We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to visit once”

Los Angeles County Museum of Art
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.00*
and up
Hollywood Sightseeing Tour from Orange County
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Glamorous Hollywood and Beverly Hills Highlights Tour of Los Angeles
More Info
$249.00*
and up
Private Luxurious Tour of Los Angeles
Ranked #10 of 564 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Since its inception in 1965, the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) has been devoted to collecting works of art that span both history and geography, in addition to representing Los Angeles's uniquely diverse population. Today LACMA is the largest art museum in the western United States, with a collection that includes over 120,000 objects dating from antiquity to the present, encompassing the geographic world and nearly the entire history of art. Among the museum's strengths are its holdings of Asian art, Latin American art, ranging from pre-Columbian masterpieces to works by leading modern and contemporary artists; and Islamic art, of which LACMA hosts one of the most significant collections in the world. A museum of international stature as well as a vital part of Southern California, LACMA shares its vast collections through exhibitions, public programs, and research facilities that attract over a million visitors annually, in addition to serving millions through digital initiatives, such as online collections, scholarly catalogues, and interactive engagement online. Situated in Hancock Park on over 20 acres in the heart of Los Angeles, LACMA is located between the ocean and downtown. With this much to explore, we encourage you to spend an entire day with us, delving deep into the work of your favorite artists, taking a free tour, catching a film or concert, or just letting your curiosity lead the way.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great to visit once”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I am not an art person, however our company really encouraged us all to visit LACMA, and gave us free passes so that I did! It's a beautiful location, not only to visit but also if you are looking to take engagement pictures here, it's a gorgeous choice. I know a couple that did so and the pictures turned out fantastic.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank sspanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,444
    613
    147
    16
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must-Do Experience!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

LACMA is an awesome museum! We loved the Caravagio exhibit! As well as the Stanley Kubrick exhibit! We loved everything we saw there! Absolutely everything! It was sooo inspiring! I highly suggest going to dance through the lampposts as the sun sets! Your visit to LA might not be complete without it! :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank isoulshines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Large Museum, but not as good as other local museums”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

For my money, LACMA is a large museum but with an average collection in an average setting. Granted, I'm an amateur when it comes to knowing about art, but for my money the Getty Center in Brentwood is far more impressive in terms of its views and its architecture, and its European art is about on par with LACMA - plus the Getty is free ($15 to park, however) whereas LACMA is not. The Norton Simon in Pasadena is also smaller, but its grounds are a bit nicer and its art is on par with LACMA (European) and exceeds it in others (Asian). On my last visit to LACMA I was especially let down by its collection of Asian art - especially in terms of Indian art the Norton Simon has LACMA solidly beat. The Japanese Pavilion at LACMA is a great building but I found the art in it to be mostly pretty dull. The "suspended mass" exhibit is hard to get in to, for me at least - I don't find there to be much artistic value in placing a large boulder over a man-made concrete trench, but that's just me. Another small complaint is that LACMA has a general admission for one fee, but special exhibits are usually extra money.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MachThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“LACMA--must see”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This time I visited the Latin American/pre-Columbian ceramics wing. It was extensive and extraordinary. Many areas represented from Panama to Mexico.
And the Kubrik show is great. Rooms are divided up by film: one room is 2001, one is the Shining, the other Barry Lyndon. Storyboards, scripts, film clips. Lots of back story about the making of the films and the research that went into each one. Check it out.
Their shows are beautifully curated. And their contemporary art collection is awe-inspiring.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rose d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stanley Kubrick retrospective”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Went to LACMA on a whim to see the Stanley Kubrick retrospective while in LA for 4 days and was blown away by it: extensive, informative, well laid out, room to move and to contemplate: an outstanding exhibition. The typewriter from the Shining, a droog costume from Clockwork Orange, letters from Kirk Douglas signed Spartacus, furniture from 2001. Unmissable for cinefiles! The museum is a well laid out campus arrangement of old and new galleries and pavilions. Easy to find, easy to park, easy to enjoy. Plus, a few Caravagios!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank POPs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Angeles County Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Los Angeles County Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing