We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe and cozy neighbourhood”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hollywood Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 88 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Safe and cozy neighbourhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed at the B&B for two nights, and we loved it! It was only William that was home, and he was very helpful with any question we had, but also respected our privacy. We stayed in the Comet room which is very nice. William and Nina have really thought of everything right from cotton buds to hairdryer and bottle opener and wine glasses in the rooms. I would say though that if you are a light sleeper then the Comet room and the Premier room might not be the best choice as they face Hollywood Blv (5 lanes with quite heavy traffick).

We especially enjoyed the breakfast with 6 or 7 different types of homemade marmelade as well as the news papers available each day.

We did not have any problems with ants, and there was a curtain in the bathroom window so no view of the shower from the pool. And despide other comments, I would say that Man's Chinese Theatre is within walking distance - it takes app. 20 mins to walk there.

I would definitely go stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    38
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
127
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

We didn`t find Hollywood Bed and Breakfast to be quite the wonderful experience most other reviewers seem to think it is. Having said that it is very good and has to be seen to be believed. Bright, funky and very comfortable I can recommend it. Breakfast was good too. Location`s not bad although the walk to the main Hollywood strip is not a short one; don`t be led to believe otherwise. We took away with us only one real negative: for a number of reasons, staying here very much feels as if you`re staying in someone else`s home. If you`re OK with that then you`ll find this place perfect.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teithiwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We took over the entire Hollywood B&B for our reunion. It was absolutely wonderful. The decor set the tone for the entire 3 days. We could all sit around the dining room table together for breakfast and dinner and talk, talk, talk. The rooms and baths were lovely. Each is an original. We loved checking out each room. We sat outdoors around the pool and curled up each evening in the spacious living room to talk away the evenings. William and Nina have thought of everything to made our stay perfect. The breakfast coffee was always ready and a good choice of toast, bagels, etc, plus all varieties of cereals. It could not have been better.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dottie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

This place was a pleasant surprise. Colorful, quirky and very different from anythng else than you see in LA. The service was great and Nina was very helpful. Location was ok and bascially just around the corner from the Laugh Factory. Funny thing,...Kanye West party house was pointed out on the map Nina gave me :-)
Breakfast was maybe the best ever had. I had to take a couple of slices of cinnamon raisin ekstra when I left..
Thanks for a very nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castricum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

The parking lot indeed was not made for the huge SUV that Alamo gave us. ICheck your insurance before you try that :) A funny thing about the B&B is that you get one key and complicated rules about locked doors. The breakfast was certainly of good quality and quantity, but had no special attention, and was in fact 'self service'.
Probably this was caused because Nina was out of town.
For the rest: nice atmosphere, good and friendly service, spacious and comfortable room. I would advise to go there....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xs2alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

This place was a great find during our holiday in California. Quirky, interesting, eclectic, colourful, fantastic location and lovely pool area. The rooms were very well appointed although slightly warm in the hot weather and with the occasional ant popping in from the garden but nothing to spoil our stay there. The price was very good for the location only 800 meters from the Chinese Theatre and all the sights. Breakfast was good and the owner very kind and welcoming. Quirky with the capital Q and that is what we liked about it. Very arty and a little gem. We stayed in 2 different rooms ranging from 150 to 180 dollars for the 3 of us and it was worthy. The premier room was the best of the 2 but also the first room with communicating single room and small shower, was just cute and cosy.
A must for LA!!!!!

Room Tip: Premier room is the best of them all i think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riccardo230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Me and my husband stayed at the Hollywood B&B for 5 nights during our honeymoon. The rooms were very comfortable, a really good size with fantastic decor!
The Breakfast was perfect, great selection of bagels, yogurt, ceral orange juice etc.

We stayed in the comet room. We didnt keep any food in the room as we had read about the ants on here, we still found a few but nothing too drastic. I was also a little uncomfortable that the small window in the shower wasnt frosted glass however i dont think you could see in from downstairs. Other than that the food was great with a view of the pool.

The location of the hotel was briliant, although we had a car we did walk from there to the walk of fame and the sunset strip.

I would definately recommend this B&B if you are looking for somewhere comfortable and a little bit different!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicole_hobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#1 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
The Garland
#10 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#44 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hollywood Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1701 N Orange Grove Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90046-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to enjoy Hollywood by staying at our whimsical 1912 Bed & Breakfast located right on Hollywood Boulevard and within walking distance of the Sunset Strip and the Hollywood Walk of Fame; Grauman's Chinese Theater; Hollywood&Highland Dolby Theatre, site of the Academy Awards; Disney's El Capital Theater; the Jimmy Kimmel Show and Madame Tussaud's Wax Museum along with many other exciting attractions. The proprietors, Nina (who speaks German, French and Spanish) and William are very well acquainted with Hollywood and Southern California and are happy to share information. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing