We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food is OK but the Staff needs training” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beso

Beso
Ranked #1,520 of 9,847 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Hollywood
Cross street: Corner of Ivar St.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Food is OK but the Staff needs training”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Don't you love it when you're in the middle of a conversation and the waiter interups to ask you if everything is OK? Or when you call to make a reservation, the reservationist doesn't use please or thank you but just barks orders(name, phone, etc)? Welcome to the land of Beso. Some of the food is devine while others are just so-so. It's very beautiful and would be great to bring a date if the waiter doesn't inter up you in the middle of a kiss!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank latool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    54
    41
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Food better than the service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Didn't experience the $10 parking issue as we were staying at The W about half a block away so we walked (what?! Nobody walks in L.A.!). The place is huge, lively, darkly lit but nicely decorated. We heard rave reviews about the food, but found it to be rather average and not out of the ordinary. We were dining on a Travelzoo cert, and the waitress found it very annoying that we weren't spending lots of money...even shot us dirty looks! She received zero gratuity; sorry you don't like that your place of employment sells these certs, but bank your attitutude, cuz I'm an awfully generous tipper when I'm pleased...but your attitude got you zip in return. Not sure that I'd return, but it was convenient because of location.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Parking is $10, either Valet or Lot, and they do NOT validate unless you are going to the Pantages Theatre (must show ticket for proof). Unless you happen to already be in the area, it is not worth going out of your way to eat here.

Although we came at 6pm, right when they opened, we were offered a small table eventhough there were plenty of booths available. Then later on, they squeezed another couple next to us when there were a plethora of other tables in the vicinity that were not yet occupied.

They are proud of their establishment; once you see the prices and the quantity that was actually offered. When I asked the server, Carrie, for which of the two wines she would suggest, the proper procedure would be to offer a sample of both; which was not the case and I expected this type of treatment at a supposedly high class place like this. The ONLY impressive thing was that the beverage servers and busboys were on top of things, always refilling the water and keeping your table clean of used silverware and dirty plates.

The food was subpar. I agree that the flatbread was surprisingly delicious but as for our entrées, it was similar to a chain restaurant. The desserts were overpriced for what you received: $11 for 5 small pieces (or one long) churros was extreme. Thank goodness we had a gift card to offset the cost of our bill or I would thoroughly be upset if we had to pay full price!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beech_bunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Typical celebrity venture...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Beso was incredibly underwhelming. The menu promises mexican inspired dishes with a california touch but what you receive is average food (in an extremely dark setting). A blind date? This restaurant would be a great option, you may slip away and not even have your date know (lights please!).

Servers were a tad over worked, or perhaps they are short staffed. Many times they are unable to have full or even adequate attention on your table. They have upstairs seating as well similar to Crustacean in Beverly Hills but I would not return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
232 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Don't be put off by the section of Hollywood Blvd. that this restaurant is located on.

Once inside, it is very dark and smartly decorated with very interesting and tasty food, with a definite South American slant.

Very comfortable, good service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank awinrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beso also viewed

 

Been to Beso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing