but what surprised us the following morning before breakfast payment had to be upfront - nowhere else were we expected to pay upfront, although we had offered. All our other hosts insisted that we pay when we leave. Our host William was present at breakfast, although stayed in the background. He was interested in you the first morning, but after we had paid, interest waned. The breakfast was also disappointing, apart from tea or coffee there was nothing hot on offer, milk or orange juice from the fridge with cereal,bagels and bread with jam/cream cheese on offer. When we were due to leave nobody came to see us off,other places we were given hugs, help with our suitcases etc.
The house may be on the corner of hollywood blvd. but is a good 25 minutes walk to the walk of fame.A good B & B should be a place where guests can mingle and socialise with each other and the hosts.......18 out of 19 I suppose is not bad.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank derek888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We made a spur-of-the-moment trip to LA to see the "Book of Mormon" and decided to stay at a B & B for a change. Any reasonable hotel in the area is over the $100 mark so we decide to spend a few bucks more and it turned out to be a wise decision. First, everything you see in the web site is true and represents the B & B well. Our room was very nice, right sized and very clean. The bath was well equipped, small but not cramped. As is the case with most B & B's, the living, dining and kitchen areas are open to the guests so we had the feeling of having a large home rather than a tight hotel room. That made it fun to come "home" in the evening...well worth the few extra bucks for a home rather than a hotel room!
It was NOT within walking distance to the Walk of Fame area of Hollywood...unless you really like walking. But on the flip side, it is in a nice residential area that begs for a nice walk and the owners will gladly fill you in on the celebrity neighbors. Only a couple of blocks away is Sunset Blvd. with a nice array of eating spots and for those of you deprived souls, like us, that have no Trader Joes in their state, there is one handy! "Two Buck Chuck" wine in our trunk for the drive home to Utah! Can life get better?
You'll enjoy your stay with William & Nina.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tombo081649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Very pleasant stay and great central location. Unique, eclectic home added much charm and warmth to our stay. Nina and William were both friendly and pleasant. The Hollywood B+B provided everything we needed for our short visit to the Hollywood area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillespie051112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I spent a most enjoyable week at this unique B&B. The house has wonderful decorating with rooms which are very comfortable. The outside pool is a nice plus. There a detailed maps to all major attractions. Breakfast is served in a large kitchen off the dining room. There is a computer with Internet access in a separate space. Parking is secure and on site. The owners were interesting and delightful. Overall an excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulhart46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This place is absolutely super! If you're in the area, and you need a few days to stay in Hollywood, absolutely take this place into regard! The owners of the place, William and Nina, are absolutely the most pleasant people to be around. William usually is around the kitchen in the morning - Very interesting person. I loved talking with him. The breakfast was plentiful with yogurt, milk, breads, etc. The rooms are really neat. I stayed in the Maverick which is sort of small, but really full of exciting thing that make the place neat. I also stayed in the Biarritz. Wow, what a neat room. Parking is tight, but thats normal for any place in LA. I swear, you will not be disappointed at all with the place. Do indeed try these folks. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Maverick and the Biarritz, and both were absolutely super! I would guess any choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gizbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

If nostalgia for the "old Hollywood" has set in or if you are too young to remember the old, but interested in the contemporary, a stay at the Hollywood B&B is perfect for you. The decor, though a bit "crafty", reflects the decorative skill of your hostess Nina and William's construction skills have crafted a very comfortable setting. The beds are good, the bathrooms are great, the pool area provides a nice setting for post-touring relaxation and the breakfast is sumptuous and scrumptious with every conceivable amenity for a cold buffet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBuckel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#13 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,361 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#43 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 2,119 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 3,023 reviews
The Garland
#11 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 2,566 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 2,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hollywood Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1701 N Orange Grove Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90046-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to enjoy Hollywood by staying at our whimsical 1912 Bed & Breakfast located right on Hollywood Boulevard and within walking distance of the Sunset Strip and the Hollywood Walk of Fame; Grauman's Chinese Theater; Hollywood&Highland Dolby Theatre, site of the Academy Awards; Disney's El Capital Theater; the Jimmy Kimmel Show and Madame Tussaud's Wax Museum along with many other exciting attractions. The proprietors, Nina (who speaks German, French and Spanish) and William are very well acquainted with Hollywood and Southern California and are happy to share information. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing